Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
11 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
April 23, 2013

I am Roger Potter - I am a Volunteer Social Media Diplomate with the American Heart Association on FaceBook.

In 1952 when I was 5 I underwent Open Heart surgery that was paid for by the American Heart Association.

Now at age 66 I am keeping myself busy and very active - being a
social media diplomate with the AHA allows me and the other diplomates to help, encourage, reach out and Pray for those that have either had heart attacks or heart surgery.

Being that I had open heart surgery keeping myself active is paramount - every 3 days I am in the gym progressive strength/weight training in order to keep my body and heart health & strong.,

20.8 % of money raised is spent on research
39.1 is spent on public health education
14 is spent on professional educ/training
05.1 is spent on community service
13 is spent on fundraising
07.9 is spent on salaries.

I am proud to be a member of the AHA that is dedicated to promoting heart health and education on heart health. I am now accomplishing Senior Strength.

This year the AHA won the social media award for promoting having a healthy heart that was done by US diplomates: the link

http://www.prnewsonline.com/awards/2013/03/11/2013-nonprofitprawardssocialmedia/


More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
April 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I've been a nurse for over 20 years. It was not until surfing the web one day did I run across the American Heart Association and saw something astounding. Heart disease is the #1 KILLER of women. I was absolutely flabbergasted!! How did I not know this? Now my family history is as such; I've had 7 uncles and 6 aunts to not reach age 55 who have died from heart disease and 4 dear friends that have some form of cardiovascular disease. My mother-in-law had a massive MI just 2 years ago. I decided immediately that this was a cause that I needed to become a part of.

I did a lot of research before joining because I wanted to be sure that whatever I invest my energy into is one that has positive feedback and a well established background. So here I am. I am amazed by the number of Causes, such as Go Red For Women, My Heart My Life, Power to End Stroke, etc. and sites, that are available to the public. Knowledge is power. Having the mission to build healthier lives, that are free of cardiovascular disease and stroke is simply stated but very profound mission statement.

As an advocate I've written letters to my congressman and representatives letting them know my opinion on upcoming legislature, created videos and write a monthly blog. Everyone has a voice whether it's in Washington, my state's capital or city I have taken on the mindset to what I can to help. Where I decided to give monetarily or with my time and labor it will never go without thanks from all the lives that are touched.

I'm proud and honored to be a part of this association that is doing everything possible, especially for me as a female to silence one of the physical enemies of the heart, cardiovascular disease.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
1 previous review
March 14, 2012

I am a heart attack survivor. I had the widow maker heart attack (5% chance of survival) a year and a half ago. I have been giving back ever since. It was because of all the great research in the p... more

April 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Aug 25, 2010, at age 44, I had a massive heart attack. I had less than a 5% chance for survival! I had what is referred to as "the widow maker" heart attack. Stress and poor eating for many years took it's toll on me and a blood clot got into my LAD. My wife performed fantastically in calling 911 and the first responders knew exactly how to diagnose and begin treating me! All due to the valuable prior research of the AHA!!! The EMTs in the ambulance continued fast action and when I hit the ER and could not feel my arms and legs...and I felt cold all over, I could not have asked for any better care than I received. Again, it was all part of the great research in everyone's fast action and life-saving decisions that night. I'm extremely grateful for the prior research. I am dedicated to helping raise more money for the further research to end heart events for people as I never wish the amount of pain I had that night on anyone. ANYONE! I thought several times I was taking my final breath. My wonderful wife and kids looked on as I struggled for my life. Yes, I am a PROUD volunteer of the AHA! I walked in my first Heart Walk 56 days after my heart attack. I had raised just under $1,000 in that short amount of time. I then helped organize it the next year and I Chair'd the event last year! In all, just three years out of fighting for my next breathe, I have raised over $10,000 for the research that just might save the life of someone close to you. Through the recommendations and the approval of my cardiologist, I have established a sodium intake of the AHA recommended 1,500 mg per day. NOT easy, but so worth it. I am now active. I've cut out stress in my life. I've cut out soda in my choice of drink. I eat sensibly now and am loving life. I have dropped 55 pounds because of my new lifestyle! I am a mentor now for others going through lifestyle changes and recovering from their heart events. And yes, I do this through and for the AHA. Hand-picked to help assist others along with some other very wonderful survivors that have become my heart family. The American Heart Association has a TON of valuable information for heart-healthy living and recovery from heart events. It is both my honor and pleasure to help deliver that information into my little section of the world. I am so thankful for the extra time I have with my children and wife. My children were 9 & 7 at the time of my heart attack - clearly too young to see one of their parents fighting for life. However, both kids and my wife have really stepped up and are helping me in giving back to the AHA and it is our mission as a family to do so. I thank God every day for putting me in some wonderful people's hands that night. People who were aware of the AHA's research which allowed me to survive and have a complete recovery. I just can't say enough about the AHA and the work they do.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 14, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I am a heart attack survivor. I had the widow maker heart attack (5% chance of survival) a year and a half ago. I have been giving back ever since. It was because of all the great research in the past, that saved my life that nearly fateful night. The first responders, EMTs, ER nurses and doctors, the cardiologist all received training from the research and were able to diagnose quickly and respond even quicker. It is because of this quick action, that I am still on this earth. I immediately began volunteering for the AHA raising money for the local Heart Walk. The AHA has been a great resource of information for me. They have been a great partner for me along my new lease on life.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 4, 2011
5 people found this review helpful

more

October 4, 2011
5 people found this review helpful

The American Heart Association’s mission is to support research and educational efforts directed toward reducing the incidence of cardiovascular disease. Research is the foundation for identifying interventions that reduce the morbidity and mortality of cardiovascular disease. Emphasis is placed on promoting a healthy life style, by incorporating dietary changes, cholesterol lowering measures, smoking cessation and exercise in the daily routine. The “Get with the Guidelines” initiative is committed to employing national guidelines for the care of cardiovascular disease. “Go Red for Women” directs attention to the importance of risk reduction and early recognition of cardiovascular disease in women. “Mission Lifeline” champions regional cooperation to encourage prompt intervention in the management of acute myocardial infarction.

The success of the Heart Association in achieving its goals is attested to by the decline of 28% in the death rate from cardiovascular disease and a 45% reduction in death rate from stroke over the decade from 1997-2007.

Your support of the American Heart Association is greatly appreciated.

Sincerely,
Dr. Mark Thompson

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've seen first hand the results of the advances in cardiovascular research.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Encourage more individual giving.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers