Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
30 Reviews
1234.966675
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
September 27, 2013

more

September 27, 2013

We have no idea the burdens others bear on a daily basis. This summer I had the opportunity to see first hand some of the challenges others face.

Thankfully AFCA is doing something about it. AFCA sends aid to sub-Saharan Africa which saves and improves lives of HIV+ children and their
guardians. After hearing about AFCA from a high school friend I decided to volunteer in the fall of 2012 at AFCA's warehouse. That morning we loaded cargo containers with medical supplies headed for Africa. In August of this year I traveled to Tanzania to attempt to summit Mt. Kilimanjaro in support of AFCA's Climb Up So Kids Can Grow Up program. My time on the mountain was the experience of a lifetime (so far). The funds raised by my team and I were used to provide lifesaving medicine to children in need. Following my time on the mountain I traveled to Mombasa, Kenya to visit a clinic supported by AFCA. While I was in Mombasa I spent a day walking through the local community, visiting some of the people who are supported by the program. I realized on this day the tremendous obstacles some folks face in regards to simply surviving each day. I also realized the tremendous impact AFCA makes in the lives of the people I met. I am glad to be a part of AFCA and the generous and life changing work they are continuing to do. I saw a glimmer of hope in a seemingly hopeless situation, and every day more lives are impacted positively from the support of AFCA.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 25, 2013

more

September 25, 2013

I became involved with AFCA through volunteering with my son's scout troop donating time to organize medical supplies in the warehouse to be shipped to aid clinics in Africa. Having been involved in many non-profit organizations over the years, I couldn't help but be touched by the true good AFCA was accomplishing. I continued to become more involved by gathering donated supplies from hospitals, civic clubs and personal friends who wanted to help. Feeling incredibly inspired by the difference AFCA makes, I jumped at the chance to participate in "Climb Up So Kids Can Grow Up" and our family raised money to directly benefit AFCA and the clinics they serve in Africa. I personally had the privilege of climbing Mt. Kilimanjaro last summer AND afterward, visiting one of the clinics we raised money for in Mombasa, Kenya. To actually SEE the contributions, so generously given, being used in such a valuable way... improving the quality of life for young children who are HIV+. KNOWING that we are accountable as well as effectively and efficiently helping to truly SAVE LIVES. You cannot describe seeing people being treated who may have never seen a doctor otherwise...in the poorest parts of the world. AFCA is working...and I will continue to support knowing that after spending time with these children, WE CAN make a difference. Friday, we will be loading a cargo container to be shipped to Africa and I will be there helping and thinking of those children in Kenya, and my heart will be warm.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 21, 2013

more

September 21, 2013

I traveled to Mombasa, Kenya from June 22 to July 3rd. I was nervous at first to meet my teammates as we had all come from different states and did not know one another. The first house that we constructed was for a woman named Judith and her 1 year old daughter Zawadi. Our team quickly got to work constructing a new home for them to live in and it was amazing to see how much we as a team pulled up our sleeves and worked side by side with the villagers to make sure that this was done not only for Zawadi, but for her mother as well. I will never forget Judith's words as she looked at her new home..."Now I haved up in the world". And this house was just a humble dwelling, something that we as Americans don't understand. We have running water. We have the basic necessities. I came home with a new appreciation for what I have. Sure, my "powder room" isn't what you see in the Better Homes and Garden Magazines, but at least I know where my next meal is coming from.

Our team leader Val was awesome! She and her husband Nick took time to get to know the team members as well.
C

I was happy to return home to my family in the U.S. But I did so with a much greater appreciation of what we have in the United States. If you really want to change your life, and others in the procress than to get in contact with AFCA and see how YOU can change a LIFE for the better

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes !

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 20, 2013

more


1 previous review
July 5, 2012

Life...how many organizations can say they are saving a child's life? AFCA is that organization. I had the honor and privilege of traveling to Zimbabwe to help with a project AFCA was working on. A... more

September 20, 2013

I have had the opportunity to travel twice with AFCA to Zimbabwe to work on a livestock distribution program for children orphaned by AIDS. I seen first hand the hard work and dedication of this organization in helping children receive the necessary nutritional support, income opportunities and educational fees they need. The work they do is vital to the success in these areas to make a brighter future for so many children. A great organization to support.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 5, 2012

Life...how many organizations can say they are saving a child's life? AFCA is that organization. I had the honor and privilege of traveling to Zimbabwe to help with a project AFCA was working on. AFCA spent countless hours raising funds to provide children orphaned by AIDS with goats and chickens. The nutritional support will be invaluable to these vulnerable children. I saw first hand the compassion and dedication, and the heart of this organization. If not for AFCA 10's of thousands of children would not get the lifesaving medication and nutritional support they need to survive. It was heartbreaking to see a country that once thrived, now so severely effected by prolonged drought, severe poverty and unemployment and AIDS. AFCA offers hope to these families. I saw so many beautiful children being helped by the eggs, meat and milk they receive through this program. I was truly moved to want to do more to help.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 18, 2013

more

September 18, 2013

I have volunteered on various occasions with this charity. They are very careful with our time and they try to use are talents to the maximum. I love how they truly care for the kids they help and they are so focused on doing as much as they can for the kids. I love them!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find more volunteers to help them out

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 25, 2012

more

July 25, 2012

If you are looking for a charity who is responsible with your donations, diligent in following the rules and regulations, promotes respect for all, seeks only the best for their recipients and all in all lives to provide the best care and promote avenues for long and heathy lives, AFCA is the charity for you. It was my sincere pleasure to have the opportunity to visit many of the distribution sights and their clients in 2009. It was an amazing experience to see exactly how the ARV's, antibiotics, nutritional suppliments, and many, many other things are distributed. The care given by the heath care orginazations who have been chosen by AFCA to distribute the aid, is a wonder to see. They work daily with these children and their families giving medical help but also educating, supporting and loving them. AFCA is a wonderful organization dedicated to using every penny, nickel and dime raised in the fight to end the suffering brought on by AIDS. The board of directors are all volunteers and the organization maintains an extremely low over head with only 1 full time staff member and I believe 1 part time helper. I am proud to be involved with this organization wnd would heartily recomend it to anyone wanting to become involved with something truly fullfilling.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 24, 2012

more

July 24, 2012

Our church was blessed with a visit from Sister Veronica Wanjiru Mwaura and Nurse Lucy Nyaga who are from the Mombasa CBHC & AIDS Relief Project in Kenya and partner with AFCA. Their visit inspired us to raise money which went towards food for the HIV+ patients so they can take their medication. We also did a collection of prescription bottles to be used to dispense that medication. We continue to work with this life-changing organization by rolling bandages to be shipped to hospitals who request them in Uganda, Congo and Kenya. The bandages are used for children and adults who are in need of these because the hospitals and clinics do not have enough supplies to treat their patients. These bandages can be washed if necessary and reused, which makes them valuable.

I hope to work with AFCA for many years to come. They are saving children's lives. There is nothing more important than that.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 18, 2012

more

July 18, 2012

I have found the AFCA to be a very efficient charity, one that emphasizes the importance of spreading its resources to those who can make best use of them. It's promotional materials and web design are very aesthetic and convenient. It is easy to navigate the website. Additionally, the staff are all very friendly and helpful. Grade A!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 9, 2012

more

July 9, 2012

Even though AFCA has been around only for the past few years, the dedication and determination of the founders and volunteers has made it grow in leaps and bounds, specifically in terms of the direct implementation they have achieved at the field level in Africa . Iam very proud to be part of this organization as a volunteer . They have minimal staff but maximum outreach. What makes it special is that its specifically targeted at the children suffering with AIDS in Africa. It’s a well balanced and focused program , providing holistic support to the community in Africa. As a volunteer I love the transparency they maintian regarding the program implementation by constantly keeping us updated about new programs, achievements and needs. That makes one feel needed and part of the project.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 8, 2012

more

July 8, 2012

AFCA stands apart from other non-profits is several ways. There are only 2 paid staff; one part time. So the donations are NOT going to pay the CEO a salary of millions of dollars. The money is spent on the children who desperately need help. They can accomplish this feat by the many volunteers that pitch in to make a difference. Surplus medical equipment and supplies are donated by hospitals. Linens are donated by nursing homes. Beds are donated by Universities. AFCA scronges supplies so that as much money as possible goes to buying life-saving medications. What other charity can claim that?

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help us sort medical supplies at our warehouse; do research to help us keep our website current; blog about what is happening in the world of pediatric AIDS; help plan a fundraising event; run or walk in our 5k Volunteer