Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
30 Reviews
1234.966675
| 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
June 10, 2013

more

June 10, 2013

I have been VERY IMPRESSED with this non profit ! So much so that I have been a regular donor ! They give 93% of what they take in to the kids they serve ! I have been VERY IMPRESSED that this organization is NOT a welfare program ! But partners with other organizations to educate kids , they also started something like a heifer program . So the kids are educated HOW to take care of the animals and are able to feed themselves !
I am extremely fussy where I give my money ! We work very very HARD for our money ! And in this day and age ! Well you have to TRUST where you are giving your money !
I have THOROUGHLY gone over this organization with a fine TOOTH comb ! I was EXTREMELY impressed that this organization has a badge on its Web site ! Rating it as one of the BEST non profits in America ! I found that ONLY two THOUSAND out of a million non profits gets this honor !! From this consumer action group !

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 10, 2013

more

June 10, 2013

A couple of years ago I heard Sr Veronica of Mombasa, Kenya tell the moving story of AFCA's help to her work. Sister Veronica talked about support over many years, and support that changed in relation to the changing needs for HIV+ kids. It was an amazing testimonial to true charitable action. I have supported this charity financially since then, and I'm only sorry that I have so little to give. Thank you Tanya Weaver for making so much care available to so many children.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would hire 100 more fundraisers to help them gather more money for their efficient and effective programs.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 10, 2013

more

June 10, 2013

As a current Board Member, I have witnessed the tremendous impact that AFCA has had on thousands of families in Africa that have been affected by the aids virus and related illnesses. This dedicated team of volunteers is truly making a big difference on the health and well being of these families. AFCA has been very successful enabling sustainable programs in Uganda, Kenya, Zimbabwe, and the Congo - these programs address health care, nutrition, housing, and education. It's great to see AFCA and partners making such a positive impact!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 14, 2012

more

October 14, 2012

I have not personally come in contact with any member of this team. However, I myself at the age of 7 had an uncle who passed from the complications of the HIV/AIDS virus. Anything I can do to help someone with the disease, I will always do. This cause is very close to my heart. Keep on doing the good that you do! You will be awarded greatly. Love to you all

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 10, 2012

more

September 10, 2012

As a Founder of Walk On Foundation Inc, a health focused non profit in Pennsylvania we are thankful for the other organizations in and around Pennsylvania that share a common goal with us, in helping those with medical needs. This organization is one that is very much needed and we hope to be able to work together more in the future towards a more healthier PA. Thank you for all you do!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 30, 2012

more

July 30, 2012

As a current Board Member, I can truly say that this organization has created impact and made a difference far beyond its physical limitations. A very dedicated team focused on making a difference in the lives of those who face the gravest of challenges... and doing so with the compassion and care needed when handling precious young lives.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 27, 2012

more

July 27, 2012

As the current acting Board President I can attest to the incredible dedication and commitment of those involved with AFCA. Although we are small in size and limited in resources, I never cease to be amazed by what our team is able to accomplish. In terms of "direct return on investment" it is hard for me to imagine a more effecient and effective organization than AFCA. A multitude of children have hope for their futures as a result of the work of AFCA and its partners. I am proud to be associated with the AFCA staff, board members, partners and volunteers.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 25, 2012

more

July 25, 2012

If you are looking for a charity who is responsible with your donations, diligent in following the rules and regulations, promotes respect for all, seeks only the best for their recipients and all in all lives to provide the best care and promote avenues for long and heathy lives, AFCA is the charity for you. It was my sincere pleasure to have the opportunity to visit many of the distribution sights and their clients in 2009. It was an amazing experience to see exactly how the ARV's, antibiotics, nutritional suppliments, and many, many other things are distributed. The care given by the heath care orginazations who have been chosen by AFCA to distribute the aid, is a wonder to see. They work daily with these children and their families giving medical help but also educating, supporting and loving them. AFCA is a wonderful organization dedicated to using every penny, nickel and dime raised in the fight to end the suffering brought on by AIDS. The board of directors are all volunteers and the organization maintains an extremely low over head with only 1 full time staff member and I believe 1 part time helper. I am proud to be involved with this organization wnd would heartily recomend it to anyone wanting to become involved with something truly fullfilling.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 24, 2012

more

July 24, 2012

It was my pleasure to work with Sister Veronica Wanjiru Mwaura and Nurse Lucy Nyaga from the Mombasa CBHC & AIDS Relief Project in Kenya (partners with AFCA) in educating our local congregation on the needs of clients in Africa. Their passion and dedication were clear not only in their presentation, but also in the way they have kept faithful contact with us, allowing us even greater opportunities to be involved in their mission. We look forward to participating in projects on a continuing basis with AFCA.

Photos

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 24, 2012

more

July 24, 2012

Our church did a collection of Rx bottles to help them distribute the medications that are needed. It was an easy thing for us to do to help those in need. They seem to be very resourceful in how they are able to help. We will be making bandages out of sheets for them soon, another easy and resourceful way to help.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help us sort medical supplies at our warehouse; do research to help us keep our website current; blog about what is happening in the world of pediatric AIDS; help plan a fundraising event; run or walk in our 5k Volunteer