Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
7 Reviews
12.28571345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
February 28, 2013

The American Diabetes Association provides a residential camp experience for children and teens with type 1 or type 2 diabetes, promoting diabetes management independence through education and hands on learning. In the St. Louis market, the ADA has provided camp since 1954. Thousands of children have learned how to give their first insulin injection, do a pump site change and count carbohydrates, increasing in management confidence. This type of life changing knowledge opens doors for engagement in independent activities that might otherwise be impossible, such as spending the night at a grandparent's or friend's house. Parents, each year, report that camp literally changes the lives of their children. This service is only provided by the American Diabetes Association through the generous support of our donors.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 17, 2013
8 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
February 17, 2013
8 people found this review helpful

I have been a donor for ADA for last several years. After analyzing the financial data and observing the wasteful use of my hard earned money on fund raising and administrative waste I have decided not to contribute any more. It is criminal that only $33 Million is spend on research out of $159.855 million that was donated. The executives like Larry Hausner (CEO) does not deserve $545,950 in salary. I have found better charities like JDRF to put my hard earned money to proper use.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unsure

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
November 15, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

I looked up the addresses for every Director of the Board for ADA (there were over 25 of them!). I mailed each a 2-page letter expressing disappointment as a parent of a diabetic that they squandered such valuable donations by letting telemarketers keep over 3/4 of donations. I asked for a response on this corporate bungle. That was 7 weeks ago. How many replies did I get? Zero (no: one did came back — “addressee unknown” — from UCSD). I can only take it as arrogance that none saw fit to reply to a diabetes stakeholder. ADA directs only 4% of donations from fundraising events for cure research, though they use the CURE as the hook to raise 89% of donations (not even counting the telemarketers' cut). ADA seems a massive imposter. Children and adults continue to suffer and die waiting for a cure, while ADA lets fundraisers pocket absurd percentages of money entrusted to them by donors who want it spent on badly needed research. Shame on them.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 9, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
October 9, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

September 2012 article in Bloomberg & NPR found much of the donations going to a telemarketer, InfoCision. This charity will not get my money.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Unsure

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 6, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
October 6, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

So far as I can tell, most of the money I donate to the ADA gets spent on asking me for even more donations. I went looking for a better alternative and found the Diabetes Action Research and Education Foundation, which Charity Navigator gives a four-star rating as contrasted with a one-star (currently) for the ADA. My sister died of complications associated with diabetes, so I really want to make sure my money is put to good use.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

May 6, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
May 6, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

Last year when we received a packet claiming that my 85 year old husband had agreed to write letters for ADA's Community Campaign, I sent it back with a letter explaining that he had not volunteered and requesting that they take us off their list. This year we received another packet! We refused delivery. My husband is now getting letters reminding him of his (non-existent) promise. I will try writing them once more but do not intend to contribute again, There are many other charities that do not rely on these tactics and pay attention to donor requests. BTW, my husband has Parkinson's and can barely write; I have severe arthritis in my hands.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 27, 2011
5 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
October 27, 2011
5 people found this review helpful

The mismanagement of this organization is dreadful. Local Directors seem to rule with an erratic, iron first. Favoritism is rampant and mission- and revenue-driven results appear to have little impact on decision making. It's sad and would be embarrassing for the organization, if more people knew.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers