Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
59 Reviews
123.932245
| 1 ... 4 5 6 |
Write A Review
February 4, 2012

more

February 4, 2012

I am a member of the American Humane Association Red Star Emergency Team. I am also proud to say that I am a donor to the organization as well. Many people do not realize that animals are also victims when disaster strikes, and they need our help as much as the people affected by disaster need our help. The AHA Red Star team is always very quick to respond when the call comes in and they stay as long as they are needed. Not only does this provide an invaluable service to the animals and the community, it also gives great comfort to people caught up in a disaster when they can know that their beloved animals are being well cared for. I would urge everyone to do what they can to support the efforts of this organization.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 4, 2012

more

February 4, 2012

American Humane has an extraordinary mission, including the only organization I know with dual remit to protect both children and animals. I'm a veterinarian with nearly 30 years in the profession, and I can't think of a more noble goal. Their Red Star program has been instrumental in the support of children and animals in need during the most devastating year of disasters I can remember.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 4, 2012

more

February 4, 2012

I am a full time fire investigator working an Arson K-9 in Colorado, and am in constant touch with a variety of non-profit organizations. I was so impressed with this 135 year old organization I joined the American Humane Association's "Red Star" National Response Team. i have been deployed on emergency responses and have witnessed first hand the entire organizations committment to our nations animals and children. From the President down to the volunteers I have never been associated with a more dedicated group of people determined to make a difference in a trouble nation. I have been blessed with a number of state and national recognitions in my career as fire fighter and police officer, however, my proudest moment is being a part of the American Humane Association. Agent J Means & K-9 Sadie

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 4, 2012

more

February 4, 2012

I have been a member of the American Humane's Red Star Team since 2006. I have been on nearly 20 missions of mercy for horses, dogs, cats, and other companion pets in many parts of the country. Every time I'm asked to respond, I cannot wait to arrive on the scene. Not only are the leaders extremely knowlegeable and skillfull, they also demonstrate great compassion and caring for those without a voice and the ability to care for themselves. From puppymills to hoarding cases to disaster scenes the effort is always there to do our best for them while they are in our charge. Before I retired as a public school superintendent, I was associated with many fine and upstanding groups of people, but never in my 33 years of public service, did I ever work with a finer, more dedicated group of individuals than those of the American Humane Association.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing owners reunited with lost pets. I've also witnessed the amazing transformation of animals taken from horrible conditions as they respond to kindness, affection , and humane treatment, sometimes for the first time in their lives.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

As a volunteer, not only have I become associated with some of the finest people I have met in my life, but the intrinsic rewards of having been a part of something as powerful as saving hundreds of animals from death, or worse, is something to treasure.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Because I have been well trained by the American Humane, I feel like I make a contribution every time I go out.

February 3, 2012

more

February 3, 2012

I am a member of the American Humane Association Red Star Animal Emergency Services Team and have been involved with AHA actively since 2005. While I am not involved in the human side of American Humane Association, I have witnessed first hand what this organization has done for the animal family members in our world.
Over the years, the team has filled sand bags in flood zones, climbed through windows after hurricanes, dug through ashes and debris in the aftermath of wildfires, and organized, supervised, and maintained hundreds of temporary emergency animal shelters.
Wow-and talk about compassion…I have watched tears flow on almost every deployment...sometimes from witnessing overwhelming loss and devastation at a disaster site, other times from the pure exhilaration and joy of a puppy mill dog tentatively wandering out of his kennel and walking on grass for the very first time. I have seen hundreds of pounds of food and supplies handed out to those in need after a natural disaster and watched with both awe and respect as one of my team members comforted a person, all the while, walking alongside them, up and down the rows of cages, looking for their lost pet… I have stood along side members of our search and rescue team as they were out in the field with the sunrise…and returned to base 12 hours later with kennels full of rescued animals in need of immediate care…then got up the next sunrise and did it all over again…for WEEKS at a time.
This is just ONE branch of American Humane Association. I don’t have enough room to write all the positive and proactive ways they are involved in the animal world. From the movie industry to animal legislature-AHA is actively protecting animals of all kinds. I am proud to call myself a member of the Red Star Team and I will continue supporting this organization long after I am physically able to deploy.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 3, 2012

more

February 3, 2012

I am a member of American Humane Association's Red Star Team. We are trained volunteers that are deployed to assist with animal emergencies. AHA provides a much needed service in times of disaster. I have been more than impressed with the training I have received from AHA, the professionalism and compassion of the AHA employees at the emergency shelters and the good work the teams do in the field. I wholeheartedly endorse American Humane Association and encourage everyone to donate to their mission to help animals in need and volunteer for the organization if they are able.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

February 3, 2012

more

February 3, 2012

I have been a Red Star Emergency Services volunteer with American Humane Association since 2007. I have a full time job seperate from the organization and take vacation time to volunteer and be with my extended family. American Humane Association is the best orgainzation that I have found to volunteer with. They are professional as well as personable. They truly care about the health and safety of their volunteers. They make a huge difference in the organization and sheltering of animals in disaster as well as animal welfare situations. They deploy with smaller groups of people but the quality of the people are extremely wonderful.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

9 different emergency deployments with people from all over the country and I would greatly work with any of them again.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

like to see more of the organization in the media. A lot of people get American Humane Association mixed up with those other organizations. American Humane Association is truly the Cadillac of Animal Rescue Services.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

I know there are ways to improve everything but nothing comes to mind at the moment.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I have met all kinds of people (friends) from all over the country and working with the animals with a group as professional as American Humane Association truly is helps to coordinate and train our local volunteers with our CART group (County Animal Responce Team).

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

When American Humane Association has a call out, I feel the adrinaline rush because I want to go so bad and be involved in any way they can use my assistance.

February 3, 2012

more

February 3, 2012

By chance, I had an opportunity to see the Red Star Emergency Team. What an unbelievable experience. To know that animals are recused and served in extreme times of need is incredible. AHA does amazing work and I have now joined them as a donor. They are dedicated and professional in serving those who need it most. I am thrilled to be associated with AHA and I am very picky about where I give my money.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 3, 2012

more

February 3, 2012

I only recently became involved with the American Humane Association and have been quite impressed with their professionalism and their dedication to their unique dual mission - to help protect children and animals. They have their hearts and their minds in the right place, and seem to only make informed decisions - based on their many research programs. After donating to this organization and seeing the work they do, they are certainly my charity of choice!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 3, 2012

more

February 3, 2012

May of us in Texas have taken multiple trainings on animal disaster response from several different organizations and most of us preferred the hands on, practical training provided by AHA in their disaster response workshops. i've found that the PEOPLE involved in AHA are the best, most respectful, knowledgeable, and professional. In all my dealings with this organization, they treat both people and animals with dignity and respect as well as true compassion. Huge thumbs up for American Humane Association, their staff, their volunteers and employees.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers