Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
62 Reviews
123.9838745
| 1 2 3 4...7 |
Write A Review
February 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Compassion is the solution! American Humane Association has gone through a dramatic transformation, and to that I say bravo. The new programs are timely and relevant, and the mission is amazing! Protecting kids and animals - and the human/animal bond - that's exactly what America needs now.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

American Humane Association is really helping kids and animals with new, innovative programs. The new Canines and Childhood Cancer study is remarkable - solid science to prove the power of the human-animal bond. AHA has reinvigorated their agenda, refocused on areas of evidence-based impact, and had more successes in 2011 than in a decade. Congratulations to the new leadership team and the staff as your supporters on the sidelines are cheering you on - good for children, good for animals and good for our communities!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I think American Humane Association is one of the leading charities around and I've given to them a number of times. They don't just talk about helping kid and animal, they really have an effect. Keep up the good work!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 17, 2012
9 people found this review helpful

more

February 17, 2012
9 people found this review helpful

As with the current Glass Door reviews by employees and former employees, it appears as if the majority of these "reviews" are done by current CEO's or board members to bolster a sagging organization, quickly proving itself to be irrelevant. Although the Red Star program is one of their only viable and enviable programs, even they will soon be without jobs and without a mission if the current CEO has her way. She has gutted a once proud organization with complete lack of compassion or animal knowledge and has slashed staff by over 65%. Mostly lay-offs of those who had worked with AH for many, many years. Almost all laid off without severance, logic or compassion. The Film & TV Unit continues to be a smoke screen for the entertainment industry and as evidenced by the media all too well recently, in the filming of the HBO series Luck, horses are still being killed for entertainment and this is often hidden from the public while productions are given the ever-ready rubber stamp. I believe this organization is quickly on it's way out and these bolstered reviews are a last-ditch effort to save a sinking ship. It pays to be a CEO in the organization, as it appears as if those are the only jobs safe at the moment. The outside world has little respect for the organization and most don't even know of its existence, continually confusing it with HSUS and ASPCA. Instead of putting the organization on the map, the current CEO has obliterated it completely. Current high level management has virtually no animal experience, education or knowledge and it shows. Employees are often not treated with respect and retaliation is a common occurrence. Check out the Glass Door reviews for the real story.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a member of the Red Star Animal Emergency Services team since 2002 and I know first-hand from my own experience (16 disasters and counting) with the organization of the commitment of the staff that I have worked with. They are dedicated, compassionate, and work tirelessly to keep the volunteers and the animals safe. Ten years ago, I did not even know who American Humane Association was and I remember being impressed knowing there was an organization with 135 years of history that protected both children AND animals. As a volunteer, I have been treated with the utmost respect and have developed lasting friendships with other volunteers as well as with staff that I consider family. I have made my work with American Humane my "life work", whether it is as a volunteer on the Red Star team or as one of the Instructors for two of the courses they offer in the animal program. I will continue to support American Humane in this capacity for as long as I am able. I understand the importance and value of the support of the community because of the numbers of children and animals within this country that need help as a result of the economy, disasters, abuse, neglect, etc. I, personally, am grateful that I can continue to do this work because of the support to keep these programs moving forward and to help educate the public in the importance of protecting our children AND animals.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 16, 2012
7 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
February 16, 2012
7 people found this review helpful

According to Internal Revenue Service rules, nonprofit organization is supposed to work for the public benefit.The board of directors has the responsibility of protecting the public benefit. The “new” CEO pronounced early on that signature events were going to be a high priority. However, the events have not brought the desired financial success but yet these events are valued over the organization’s mission Recently, staff were intimated and threatened into walking in the Hollywood Christmas Parade carrying a 20-foot balloon dog which had a price tag of $40,000. Even more egregious, directive has been given to spend money foolishly so they don’t have to give it back their grantors at the end of their fiscal year. Nonprofits have an obligation to act as responsible stewards in managing their financial resources.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 15, 2012
8 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
February 15, 2012
8 people found this review helpful

Although a once historic and honorable organization, American Humane Association (AHA) is now a non-profit organization with negligent employee management, unfit leadership and questionable fundraising practices.

INHUMANE RELATIONS
During the organization’s recent downsizing process,
employees who had been with the organization for more than five years were laid off without severance pay. Staff members were told explicitly that they could continue their work if they moved to another office location, and then—after agreeing to the move—were laid off. Office closure announcements were made and then changed multiple times.

INCOMPETENCE IN HIGH PLACES
Many of AHA’s senior leaders lack sufficient expertise and competence in their field. There are several department heads who continually make poor choices for the organization and often rely on junior staff members for real expertise.

DISHONEST DONOR DEALINGS
As it has courted potential partners, AHA has sacrificed the integrity of its donor relations. More specifically, AHA has both sold and given away its email lists, as well as actively facilitated the distribution of commercial advertisements to its constituents.

For all of these reasons, I could not, in good conscience, recommend American Humane Association as a place to seek employment or to contribute charitable funds.

(Please note: American Humane Association is NOT affiliated with your local humane society.)

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 14, 2012

more

February 14, 2012

As a member of the Red Star team of volunteers, I can attest to the incredible dedication and compassion that this organization has for animals in need. They are highly regarded wherever I have gone with them throughout the nation and their standard of care and work ethic is extremely high. They are professional, dependable and always ready to help in providing care and sheltering of animals of all kinds, under many different circumstances. I have the utmost regard and respect for their ethics and committment to their mission and consider them to be one of America's greatest assets for animal and child welfare!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 14, 2012

more

February 14, 2012

As a television producer who has worked with dogs for 8 years, I understand the delicate balance between entertainment and the humane treatment of animals. I deeply appreciate the vital role American Humane has in the TV & Film industry. They make the tough (and sometimes unpopular) decisions about the treatment of animals on the set. I deeply respect American Humane's work and know they truly care about the treatment of our animals friends.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 13, 2012
8 people found this review helpful

more

February 13, 2012
8 people found this review helpful

Donors beware People are having the wool pulled over their eyes. The organization sold their Denver office and the proceeds of the sale financed seven executive salaries. Major layoffs, and while a million dollars was donated to the Red Star Rescue Team and the employees have no office to work to do their work. The D.C. and L.A. offices are examples of wasteful spending.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers