Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
63 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
February 13, 2012
8 people found this review helpful

more

February 13, 2012
8 people found this review helpful

Donors beware People are having the wool pulled over their eyes. The organization sold their Denver office and the proceeds of the sale financed seven executive salaries. Major layoffs, and while a million dollars was donated to the Red Star Rescue Team and the employees have no office to work to do their work. The D.C. and L.A. offices are examples of wasteful spending.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 13, 2012
8 people found this review helpful

more

February 13, 2012
8 people found this review helpful

Executive Excess, Fat Cats with excessive salaries, and not much direct effect in the community. Misquided first time CEO who does not seem to grasp the meaning of social responsibility.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 9, 2012

more

February 9, 2012

I have been a member of the American Humane Association's Red Star Team on numerous deployments since 2007. I have observed their work during disasters, and in hoarding and puppy mill cases. They are dedicated professionals who do their utmost to ensure the safety and care of all the animals, as well as the volunteers. Every animal is treated with respect from the moment it is rescued. Staff and volunteers devote their full attention to being sure each animal gets the attention it deserves. To me, the best test of the effectiveness of an organization is to observe the improved health displayed by the animals after receiving care from the American Humane Association's Red Star Team. This is a Team worthy of everyone's support.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 9, 2012

more

February 9, 2012

I have been a donor to the American Humane Association for many years and during the past two years, I have become an active member of the Red Star Team. The Red Stars are a well-organized group of volunteers that can deploy to animal-related disasters in a matter of a few hours. The organization is impressive in its efficiency in setting up a clean, orderly, temporary animal shelter. Clean space, walks, food and fresh water are provided, along with soft chatter, eye contact, singing, snuggles and belly rubs. Twelve-hour days are common, and I have never worked harder in my life, but seeing those innocent eyes and happy tails is a great motivator. In the case of a disaster, such as a flood, that destroyed a family's home, the temporary animal shelter is a great resource to families that have been displaced. The American Humane Association is there to provide loving care to the family's pets, easing their minds during very stressful times. I feel very fortunate to be able to participate as a Red Star volunteer.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 8, 2012

more

February 8, 2012

Where would the Hollywood film/television industry be without the great work of the American Humane Association? It is oversight from the AHA that gives voice to those that have none with their "No Animals Were Harmed" division. This is a top notch charity and organization with excellent leadership whom I've had both the privilege and honor to work with.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 7, 2012

more

February 7, 2012

AHA not only has a great mission but an amazing staff. I have had the privilege of working with AHA on fundraising projects and been very impressed with their dedication and willingness to think outside the box to not only show people the importance of their work, but to also find innovative ways of reaching out to people and build a dedicated community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 7, 2012

more

February 7, 2012

GOAL Productions has had the pleasure of working closely with the American Humane Association on a number of film projects for their organization, i.e., PAWS, No Animals Were Harmed, and others. By doing so, we have learned a great deal about the wide range of important and necessary work they are doing on behalf of children and animals, protecting them against violence and abuse. American Humane deserves our support to keep their doors open so that they can continue their great work.
February 6, 2012

more

February 6, 2012

American Humane Association is a marelous charity with top notch leadership and a very strong and experienced board. Their 4 key programs deliver results and important resources in all 50 states. One of the best and most efficiently managed animal and children's charities operating in the US today.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 6, 2012

more

February 6, 2012

I am a new volunteer for AHA, but I felt like family the minute I arrived to help at Joplin, MI. This organization lets you show your passion for rescue animals. We are very willing to work hard from 7:00am until after 8:00pm daily, and every one feels like you made a difference in the human and animal lives around you. Its hard work, but its very rewarding, and they are a great group of people to work with. I can't wait til I have my next deployment to reunite with this group of people that you can call your Family. Kudos to all of the volunteers and workers of American Humane Association.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 6, 2012

more

February 6, 2012

This is a great organization that helps the helpless- both kids & animals and I am proud to say I am a volunteer with the Red Star response team. They are right there "on the front lines" whenever there is a disaster to help. THey work well with other groups and I will continue to support and assist where needed. AHA has been around about 135 years- no small feat.THey are doing things the right way.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

more than several major disasters

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

n/a

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

n/a

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

met a lot of other dedicated people with the same concerns

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

great !

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers