Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
46 Reviews
1234.956525
Write A Review
September 9, 2014

more

September 9, 2014

Tanya is an excellent leader who truly cares about the work and people she serves. AFCA makes a huge impact for a relatively small group and is filing a gap in the programs and services that are offered to children who are most in need. It is a wonderful organization that we should all try and support a group who is looking out for the under-served.
September 8, 2014

more

September 8, 2014

I first began working with AFCA seven years ago. It is the first NGO with which I worked that dealt with HIV/AIDS in Africa. I was extremely impressed with their innovative approach to helping children with HIV/AIDS and their families. Since that time, I have worked with numerous other NGOs, some larger, some smaller. AFCA still stands out for its effective and innovative approach to implementing programs that have measurable impact. Additionally, as others have commented, they do it with very limited financial resources, effectively using volunteers, in-kind contributions, and, importantly, tireless and dynamic leadership from the Executive Director. Working with her and the organization is always very gratifying.
June 12, 2013

more


1 previous review
July 25, 2012

I just returned from leading an AFCA Vacation with a Purpose volunteer team to Mombasa Kenya. Our team worked with AFCA's partner there - Mombasa Community Based Health Care program - to rebuild a ho... more

June 12, 2013

I have been involved with many non-profit organizations over the years, and without a doubt, AFCA is the best of them all. I became involved at its inception based on the reputation and incredible talent of its Executive Director, Tanya Weaver, and am proud to be involved with it still today. This is a small organization that achieves monumental things on behalf of the children with AIDS they serve in eastern Africa. A small staff supported by an army of dedicated volunteers makes it all happen. I have traveled to visit many of their in-country partners and have witnessed first-hand the results of their tireless work. This is an organization that I support unequivocally!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 25, 2012

I just returned from leading an AFCA Vacation with a Purpose volunteer team to Mombasa Kenya. Our team worked with AFCA's partner there - Mombasa Community Based Health Care program - to rebuild a home an HIV+ child su[[orted by AFCA who is living in horrible conditions in the slums. AFCA does a stellar job of selecting in-country partner programs that really achieve results, and Mombasa CBHC is just one such organization. It was a very successful trip and one of many more to come, we hope!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help us sort medical supplies at our warehouse; do research to help us keep our website current; blog about what is happening in the world of pediatric AIDS; help plan a fundraising event; run or walk in our 5k Volunteer