Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
46 Reviews
1234.956525
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
September 16, 2014

more

September 16, 2014

From rolling bandages for shipment to organizing a warehouse full of medical supplies to delivery of those supplies in Africa, the fiscal responsibility of the leadership is outstanding. Going beyond medical needs and helping families to become self-sufficient by providing a means of income and food for the family shows the forward thinking of the AFCA. I am amazed at the how such a small organization can have an impact on so many.
September 16, 2014

more

September 16, 2014

Relentless passion, commitment, and tireless effort matter, and this organization demonstrates those attributes year-in and year-out. Ultimately, the difference is in performing the mission, and AFFCA successfully accomplishes a near-impossible mission. They find creative and innovative ways to get it done over and over. They do so much with so little. I can only imagine the good they would do if they were fully funded.
September 15, 2014

more

September 15, 2014

I volunteered for AFFCA for many years, and I saw all the people at work, how much passion they have for what they do. nowadays people are sceptical about charities because of the reputation a lot of them have being a scam, but AFFCA is one of the charities that I fully trust. I have seen and learned all about where the money goes, and what different that money makes in people's lives.
there is so much passion and dedication when it comes to AFFCA that I find it inspiring in many ways.
September 15, 2014

more

September 15, 2014

Strong leadership, good corporate governance, financial transparency, a focused initiative, and a strong history of mission fulfillment makes this one of the most noteworthy charities serving the global HIV/AIDS effort.
September 10, 2014

more

September 10, 2014

I’ve been raising money for the American Foundation for Children with AIDS for two years. I just finished selling bracelets at a local art show. It was a two day “adventure” and I was able to raise $547 for the kids.

I really love being a volunteer for the American Foundation for
Children with AIDS because …

It makes me feel good about myself knowing that I’m helping other kids and their families in Africa. I’m always thinking of new ideas to
collect school supplies, medical equipment or money for AFCA to send to Africa.

I really love to make people smile. Sometime I close my eyes at night and I can imagine the kids in Africa smiling because they feel good.

I like being able to tell other kids about being a volunteer. They may not volunteer for AFCA, but they might think about volunteering for kids with cancer or pets without a home.

I love to tell other people about the work they do at AFCA with the money I raise for them … like buying medicine or seeds or goats.

The people in charge at AFCA make me feel like I can make a difference, even if I’m just a kid selling my artwork or bracelets. They send me thank you notes and emails and give me hugs when I see them.

My teachers know about my volunteering and ask me to help in projects at school. They know they can trust me to do a good job. I can’t imagine my life without AFCA. It definitely makes me a better person.
September 9, 2014

more

September 9, 2014

I consider it a privilege to be able to volunteer with AFCA. While my time is typically focused on supporting the organizations medical initiatives, it is inspiring to see this organization and its leadership continually expand its vision beyond supporting the medical needs of children affected by HIV and AIDS. Their expanding scope of support speaks to the positive cultural changes occurring in the communities supported support by AFCA. More than simply surviving, children and families are flourishing. As a direct result, many children and adults have been afforded the opportunity to attend school, learn trades, and live in a sustainable community. The stewardship of AFCA leadership, in striving to thriving communities rather than reliant communities, is to be commended. With this in mind, I know my small efforts reap exponential rewards. Thank you AFCA for allowing me to contribute to your work!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 9, 2014

more

September 9, 2014

Tanya is an excellent leader who truly cares about the work and people she serves. AFCA makes a huge impact for a relatively small group and is filing a gap in the programs and services that are offered to children who are most in need. It is a wonderful organization that we should all try and support a group who is looking out for the under-served.
September 9, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
September 20, 2013

I have had the opportunity to travel twice with AFCA to Zimbabwe to work on a livestock distribution program for children orphaned by AIDS. I seen first hand the hard work and dedication of this orga... more

September 9, 2014

I have volunteered with AFCA for about 4 years. The past 3 years I have gone to Zimbabwe as part of a livestock distribution program that empowers kids orphaned by AIDS. Through a gift of livestock, children are able to learn life skills, improve their nutrition, earn school fees and break the cycle of poverty. I have personally seen the benefits of the work AFCA does. Though a small organization, they are able to serve so many through diligently using limited funds to their fullest. I am extremely proud to be associated with this organization

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 20, 2013

I have had the opportunity to travel twice with AFCA to Zimbabwe to work on a livestock distribution program for children orphaned by AIDS. I seen first hand the hard work and dedication of this organization in helping children receive the necessary nutritional support, income opportunities and educational fees they need. The work they do is vital to the success in these areas to make a brighter future for so many children. A great organization to support.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 5, 2012

Life...how many organizations can say they are saving a child's life? AFCA is that organization. I had the honor and privilege of traveling to Zimbabwe to help with a project AFCA was working on. AFCA spent countless hours raising funds to provide children orphaned by AIDS with goats and chickens. The nutritional support will be invaluable to these vulnerable children. I saw first hand the compassion and dedication, and the heart of this organization. If not for AFCA 10's of thousands of children would not get the lifesaving medication and nutritional support they need to survive. It was heartbreaking to see a country that once thrived, now so severely effected by prolonged drought, severe poverty and unemployment and AIDS. AFCA offers hope to these families. I saw so many beautiful children being helped by the eggs, meat and milk they receive through this program. I was truly moved to want to do more to help.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 9, 2014

more

September 9, 2014

When I contribute to AFCA, I am confident that the dollars are going to be spent wisely. Tanya Weaver is tenacious in her commitment to being a good steward and will stop at nothing to find ways to make her limited resources stretch to provide the greatest impact.
September 8, 2014

more

September 8, 2014

I first began working with AFCA seven years ago. It is the first NGO with which I worked that dealt with HIV/AIDS in Africa. I was extremely impressed with their innovative approach to helping children with HIV/AIDS and their families. Since that time, I have worked with numerous other NGOs, some larger, some smaller. AFCA still stands out for its effective and innovative approach to implementing programs that have measurable impact. Additionally, as others have commented, they do it with very limited financial resources, effectively using volunteers, in-kind contributions, and, importantly, tireless and dynamic leadership from the Executive Director. Working with her and the organization is always very gratifying.
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help us sort medical supplies at our warehouse; do research to help us keep our website current; blog about what is happening in the world of pediatric AIDS; help plan a fundraising event; run or walk in our 5k Volunteer