Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
63 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
April 28, 2012
11 people found this review helpful

more

April 28, 2012
11 people found this review helpful

I think even the glowing reviews of American Humane should be enough to ward off any potential donors, seeing as how they're a screamingly obvious attempt by the management to keep the overall rating high, keep the good reviews on top, and I suppose to discredit the real reviews, too. Surely this says everything about where your money will go if you donate to American Humane: you'll be helping to pay the salaries of people who actually sit around writing incredibly stupid, fake reviews about their workplace.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

April 26, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
April 26, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

The American Humane Association is probably one of the best not-for-profit organizations out there! It is the only one that protects both animals and children and promises that "No Animals Were Harmed," in movies such as "War Horse," "The Lucky One," "Mirror, Mirror," "The Hunger Games," "John Carter," and "The Girl with The Dragon Tattoo." Before I found out about The American Humane Association, I was surrounded with works from them without knowing it was actually them. Now I know about them and the wonderful things that they do, and I think that it's our duty as responsible citizens to help them in order to protect the stray animals and abused children all over the world and help them find better lives. The American Humane Association also has a "Red Star Rescue," which rescues animals in disasters and uses animals to comfort children with cancer, the elderly, and military families. I wish there were more organizations like this one. We're lucky to have it, and we have to make sure we keep it. :)

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The American Humane Association is a wonderful not-for-profit organization. I think it's beautiful the way that they dedicate their time to help all of the poor, abused animals and children in the world. I also love their "Hero Dog Awards." I think it's great that they make sure to recognize and appreciate the brave dogs who really do make a difference. :) Keep up the good work!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 16, 2012
14 people found this review helpful

more

April 16, 2012
14 people found this review helpful

Delusional new CEO Robin Ganzert has destroyed this once-decent organization. She’s fired all the people that did good work helping children and animals with her executive buddies who get paid an awful lot of money to sit around, pat each other's backs, and come up with asinine ways to make more money and get more publicity. If you donate to the American Humane Association, you can rest assured that your money will go to what Ms. Ganzert considers worthy causes: funding these executive salaries, giving a humanitarian award to Martha Stewart (yes, really), hobnobbing with various C-list celebrities, and flying around the country (or out of the country, like her recent trip to Japan) to get her face and name in as many news articles as possible. But knowing that they can’t count on the general public to fund all of their jet-setting and lavish parties and doggie award shows, the management has made sure to partner with some really evil mega-corporations, like Pfizer and Proctor and Gamble (because nothing says we care about children and animals like taking money from corporations that kill children and animals). They are constantly making a point of congratulating themselves for making more money and getting more publicity but never say a word about the good work that is being done for children and animals - - probably because no good work is happening anymore. Before Robin Ganzert took over, I loved my job and believed in what I was doing, and now I’m thrilled to be gone and wouldn’t want to touch this super-corporate organization with a 40-foot pole. Disgruntled? Absolutely! It’s a hollow shell of what it used to be. Robin doesn’t care at all about the animals or children and once she’s finished ruining the American Humane Association, she’ll be trying to move on to work where her slimy, despicable behavior is better suited: politics. (Does anyone really think it’s a coincidence she killed the Denver headquarters, and put the new headquarters in Washington DC?)

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 3, 2012
7 people found this review helpful

more

April 3, 2012
7 people found this review helpful

The board is ineffective and has been for many years. Five years ago American Humane received a 34 million dollar bequest amd the money is long gone. Conflict of interest issues among the board by hiring their own consultant company for high salaried positions. The board gave another board member an American Humane sponsored grant. The communication put out by American Humane is basically Propaganda. Give your money to a more worthy charity.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 2, 2012
7 people found this review helpful

more

April 2, 2012
7 people found this review helpful

American Humane's Film and Television Program is not doing their job. There have been far too many issues that relate to incompetence. I find it ditsturbing that the deem deaths accidents before a proper investigation is conducted.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 10, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

March 10, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

New CEO of AHA is a visionary leader in nonprofit sector and was recently nationally honored as a visionary and fiduciary leader. I just met her and the board chair at the recent event in Florida, and i am a fan. AHA is doing inspiring work now more than ever. And, those of us who work in the corporate sector know that it is tough times for all - especially our kids and animals. Glad to know AHA is there. Can't wait to go to Hero Dog Awards in LA!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 10, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

March 10, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

American Humane Association has launched new initiatives that help kids with cancer, that help dogs and cats, and has become much more effective in showing impact.. I am proud to support this Association, and the programs are really strong. I have seen necessary changes occur to make the programs better.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 7, 2012
8 people found this review helpful

more

March 7, 2012
8 people found this review helpful

Very misleading message sent to the public regarding Robin Ganzert's ability as CEO. Here is the latest message to the staff Hello , as we mentioned at the all staff update this week, our latest budget cuts have resulted in temporary suspension of our wellness program and our 403b discretionary employer match, effective immediately.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 7, 2012
9 people found this review helpful

more

March 7, 2012
9 people found this review helpful

This organization is not honest with the public or it's donors. The management is hated by staff. You can't fire everyone.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers