Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
11 Reviews
1234.909095
Write A Review
January 7, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
January 7, 2013

Working at NATAL has been a wonderful experience!! The work environment is very friendly, and everyone here is extremely dedicated to what they are doing. I was a psychology student in college and plan on pursuing a degree in the field, and this was a great educational experience for me. I got to see how trauma counseling is applied in the real world, and see how it can change people's lives. It was also an educational experience to see the development/business side of the organization. I was volunteering when Operation Pillar of Defense was going on in Israel, and I got to see NATAL in full action. During this stressful time, NATAL was fully committed to providing immediate support to all who needed it, particularly to the communities of southern Israel. It was incredible to see how much of an impact NATAL had.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 9, 2012

more

July 9, 2012

Natal is a great organization in which I loved working. All the money that is donated to Natal is spent in a good way, there isn't 1 penny wasted. The same is for all the time you spent in it, I always had the feeling that my time was spent well and that I really helped them in achieving their goals.
The goal of Natal is to provide multidisciplinary help to traumatized people after war and terror in Israel. Unfortunately those people form a big group in Israel, and Natal makes sure everyone gets the help he/she needs/want. I also like the fact that Natal is apolitical, because even though people get hurt in Israel for political reasons, at the end of the day, no matter what the politic does, they as human beings need help. Natal provides them this across the whole country.
Natal is pure, transparent and has the good intention and the ability to really make a difference in people's life and in the Israeli society. These are for me the best qualities a NGO can have and therefore I recommend it.

Photos

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 8, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
December 8, 2011

The second I started working at NATAL, I felt at home. The building is the most welcoming, warm place I'd ever been, and after a busy week of study abroad orientation, which included already two fights about the Israeli-Palestinian conflict among my group, this place felt like paradise. I'd always been interested in trauma, because both of my parents work in emergency medicine and I've had some experience in the field myself, but I had never delved past the initial physical recovery from the trauma. NATAL was a great place to learn about what happens after the physical wounds are healed. They are the best at treating PTSD using multitude of methods, from traditional clinical therapy to an innovative and unique hotline. As a volunteer, I was really given free reign to write a blog about trauma and my experiences in Israel and at the organization. They were great about making resources and staff available to me for interviews, to help me further understand what they do here at NATAL and how they do it. Everyone at the organization is friendly and welcoming and leaving this organization is what I'm most dreading about leaving Israel. They give interns the opportunity to continue volunteering with the New York branch, the American Friends of NATAL, and I'm definitely going to take up that offer. I want to stay connected to this organization. My time here at NATAL has helped me feel welcome in Tel Aviv and one of the most worthwhile aspects of my study abroad experience.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

It taught me about the many ways in which trauma can affect society, especially in a society that is so traumatized, like Israel.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

It made me feel more connected to the Israeli community, rather than just stuck in the bubble of my study abroad program.

December 5, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
December 5, 2011

I have been working in the non-profit sector for almost 10 years and the work that Natal does is some of the most important that I've seen. I've been working with Natal since late August while living in Israel. The organization really focuses on their clients needs and provides invaluable services. The work I did was to help engage our current audience as well as try to gain new followers. Working for Natal has also been a positive experience. Everyone in the office is very sweet and approachable, as well as very thankful that I am there.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 21, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
November 21, 2011

Prior to working at Natal I knew a little bit about PTSD and that it existed world wide, but I did not know the severity of it. As a result of terrorism and war Post Traumatic Stress Disorder is a serious illness that effects individuals everywhere as well as their family and friends. Natal works to bring awareness to PTSD and make it okay for people to get the help they need without being embarrassed. Through different types of therapy, including art therapy, one on one therapy, and group therapy, Natal works to help people begin to regain their lives again and sense of self as they begin the process of recovery. What makes Natal's hotline special is that not only do people receive support and help, but the hotline volunteers create personal relationships with those in need and call them back to check up on them. I've had a great experience at Natal and everyone here is extremely nice and devoted to helping others.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

August 11, 2011

more

August 11, 2011

My name is Alla Paradis and I am from Brooklyn, New York. I came to Israel to intern and to volunteer and when I heard about NATAL's mission, I knew that this was an organization that I wanted to contribute to. NATAL is a non-profit Organization in which they help people that suffer from trauma due to the Arab-Israeli conflict. They make it known that the poeple of Israel are not alone and they give them many options such as a very active and available hotline, recreational centers for areas like Sderot that are in need for them and therapy to those that need it and much, much more. It is so exhilirating to be apart of such an organization; even from the first day I felt that I can take something out of this experience with me for my future career. I always felt like I belonged and I began to understand so much about Israel and the people of Israel through NATAL and it was really rewarding. I realized that everything that I thought I understand was really just an image and the people of Israel have survived so much, and have given up so much of their lives to keep this land, that its time to start giving back to the people.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

When I first interviewed one of NATAL's volunteers working at the hotline, and I felt the compassion and the dedication that she felt for her callers, that she has kept for years and helped them cope with their trauma, and I realized that my role in NATAL was a necessity. NATAL does everything possible to give the Israeli people a chance to get help and take back their lives from these terrors they so often face.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would advertise to the rest of the world and to Israel about the crisis and the statistics that have been released on how many people suffer from PTSD symptoms, or how many people have trouble carrying out their day-to-day routine because of the situation that Israel is in. Nobody is really aware that it isn't so quiet in Israel even if there isn't an ongoing war right now. It is very important to bring awareness and to educate people so that NATAL's cause can progress even further then it already has.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

August 8, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
August 8, 2011

My name is Ilana Snyder and I am 21 years old. I have been in Israel for three months and I’m loving every minute of it. I am on an internship program in Tel Aviv that gives young adults a chance to work and volunteer in Israeli society. When I came to Israel I knew that I wanted to give back to the community in some way and I also wanted to use my bachelors degree in Psychology; I find myself extremely lucky that I found NATAL. NATAL is an amazing organization that is comprised of not only a dedicated and hardworking staff; they are also extremely warm and welcoming. The first day I started volunteering it felt like home. Everyone was interested in where I lived and how I liked Israel, it was refreshing and very different from what I expected and internship to be like. The people at NATAL have been so insightful and eager to teach me about the organization and how it helps others. This experience has impacted me more than I ever expected and I want to continue to help the organization as much as I can when I return back to the United States.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

viewing videos about the postive affects of NATAL. It really opened my eyes to how important certain partys of the organization such as the outreach program and the hotline are to individuals who are dealing with trauma. I also have been personally touched when I interviewed staff members about their experiences with the organization. They really make such a postive impact of people's lives, without NATAL who knows where these people would be.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

try and find a way to make NATAL more well known not only in Israel, but to other countries as well.

May 12, 2011

I came to Israel and got the great experience of working through an internship with NATAL. Though I did not really know about PTSD or about the military here in Israel, the employees at NATAL made every effort to introduce me to the organization. They set up interviews with different members of the staff, taught us about nationwide holidays and always made sure we were included and felt at home. The work I did was mostly raising awareness-writing blogs and helping with Facebook messages but I also worked in editing English documents and researching revenue sources. I feel like the experience was as much them helping me become knowledgeable as it was me helping them.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

A man applying for a job at NATAL stumbled upon one of my blog postings and this helped him get a better sense of what NATAL does before he came in for the interview. I've also heard from people who have personally benefitted from the trauma relief services provided through NATAL.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Update the website so that it is easier to navigate, more aesthetically pleasing and easier for sufferers to access to seek help.

May 11, 2011

more

May 11, 2011

Natal is an amazing organization that has a dedicated staff. Working for Natal made me feel like I was actually making a difference. Natal makes a sizable contribution to the health and happiness of many citizens in Israel.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have personally experienced the results of this organization when I went to Sderot on a class trip and I saw the terror and devastation first hand. Then I realized that people actually need help coping with their stress. Even if they try to bottle it up, at some point it will come out.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If I had to make changes to this organization i would not change anything.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

None

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I learned a lot about what it takes to help others cope with problems.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Great

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

May 11, 2011

Natal is an amazing organization that has a dedicated staff. Working for Natal made me feel like I was actually making a difference. Natal makes a sizable contribution to the health and happiness of many citizens in Israel.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have personally experienced the results of this organization when I went to Sderot on a class trip and I saw the terror and devastation first hand. Then I realized that people actually need help coping with their stress. Even if they try to bottle it up, at some point it will come out.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If I had to make changes to this organization i would not change anything.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

None

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I learned a lot about what it takes to help others cope with problems.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Great

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers