Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
46 Reviews
1234.956525
Write A Review
September 8, 2014

more

September 8, 2014

AFCA is a fantastic organization that leverages limited funds and inspires compassionate volunteers to help thousands of children and families affected by HIV/AIDS in Africa. Their methods are very cost-effective and show incredible impact. I volunteered with AFCA almost 10 years ago and am just amazed by the ways the organization has grown over the years while remaining very true to their mission.
September 7, 2014

more

September 7, 2014

AFCA runs an incredible organization, with lean administrative overhead and effective programing, they dynamically tackle the huge issue of children infected and affected by AIDS in Africa. I continue to discover aspects of their programming that surprise me by being well-thought out. They are serious about trying to work themselves out of a job, but wherever there is a need, AFCA steps in in a sustainable way. It's an honor to work with AFCA.
September 5, 2014

more

September 5, 2014

AFCA is a wonderful organization that does very meaningful work with children and families affected by HIV. I live in Zimbabwe and get to see the impact of this disease on peoples lives on a daily basis. This organization provides people with a real way to sustain themselves, but alongside that provide help and support. I am so grateful for everything they do for the beautiful people of Zimbabwe. Thank you and keep up the excellent work!
September 4, 2014

more

September 4, 2014

AFCA is a wonderful organization both in results for HIV+ children, and in the way it treats volunteers. Every time I show up to help, they have meaningful work for me to do. Within just a few weeks, shipping containers loaded, bandages rolled, boxes pack, arrive in Africa for the support of kids with AIDS. It amazing to see videos and photos of something we packed with our own hands being put to use in hospitals and clinics. AFCA never wastes my time or donations they receive.
September 4, 2014

more

September 4, 2014

AFCA truly helps the people they work with. They not only help children with aids but they provide them with sustainable means to break the cycle of it within their communities. They really go above and beyond for the people they help.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 4, 2014

more

September 4, 2014

This is an excellent non profit organization that really helps people. Not only do they help children with aids, but they are teaching people how to be self sufficient by teaching animal husbandry and farming to people in Africa. I truly admire the work that they do.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None, they do a fantastic job.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 27, 2013

more

September 27, 2013

We have no idea the burdens others bear on a daily basis. This summer I had the opportunity to see first hand some of the challenges others face.

Thankfully AFCA is doing something about it. AFCA sends aid to sub-Saharan Africa which saves and improves lives of HIV+ children and their
guardians. After hearing about AFCA from a high school friend I decided to volunteer in the fall of 2012 at AFCA's warehouse. That morning we loaded cargo containers with medical supplies headed for Africa. In August of this year I traveled to Tanzania to attempt to summit Mt. Kilimanjaro in support of AFCA's Climb Up So Kids Can Grow Up program. My time on the mountain was the experience of a lifetime (so far). The funds raised by my team and I were used to provide lifesaving medicine to children in need. Following my time on the mountain I traveled to Mombasa, Kenya to visit a clinic supported by AFCA. While I was in Mombasa I spent a day walking through the local community, visiting some of the people who are supported by the program. I realized on this day the tremendous obstacles some folks face in regards to simply surviving each day. I also realized the tremendous impact AFCA makes in the lives of the people I met. I am glad to be a part of AFCA and the generous and life changing work they are continuing to do. I saw a glimmer of hope in a seemingly hopeless situation, and every day more lives are impacted positively from the support of AFCA.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 25, 2013

more

September 25, 2013

I became involved with AFCA through volunteering with my son's scout troop donating time to organize medical supplies in the warehouse to be shipped to aid clinics in Africa. Having been involved in many non-profit organizations over the years, I couldn't help but be touched by the true good AFCA was accomplishing. I continued to become more involved by gathering donated supplies from hospitals, civic clubs and personal friends who wanted to help. Feeling incredibly inspired by the difference AFCA makes, I jumped at the chance to participate in "Climb Up So Kids Can Grow Up" and our family raised money to directly benefit AFCA and the clinics they serve in Africa. I personally had the privilege of climbing Mt. Kilimanjaro last summer AND afterward, visiting one of the clinics we raised money for in Mombasa, Kenya. To actually SEE the contributions, so generously given, being used in such a valuable way... improving the quality of life for young children who are HIV+. KNOWING that we are accountable as well as effectively and efficiently helping to truly SAVE LIVES. You cannot describe seeing people being treated who may have never seen a doctor otherwise...in the poorest parts of the world. AFCA is working...and I will continue to support knowing that after spending time with these children, WE CAN make a difference. Friday, we will be loading a cargo container to be shipped to Africa and I will be there helping and thinking of those children in Kenya, and my heart will be warm.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 21, 2013

more

September 21, 2013

I traveled to Mombasa, Kenya from June 22 to July 3rd. I was nervous at first to meet my teammates as we had all come from different states and did not know one another. The first house that we constructed was for a woman named Judith and her 1 year old daughter Zawadi. Our team quickly got to work constructing a new home for them to live in and it was amazing to see how much we as a team pulled up our sleeves and worked side by side with the villagers to make sure that this was done not only for Zawadi, but for her mother as well. I will never forget Judith's words as she looked at her new home..."Now I haved up in the world". And this house was just a humble dwelling, something that we as Americans don't understand. We have running water. We have the basic necessities. I came home with a new appreciation for what I have. Sure, my "powder room" isn't what you see in the Better Homes and Garden Magazines, but at least I know where my next meal is coming from.

Our team leader Val was awesome! She and her husband Nick took time to get to know the team members as well.
C

I was happy to return home to my family in the U.S. But I did so with a much greater appreciation of what we have in the United States. If you really want to change your life, and others in the procress than to get in contact with AFCA and see how YOU can change a LIFE for the better

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes !

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 20, 2013

more

September 20, 2013

My wife traveled with AFCA this past year to Kenya to help build two houses for families who did not have adequate housing. While she was there, my wife also was able to see the effects of previous AFCA support in the form of a large Greenhouse which AFCA assisted in building to help the people grow there own food. The more involved my family becomes with AFCA, the more we realize how since they are and how muck actual help they provide to individuals and entire communities which are less fortunate than us.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help us sort medical supplies at our warehouse; do research to help us keep our website current; blog about what is happening in the world of pediatric AIDS; help plan a fundraising event; run or walk in our 5k Volunteer