Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
11 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
February 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
February 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

As someone with family members struggling with cardiovascular disease, you have been consistently disappointed with the American Heart Association. Specifically,. . .

* Stunned by the inflated salaries, exorbitant incentives and excessive benefits packages given to its executives and
high ranking employees across the organization hidden the the costs of "programs" rather than disclosed properly in costs of "administration." Also, the association's compensation ratios and rates exceed those for most for-profit enterprises.

* Saddened that science positions and recommendations are altered or delayed due to the heavy influence of the association's corporate sponsors, donors and conference exhibitors, specifically Campbell Soups and the beef industry.

* Disheartened by the association's overstated claims of its contributions to scientific research and breakthroughs when really government and foundation funding have been the chief financial sources for this work.

* Put off by the association's focus on short-term, splashy events and media coverage driven by highly-compensated celebrity spokespeople.

TO REALLY FIGHT HEART DISEASE, DON'T DONATE TO THE AHA - rather support your local medical school or research hospital where the real work and family support are delivered.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 7, 2013

Who has the largest tent at the American Heart Association Heart Walk? The Beef Industry!

What were the AMA volunteers selling as a fundraiser? Transfat loaded donuts and muffins.

CEO salaries are out of control. The AHA is no different.

Every charity's goal should
be curing themselves out of a job.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 5, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
November 5, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I just received a call from a man who identified himself as a professional donation solicitor for AHA. I asked him the % of each donation that is used for solicitation to which he answered 21%. I told him that I do not donate to nonprofits that use that high of a percentage and ended the call. I looked up the % on http://www.charitynavigator.org and noted that he lied by stating about 1/2 of the amount (38.5% currently). I would not recommend a donation to American Heart Association.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 12, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
April 12, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Expenses rising faster than donations. It's not the economy people. Rein in your executive salaries and donations will increase. Please understand that higher paid CEO's don't necessarily yield higher results. Being the CEO of a charity should be a calling and salaries should reflect it.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I used to work for AHA in the late 1990s/early 2000s. I was hired after a restructure, a restructure went on the three years I worked there, and another "restructure" got me booted out the door. I'm assuming the CEO and all the bogus studies/research they do needed the money more than I did. The fact that I myself have high blood pressure and was one of the people who "benefited" from what they do, didn't seem to faze them as they showed me to the door. If you don't walk their walk and talk their talk 100%, then you are expendable. I began having a hard time working to raise money for AHA when I saw where all that money was ending up--and it wasn't in my pocketbook in terms of salary. I also became concerned that, year after year, more and more money was being raised--but heart disease and stroke still weren't stamped out, nor were they going down. Now that I have "gone over" to the alternative healthcare side, I know that NUTRITION is what keeps the body healthy. Organic food, safe water, farm-raised/grass-fed meat, no pesticides, no chemicals, no toxins--THAT is what keeps the body healthy, with no issues or problems. I don't see them teaching anyone about nutrition and how naturally keeping the body healthy will keep everyone from having heart issues. And they won't, because like all of the big money-making and -promoting organizations, it's all about raising money--not finding a cure. I refuse to give money to any of them.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2001

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers