Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
29 Reviews
1234.931035
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

The restoration and re-use of the Aero Theater as a 'neighborhood art house theater' has been fantastic.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 15, 2012

more

June 15, 2012

Upon moving to LA many years ago I was soon invited to The Egyptian Theater for an experience that changed my life. Access to film icons and novices alike, The American Cinematheque is the hands down heart of Hollywood forever. Through my experiences, screenings, events and networking, at the theater on the street were it all begun, so did my career.. starting out as a volunteer, then assistant and then as an industry professional, development executive, talent agent and now 3-D IMAX & Transmedia Executive Producer. I can directly point out and direct my successes timelined with the American Cinematheque as The door that turned my Texas dreams into my Hollywood, and now Global production reality. No competition....THE AMERICAN CINEMATHEQUE RULES! I love you...."See you at the movies!"

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 3, 2012

more

March 3, 2012

The Egyptian Theater is one of THE best hidden secrets in Hollywood. If you haven't experienced it-........find a show you want to see, and come. Or better yet, pick one with live people from the movie who are there, who do a 20-30 min Q and A after. It's all time fantastic. Don't miss it.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 19, 2012

more

January 19, 2012

Great programs, great space, great crowd. Love love love it

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 18, 2012

more

January 18, 2012

Tremendous theater offering a variety of programs celebrating cinema in its various forms. Can't recommend seeing a film or event here enough.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 5, 2012

more

January 5, 2012

These guys rock. They keep coming up with amazing programs with amazing guests. And how they dig up these amazing PRINTS and DCP versions, I don't know. In a town of film geeks, American Cinematheque consistently delivers. Thank you!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 27, 2011

more

November 27, 2011

Love the events at the Cinematheque with a bunch of opportunities to view great films and hear from the filmmakers who contributed to them. Thank you to the people at American Cinematheque! It is a blessing to have you.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

going to a couple of its film presentation

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

at the moment, nothing comes to mind

November 4, 2011

more

November 4, 2011

I LOVE having the chance to see classic movies (old and new) on the big screen, especially when there is an opportunity to hear from someone who was involved in the film. American Cinematheque shows such a wide variety of films that there is something for everyone in the community, of all ages, to enjoy. Los Angeles has lost so many "retro" theatres, and American Cinematheque is one of the few places to see a good copy of an interesting film. I love both venues and each has it's own personality. I often take friends and newcomers and always excited to find these gems in their own hometown.

As for constructive criticism, please make real butter available for the popcorn at both locations. Thank you!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've been attending films and taking friends to both locations for many years.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would ensure that REAL BUTTER is available for the popcorn at both venues.

August 17, 2011

more

August 17, 2011

The mission of the American Cinematheque is to preserve, appreciate and exhibit the finest cinema in the world, and having enjoyed their programming for well over a dozen years now, I can attest to their success. To be able to watch a classic film projected in its proper format on a big screen, with a lively and attentive audience is one of things I love most about Los Angeles.

The in-person talks with notables from the history of cinema that frequently buttress the screenings are icing on the cake. In the past few years, I've had the opportunity to hear firsthand stories shared by Mickey Rooney, Eva Marie Saint, Patty McCormick and Patricia Neal, (who passed away only weeks after her appearance at a screening of A Face in the Crowd at the Egyptian Theatre.)

I could probably fill the rest of this page with paens to other memorable programs and films I've experienced at the Cinematheque. Instead, I'll end here by noting that the Cinematheque is one of the liveliest and most democratic arts organizations around, and well worthy of your support.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've attended The Festival of Film Noir fests for twelve years now, as well as countless other memorable programs.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it even easier for members to gain access to crowded screenings, with special lines and members only ticket windows.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unlikely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

How did you learn about this organization?

Read about their screenings when they were still renting exhibition space at the Director's Guild theater back in the late 80s and early 90s.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 14, 2011

more

June 14, 2011

This is a wonderful place that shows a wide range of films, and the staff working there are attitude-free. My only reason for not giving it 5 stars is that they have also started giving "seminars" which I found to be a somewhat useless expenditure. But the films and filmmaker discussions are fabulous.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

There is an overall benefit to having this place here in Los Angeles. I only wish there were more of them!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Lose the seminars. I have found it to be a waste of money. (I am sure some of them are good, but this is a difficult thing to oversee and it would seem better if they did not overreach and do too many things)

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers