Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
63 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review
September 23, 2014

more


1 previous review
February 4, 2012

American Humane has an extraordinary mission, including the only organization I know with dual remit to protect both children and animals. I'm a veterinarian with nearly 30 years in the profession, a... more

September 23, 2014

American Humane has been part of a major turnaround effort over the last couple years and is now on track to be amongst the most important and relevant welfare organizations in the country. I've had a front row seat for the tremendous work that went into this transformation and I couldn't be more proud to have had a small role. I'm extremely confident in the Associations' leadership that includes strategic creativity and an extraordinary level of financial accountability.
February 4, 2012

American Humane has an extraordinary mission, including the only organization I know with dual remit to protect both children and animals. I'm a veterinarian with nearly 30 years in the profession, and I can't think of a more noble goal. Their Red Star program has been instrumental in the support of children and animals in need during the most devastating year of disasters I can remember.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 5, 2014

more


1 previous review
February 9, 2012

I am proud to be a board member of the American Humane Association. The organization has been working so hard for so long – 135 years! - on behalf of children and animals, and our work is just as v... more

September 5, 2014

What a wonderful organization, putting the wellbeing and welfare of its constituents - animals and children - first and foremost. The individual stories are compelling, but the overall mission of education, compassion and expansion of "humaneness" are what really drives this organization. I am so proud to be a part of it.
February 9, 2012

I am proud to be a board member of the American Humane Association. The organization has been working so hard for so long – 135 years! - on behalf of children and animals, and our work is just as vital today as it has ever been.

American Humane Association is so important not only
because our programs protect children and animals, but also because we have a particular focus on the incredible bond between people and animals and the power it has to benefit and enrich the lives of both. Many of American Humane Association’s programs are centered around this bond – such as our animal assisted therapy program, our Film/TV unit, and our Red Star rescue programs. I believe recognizing and expanding this bond is one of the keys to making our world a more humane and compassionate place for all who live in it.

I have been struck at the dedication, professionalism and passion of our staff and volunteers – qualities which run throughout the organization. Such as our Red Star rescuers who work under difficult and dangerous conditions with little to no sleep while rescuing and providing vital medical attention to animals hit by a disaster, our “No Animals Were Harmed” monitors who work endless days with little recognition to be the sole protectors of animals in film and television productions, and our dedicated researchers whose groundbreaking work improves child welfare policies and decision-making.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 2, 2014

more

September 2, 2014

The American Humane Association does make a difference. During the 30+years that my wife, Linda Peddie, D.V.M., and I have worked on film locations where trained animal actors were being used, we have witnessed American Humane Association's representatives effectively intercede on behalf of the animal actors and their trainers when the requested filming action had the potential risk for injury or worse. There is no question that these highly trained American Humane Association's film unit representatives do play a major role in seeing that animal actors receive the respect and care which they deserve.
James F. Peddie, D.V.M.
September 1, 2014

more

September 1, 2014

My friend, Dr. Oz calls me "America's Veterinarian." I've been part of The Dr. Oz Show for six years, was resident veterinarian on Good Morning America for 17-years, have had a nationally syndicated pet/vet column for 15-years, have written 24 books (sold almost 8 million copies with three NY Times bestsellers), and have won many awards including Companion Animal Veterinarian of the Year for both the U.S. and globally. I've owned and operated five large veterinary hospitals, (have been in hundreds of others) and continue to practice as a veterinarian in Northern Idaho. I've loved animals my whole life, grew up on a farm/ranch, wanted to be a veterinarian from age seven, and have dedicated my life to preventing pain and suffering in animals and focusing on their physical and emotional wellbeing.

I'm on the board of several other animal wellbeing organizations and know all of the major players (the ones you see with the tear jerking TV ads or mailers that try and hook you emotionally starting with the envelope). The organization I'm most supportive of, admire the most, and want to see thrive is the American Humane Association. Fact. Most of the humane organizations that you probably give to are primarily lobbying and litigation machines that do little, if any, to help animals where you live. American Humane Association (AHA) is different.

Rather than documenting and promoting a high profile rescue here or there like most national groups do (with the primary focus to raise more money for lobbying and litigation), AHA has regionally placed Red Star Rescue Vehicles placed regionally to respond whenever animals are in need. Did you know AHA was there in the 1800s to make sure that cattle being sent by rail to slaughter yards were let off for food and water (previously they would arrive dead or dying after five days on the train to Chicago). AHA pioneered public playgrounds in cities in the 1920s, was there after WWI to bring the war horses back, has been on movie and TV sets to insure the safety and wellbeing of animal actors, and is now looking after the health and wellbeing of tens of millions of production animals through the Human Heartland program.

Take the time to learn about this over 130-year old organization that always cares about the animals, first and foremost, with boots on the ground that are trained, experienced, respected, passionate and proactive. Only a tiny portion of what you give goes for administration at AHA; almost all of it goes to help pets (just like the ones you love), animals in need (rescued from abuse) or making sure the animals -- whose meat we eat, eggs we fry, or dairy products we consume --- are treated with caring and gentle hands.
September 25, 2013

more

September 25, 2013

This organization has turned around tremendously. They continue to do excellent work and are now doing so in a financially responsible manner. Staff at all levels seem dedicated to their work. They are dedicated to their mission.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Hire more people, finances permitting. Appear to be stretched thin given that they have so many programs.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 28, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 28, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

American Humane Association is a wonderful nonprofit organization. I donate to them whenever I can, and I love how they make sure that "no animals were harmed" during the filming of movies/tv shows/etc. Another thing I adore about this group are their annual televised Hero Dog Awards. I always watch them. Donate to this group!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 3, 2013
7 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
January 3, 2013
7 people found this review helpful

These guys are being sued for covering up horse abuse in the HBO series "Luck". Please go on line and read about it. Do not donate to this group!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 20, 2012
10 people found this review helpful

more

June 20, 2012
10 people found this review helpful

There is a review (two reviews below this one) that came from someone with the screen name "hstubis" . . . Whoops! Guess the so-called higher ups aren't being very careful about disguising their ridiculous efforts to keep positive results posted; Mark Stubis is the head of PR.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

May 29, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

May 29, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I am a singer/songwriter in the DC area and I have decided to donate 10% of the proceeds to every download of my song "Galaxy" on Itunes. Music and Animals are my passion so the fact that i can help out makes me feel very accomplished and makes me feel that i am giving back in a very special way... I hope you will buy my song and help these animals that are in need

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 12, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

May 12, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

This is obviously a great organization! The workers are true to their causes, and are amazing, kind people. The American Humane Association is definitely humane. Need I say more? :)

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers