Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
30 Reviews
1234.966675
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
September 27, 2013

more

September 27, 2013

We have no idea the burdens others bear on a daily basis. This summer I had the opportunity to see first hand some of the challenges others face.

Thankfully AFCA is doing something about it. AFCA sends aid to sub-Saharan Africa which saves and improves lives of HIV+ children and their
guardians. After hearing about AFCA from a high school friend I decided to volunteer in the fall of 2012 at AFCA's warehouse. That morning we loaded cargo containers with medical supplies headed for Africa. In August of this year I traveled to Tanzania to attempt to summit Mt. Kilimanjaro in support of AFCA's Climb Up So Kids Can Grow Up program. My time on the mountain was the experience of a lifetime (so far). The funds raised by my team and I were used to provide lifesaving medicine to children in need. Following my time on the mountain I traveled to Mombasa, Kenya to visit a clinic supported by AFCA. While I was in Mombasa I spent a day walking through the local community, visiting some of the people who are supported by the program. I realized on this day the tremendous obstacles some folks face in regards to simply surviving each day. I also realized the tremendous impact AFCA makes in the lives of the people I met. I am glad to be a part of AFCA and the generous and life changing work they are continuing to do. I saw a glimmer of hope in a seemingly hopeless situation, and every day more lives are impacted positively from the support of AFCA.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 25, 2013

more

September 25, 2013

I became involved with AFCA through volunteering with my son's scout troop donating time to organize medical supplies in the warehouse to be shipped to aid clinics in Africa. Having been involved in many non-profit organizations over the years, I couldn't help but be touched by the true good AFCA was accomplishing. I continued to become more involved by gathering donated supplies from hospitals, civic clubs and personal friends who wanted to help. Feeling incredibly inspired by the difference AFCA makes, I jumped at the chance to participate in "Climb Up So Kids Can Grow Up" and our family raised money to directly benefit AFCA and the clinics they serve in Africa. I personally had the privilege of climbing Mt. Kilimanjaro last summer AND afterward, visiting one of the clinics we raised money for in Mombasa, Kenya. To actually SEE the contributions, so generously given, being used in such a valuable way... improving the quality of life for young children who are HIV+. KNOWING that we are accountable as well as effectively and efficiently helping to truly SAVE LIVES. You cannot describe seeing people being treated who may have never seen a doctor otherwise...in the poorest parts of the world. AFCA is working...and I will continue to support knowing that after spending time with these children, WE CAN make a difference. Friday, we will be loading a cargo container to be shipped to Africa and I will be there helping and thinking of those children in Kenya, and my heart will be warm.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 21, 2013

more

September 21, 2013

I traveled to Mombasa, Kenya from June 22 to July 3rd. I was nervous at first to meet my teammates as we had all come from different states and did not know one another. The first house that we constructed was for a woman named Judith and her 1 year old daughter Zawadi. Our team quickly got to work constructing a new home for them to live in and it was amazing to see how much we as a team pulled up our sleeves and worked side by side with the villagers to make sure that this was done not only for Zawadi, but for her mother as well. I will never forget Judith's words as she looked at her new home..."Now I haved up in the world". And this house was just a humble dwelling, something that we as Americans don't understand. We have running water. We have the basic necessities. I came home with a new appreciation for what I have. Sure, my "powder room" isn't what you see in the Better Homes and Garden Magazines, but at least I know where my next meal is coming from.

Our team leader Val was awesome! She and her husband Nick took time to get to know the team members as well.
C

I was happy to return home to my family in the U.S. But I did so with a much greater appreciation of what we have in the United States. If you really want to change your life, and others in the procress than to get in contact with AFCA and see how YOU can change a LIFE for the better

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes !

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 20, 2013

more

September 20, 2013

My wife traveled with AFCA this past year to Kenya to help build two houses for families who did not have adequate housing. While she was there, my wife also was able to see the effects of previous AFCA support in the form of a large Greenhouse which AFCA assisted in building to help the people grow there own food. The more involved my family becomes with AFCA, the more we realize how since they are and how muck actual help they provide to individuals and entire communities which are less fortunate than us.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 20, 2013

more


1 previous review
July 5, 2012

Life...how many organizations can say they are saving a child's life? AFCA is that organization. I had the honor and privilege of traveling to Zimbabwe to help with a project AFCA was working on. A... more

September 20, 2013

I have had the opportunity to travel twice with AFCA to Zimbabwe to work on a livestock distribution program for children orphaned by AIDS. I seen first hand the hard work and dedication of this organization in helping children receive the necessary nutritional support, income opportunities and educational fees they need. The work they do is vital to the success in these areas to make a brighter future for so many children. A great organization to support.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 5, 2012

Life...how many organizations can say they are saving a child's life? AFCA is that organization. I had the honor and privilege of traveling to Zimbabwe to help with a project AFCA was working on. AFCA spent countless hours raising funds to provide children orphaned by AIDS with goats and chickens. The nutritional support will be invaluable to these vulnerable children. I saw first hand the compassion and dedication, and the heart of this organization. If not for AFCA 10's of thousands of children would not get the lifesaving medication and nutritional support they need to survive. It was heartbreaking to see a country that once thrived, now so severely effected by prolonged drought, severe poverty and unemployment and AIDS. AFCA offers hope to these families. I saw so many beautiful children being helped by the eggs, meat and milk they receive through this program. I was truly moved to want to do more to help.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 18, 2013

more

September 18, 2013

I have volunteered on various occasions with this charity. They are very careful with our time and they try to use are talents to the maximum. I love how they truly care for the kids they help and they are so focused on doing as much as they can for the kids. I love them!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find more volunteers to help them out

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 5, 2013

more

August 5, 2013

For the past 5 years, AFCA has come alongside and encouraged both us (EFCA ReachGlobal)and our church partner in Congo (CECU). The have been amazing in partnering with us to attain our mission. Here are just some of the ways that they have served us and the CECU church in Ubangi, Congo:
1. Over
the past 3 years, they have totally funded two large training seminars to better equip medical personnel and the Church in their battle against HIV and AIDS. They connected us with excellent African teachers, Kenyan doctors, and paid all of their expenses to train our medical personnel. These were 10 day seminars, and all expenses were paid by AFCA. The seminars were excellent, on the following topics:
a. General HIV and AIDS education for health professionals
b. PMCT of HIV – this was an incredible training, bringing together health professionals and local midwives and village chiefs.
2. Over these past 5 years, AFCA has been providing HIV testing kits as well as antibiotics for HIV positive children in our health centers and hospital. These supplies are sent every quarter, as the medical director at Tandala Hospital provides the reporting and order for the following 3 months.
3. Just recently, I was in Congo when a container full of medical supplies arrived at the port in Akula, Congo. Just the shipping of this container cost tens of thousands of dollars alone! The supplies had to be transported by a 20 ton truck in two loads, and I was at Tandala Hospital when the unloading happening. It was a joyful time as I watched the staff, so grateful for the beds, medicines, bandages, birthing kits, sutures, instruments. Beautiful solar panels and water filters were sent out…after the Director for AFCA, Tanya Weaver, visited some of the health centers a couple of years ago, she was amazed that nurses were delivering babies with a flashlight! And that none of them had good, clean water to offer at their clinics. Thus, the solar panels and water filters.The supplies filled a whole storage area – the doctor and staff who oversee the outlying health centers are delivering the beds, solar panels, and birthing kits to around 16 health centers.
4. AFCA has also provided livestock and seed to help those who are living with HIV and have children who are HIV positive. Through these gifts, they provide some income for these families, and a better nutrition for those who are often sick.

We cannot thank AFCA enough for all they have and are doing in our corner of Congo, and area basically without electricity and clean, running water. AFCA has visited and traveled in our area a couple of times, and are planning another trip. When in Congo, they endure harsh living conditions and difficult – next to impossible! – travel. But they want to make sure their supplies are making it to the right people, and they want to listen and hear the needs of the Congolese themselves.

Thank you, AFCA, for your heart of comassion and desire to equip those around the world so that lives can be changed!

Rachel Balia
EFCA ReachGlobal
Dem Rep of CONGO
GlobalFingerprints

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 12, 2013

more


1 previous review
July 25, 2012

I just returned from leading an AFCA Vacation with a Purpose volunteer team to Mombasa Kenya. Our team worked with AFCA's partner there - Mombasa Community Based Health Care program - to rebuild a ho... more

June 12, 2013

I have been involved with many non-profit organizations over the years, and without a doubt, AFCA is the best of them all. I became involved at its inception based on the reputation and incredible talent of its Executive Director, Tanya Weaver, and am proud to be involved with it still today. This is a small organization that achieves monumental things on behalf of the children with AIDS they serve in eastern Africa. A small staff supported by an army of dedicated volunteers makes it all happen. I have traveled to visit many of their in-country partners and have witnessed first-hand the results of their tireless work. This is an organization that I support unequivocally!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 25, 2012

I just returned from leading an AFCA Vacation with a Purpose volunteer team to Mombasa Kenya. Our team worked with AFCA's partner there - Mombasa Community Based Health Care program - to rebuild a home an HIV+ child su[[orted by AFCA who is living in horrible conditions in the slums. AFCA does a stellar job of selecting in-country partner programs that really achieve results, and Mombasa CBHC is just one such organization. It was a very successful trip and one of many more to come, we hope!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 11, 2013

more

June 11, 2013

I had never hear of AFCA until a friend invited me to help sort medical supplies in their warehouse one day. I couldn't believe the people I met there and the care they gave to ensure that everything was correctly packed for Africa. I saw and touched the work of the charity. I wish I could go on one of their trips to Africa to volunteer and work alongside their African partners. I have been a donor for many years now, as well as a volunteer. This is a charity you can believe in.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 10, 2013

more

June 10, 2013

I joined the board of AFCA after volunteering for them for the last two years and seeing first hand how they help the children of Africa. I became so impressed with the fact that they are always helping the many groups they work with towards self-sufficiency. Helping them to help themselves. Each solution is unique to them. It might be herds of goats in Zimbabwe, or greenhouses to grow food in Kenya. They learn exactly what a specific group needs and try to find the best way to help them. Once they are able to provide for themselves then AFCA moves on. One of the best charities I have seen.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help us sort medical supplies at our warehouse; do research to help us keep our website current; blog about what is happening in the world of pediatric AIDS; help plan a fundraising event; run or walk in our 5k Volunteer