Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
50 Reviews
12.2345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
February 15, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

February 15, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

This organization is a sham along with all the other big charities, Red Cross, etc. It is reprehensible to pay over $600K dollars for a chief executive. Other than sucking up huge amounts of money, what does this organization really do? Only $1 of every $3 donated actually goes to someone. The rest pays chief executives and folks like ACS DS Dan. If you really want ot make a difference, donate your money to a charity that does not have the bloated, overpaid, and just PLAIN GREEDY executive staff.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 15, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

January 15, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

We have been giving to ACS since 2007 and sporadically for a number of years before that. I rated it two stars because that coincides with the Charity Navigator rating. It bothers me that the CEO's salary is well over $600,000 a year... hey, this is a non-profit. We just received a 2013 Annual Fund solicitation in the mail today, but we are not going to give any longer until they earn at least 3 stars, and preferably 4 stars. Even then, if the CEO salary is not reduced or capped, we might never donate again.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have donated to this charity several time for Memorials. Not only have they NEVER acknowliedged these donations, they NEVER sent an acknowledgement to the families I "memorialized". They won't be getting any more donations from me ValentineGal

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 2, 2012

I have been giving to this charity for the better part of a decade and I can't believe I didn't know how over paid the CEO of this non-profit is. 3 million of of the 919 million in revenue goes to this CEO yet there is a deficit each year. I'm switching my money to the red Cross. Out of the billions that they take in, the CEO only makes 500k, leaving more money to actually help people.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
September 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Non Profit is now the best way to get rich. No taxes, pay yourself what you want, and it's all good. People don't realize that is the main reason the NFL; yes the National Football League; is non-profit. Our family has been long supporters of St. Jude and the American Cancer Society. This is heartbreaking. I've heard of rumors of huge salaries up top but refused to believe it until I checked it out. I feel like a fool for supporting them. I will put my support to other groups. Very sad.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 24, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

February 24, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

While in the Army, my peak salary was $36,000 annually. I had money held out automatically from my $36,000 each month to contribute to the American Cancer Society. I found out after the fact that less than 25 cents of every hard earned dollar actually went to research. I also learned the CEO makes nearly a million per year thanks to suckers like me. Fool me once, shame on you. Fool me twice, shame on me. ACS will never fool me again.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 2, 2012
8 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
February 2, 2012
8 people found this review helpful

When our son developed cancer at age five we had already been yearly supporters of the ACS thru the Relay for Life. They provided no assistance to us as a family and instead gave us a list of phone numbers of Govt. programs where we might get assistance, We were in need of help to get a medication for our son that was his last chance at survival and The ACS provided no assistant whatsoever. They give only .005 for every dollar donated towards childhood cancer yet they utilize pictures of children consistantly to gain the majority of their donations. They follow suit of the drug manufactures and put their efforts towards more profitable cancers that occur in adults and ignore the great number of children dying from this terrible disease. Donate to www.curesearch.org or www.stbaldricks.org if your intentions are to help save the life of a child from cancer. Donate to the ACS if you like to see people buy expensive cars and take lavish vacations with your hard earned donations.

Photos

Videos

Max's 8th birthday without him.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

When our son developed cancer at age five we had already been yearly supporters of the ACS thru the Relay for Life. They provided no assistance to us as a family and instead gave us a list of phone numbers of Govt. programs where we might get assistance, We were in need of help to get a medication for our son that was his last chance at survival and The ACS provided no assistant whatsoever.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Dismantle the Corporation from the ground up and cut out all waste as well as cut off all inappropriate dealings with drug makers. Slash the outrageous six figure incomes of all of the employees and CEO that are living lavishly both at home and at work with donations that were intended to help find a cure for cancer or help those with the disease.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

Past friends and coworkers who had developed cancer.

Why did you make your donation at this time?

Thought that they were legitamate.

What would you tell others about this organization?

Donate to curesearch.org stbaldricks.org if your intentions are to help save the life of a child from cancer.

October 21, 2011

They are discriminating again Foundation Beyond Belief and its attempt to become a national team. They accept other non profits such as the Girl Scouts. But are refusing up to 500k from a teams, just because of religious views. This is textbook bigotry.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 19, 2011

more

Review from CharityNavigator
September 19, 2011

ACS's Relay For Life website lists non-profit organizations such as Sigma Alpha Lambda, but refuses to accept the Foundation Beyond Belief even after being promised a $500,000 goal in fundraising. This bigotry based on religion is outrageous.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The organization is firm in refusing to publicly acknowledge the help of nontheists.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Stop discriminating against non-theists.

September 10, 2011

more

Review from CharityNavigator
September 10, 2011

The ACS has recently refusing to credit donations to the Relay for Life from a group which raised half a million dollars in donations. They were told that the could donate anonymously or not at all. The reason they were told they could not receive credit is that they were not a corporation. When the group proved that they did qualify, as they were a non-profit corporation and had the paperwork to prove it, the ACS reversed their earlier position. They stated that now they weren't taking donations from non-profit organizations. When the group pointed out other non-profit organizations which had different religious affiliations than their own (such as the Girl Scouts of America, or Sigma Alpha Lambda) the ACS responded by posting a warped version of the complaint on their facebook page.

Their solution to a group which they were discriminating against was donate to our group anonymously, since helping cancer research is more important than receiving the same credit which other groups receive. A charitable organization should allow anyone who follows the rules the same courtesy and credit for donations. Doing anything less is discrimination, and will ultimately prevent people from donating towards a worthy cause.

The ACS only donates $.20 for every $1 towards actual research. An overwhelming amount goes towards executive salaries and inefficient overhead. Souring people on your organization, and wasting donated money is not the best way to help people with cancer.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Being told that I must either deny my religious beliefs, or else I cannot receive credit for my donations like members of other faiths.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Stop discriminating.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers