Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
59 Reviews
123.932245
Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review
September 25, 2013

more

September 25, 2013

This organization has turned around tremendously. They continue to do excellent work and are now doing so in a financially responsible manner. Staff at all levels seem dedicated to their work. They are dedicated to their mission.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Hire more people, finances permitting. Appear to be stretched thin given that they have so many programs.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 28, 2013

more

June 28, 2013

American Humane Association is a wonderful nonprofit organization. I donate to them whenever I can, and I love how they make sure that "no animals were harmed" during the filming of movies/tv shows/etc. Another thing I adore about this group are their annual televised Hero Dog Awards. I always watch them. Donate to this group!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 3, 2013
7 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
January 3, 2013
7 people found this review helpful

These guys are being sued for covering up horse abuse in the HBO series "Luck". Please go on line and read about it. Do not donate to this group!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 20, 2012
10 people found this review helpful

more

June 20, 2012
10 people found this review helpful

There is a review (two reviews below this one) that came from someone with the screen name "hstubis" . . . Whoops! Guess the so-called higher ups aren't being very careful about disguising their ridiculous efforts to keep positive results posted; Mark Stubis is the head of PR.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

May 29, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

May 29, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I am a singer/songwriter in the DC area and I have decided to donate 10% of the proceeds to every download of my song "Galaxy" on Itunes. Music and Animals are my passion so the fact that i can help out makes me feel very accomplished and makes me feel that i am giving back in a very special way... I hope you will buy my song and help these animals that are in need

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 12, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

May 12, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

This is obviously a great organization! The workers are true to their causes, and are amazing, kind people. The American Humane Association is definitely humane. Need I say more? :)

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 28, 2012
11 people found this review helpful

more

April 28, 2012
11 people found this review helpful

I think even the glowing reviews of American Humane should be enough to ward off any potential donors, seeing as how they're a screamingly obvious attempt by the management to keep the overall rating high, keep the good reviews on top, and I suppose to discredit the real reviews, too. Surely this says everything about where your money will go if you donate to American Humane: you'll be helping to pay the salaries of people who actually sit around writing incredibly stupid, fake reviews about their workplace.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

April 26, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
April 26, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

The American Humane Association is probably one of the best not-for-profit organizations out there! It is the only one that protects both animals and children and promises that "No Animals Were Harmed," in movies such as "War Horse," "The Lucky One," "Mirror, Mirror," "The Hunger Games," "John Carter," and "The Girl with The Dragon Tattoo." Before I found out about The American Humane Association, I was surrounded with works from them without knowing it was actually them. Now I know about them and the wonderful things that they do, and I think that it's our duty as responsible citizens to help them in order to protect the stray animals and abused children all over the world and help them find better lives. The American Humane Association also has a "Red Star Rescue," which rescues animals in disasters and uses animals to comfort children with cancer, the elderly, and military families. I wish there were more organizations like this one. We're lucky to have it, and we have to make sure we keep it. :)

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The American Humane Association is a wonderful not-for-profit organization. I think it's beautiful the way that they dedicate their time to help all of the poor, abused animals and children in the world. I also love their "Hero Dog Awards." I think it's great that they make sure to recognize and appreciate the brave dogs who really do make a difference. :) Keep up the good work!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 16, 2012
14 people found this review helpful

more

April 16, 2012
14 people found this review helpful

Delusional new CEO Robin Ganzert has destroyed this once-decent organization. She’s fired all the people that did good work helping children and animals with her executive buddies who get paid an awful lot of money to sit around, pat each other's backs, and come up with asinine ways to make more money and get more publicity. If you donate to the American Humane Association, you can rest assured that your money will go to what Ms. Ganzert considers worthy causes: funding these executive salaries, giving a humanitarian award to Martha Stewart (yes, really), hobnobbing with various C-list celebrities, and flying around the country (or out of the country, like her recent trip to Japan) to get her face and name in as many news articles as possible. But knowing that they can’t count on the general public to fund all of their jet-setting and lavish parties and doggie award shows, the management has made sure to partner with some really evil mega-corporations, like Pfizer and Proctor and Gamble (because nothing says we care about children and animals like taking money from corporations that kill children and animals). They are constantly making a point of congratulating themselves for making more money and getting more publicity but never say a word about the good work that is being done for children and animals - - probably because no good work is happening anymore. Before Robin Ganzert took over, I loved my job and believed in what I was doing, and now I’m thrilled to be gone and wouldn’t want to touch this super-corporate organization with a 40-foot pole. Disgruntled? Absolutely! It’s a hollow shell of what it used to be. Robin doesn’t care at all about the animals or children and once she’s finished ruining the American Humane Association, she’ll be trying to move on to work where her slimy, despicable behavior is better suited: politics. (Does anyone really think it’s a coincidence she killed the Denver headquarters, and put the new headquarters in Washington DC?)

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers