Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
51 Reviews
12.21569345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
May 4, 2014

more

May 4, 2014

After reviewing the financial statements, looking at the organization's 990, and the Stewardship report, I find it hard to believe that people are so thoughtless in their reviews.

Yes the organization has cut a lot of programs, probably because the organization has been going through a
massive overhaul! This may be the reason why there have been major cuts this past year and a half.

People are also complaining about the structure and pay scale of these organizations, something that is being handled in the same manner as most other not for profit, or even corporations in the US. The board of directors, who are comprised of elected organization members, vote on compensation for executives and officers of the organization. What all these complaints encompass is a systemic problem prevalent across the US, not because the organization is bad. Since this higher pay scale is systemic it means finding excellent executive officers can be costly! They seem to have the skill set that everyone wants! So, just because this is a not for profit organization, does not mean that it can be run any old way- by any old unqualified persons!

Please read the information that is provided to us, all of this information I got from reputable sources of information available to the PUBLIC, in the previously mentioned sources. Please pay attention to the circumstances!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 20, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
2 previous reviews - show all
October 17, 2012

In answer to mwartman:Yes, those programs are all great but let's set the record straight:almost all of the programs you mentioned are carried out by volunteers (the makeup class, the road to recovery... more

March 20, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

The people who have given ACS 5 stars need to sit up and smell the coffee. Wake up! If you don't believe CN's (bad) ACS rating is worth considering, do a little research. You don't have to look far to find out the truth about ACS. If you don't trust the rating of Charity Navigator, check out other reputable organizations who do the same thing. If you just google a little, you'll find out a lot. Also, the fact of the employee pension plan is huge. Of course they can't drop employees who are currently drawing their pension. But if the money wasn't coming from donors, they would immediately do what large corporations have done: stop funding the pension plans for current employees. Of course it's legal, it's done all the time. Not good for employees, but the DONATED money in ACS's case could then go toward research and also to helping cancer patients more directly. ACS mission is not to set up their employees for their retirement years--it's to fight cancer. If they really believed that, they would follow through and make the necessary cuts.

Just a few links from a casual google:

http://www.indeed.com/forum/cmp/American-Cancer-Society/s-company-culture-at-American-Cancer-Society/t16550
ACS employee:
...You are expected to meet workplans that are sometimes ridiculous while being forced in training/brainwashing sessions, sometimes every week, but definitely at least once a month. These are usually overnight events. They try to brainwash you so you can explain to people where their money goes, when really it is going to pay for all the meetings, hotel rooms, salaries, gas, car rentals, food, etc. that you use each month. My expense report averaged over $2000 a month! It is disgusting to participate in a huge, extravagant 3 day meetings, but we were not allowed to give a patient the money to pay for a small co-pay on their much needed medication. I have even seen die-hard volunteers accept employment positions with ACS and then quit after a few months because of how appalled they are with how ACS is run.

http://www.wsbtv.com/news/news/american-cancer-society-where-does-your-money-go/nFX4j/

http://www.wtflungcancer.com/where-do-your-relay-for-life-donations-go-american-cancer-society-doesnt-tell-you/

http://www.preventcancer.com/losing/acs/wealthiest_links.htm

http://www.chondrosarcoma-support.org/index.php?topic=963.0

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2012

In answer to mwartman:Yes, those programs are all great but let's set the record straight:almost all of the programs you mentioned are carried out by volunteers (the makeup class, the road to recovery, man to man, almost all of the programs are carried out by VOLUNTEERS. Wigs are donated, staff that helps with them are volunteers, the Hope Lodge is donated from large charitible donations for the most part. You need to do some further research and believe what you are reading via other posts on this site. ACS takes in Millions and MILLIONS of dollars, but holds on tight to it and makes sure that their administrative and top employees including the CEO are paid very, very well. My money will never go to them again.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

For those who say that you can't find a good CEO to run a charity of the size of ACS without paying them a huge salary: Look again at what the top dogs at ACS are getting vs other reputable charities of a similar nature. Also, I personally (who like many used to believe that ACS was wonderful), will look for a LOCAL charity that helps those afflicted with cancer. If you're a successful volunteer with ACS and there's nothing in your area, think about getting your teams together and starting a local organization. There are many who need assistance with transportation to treatments, medical/drug expenses, compassionate support etc. that ACS will turn down flat or refer to other non-profits. All the fantastic, wonderful volunteers w/ACS who help out every year and raise local money to fight cancer--by all means, continue doing so, but do your homework and find out where the money is being spent. If research is what you want to fund, seek out the orgs on CN who have the best track record there. I know my money and time will never again go to the American Cancer Society.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Somewhat badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 11, 2013
8 people found this review helpful

more

March 11, 2013
8 people found this review helpful

It amazes me that so many people can take the advice from one internet site and believe it all to be true. I have worked with and for this company and I am just flabbergasted at how narrow minded some people can be. I understand that people come to this site to become more educated however, from the post that are on here they are not. My recommendation is, if you want to donate to an organization call them and ask questions! One person said it's hard to find financials on ACS. Sure their web site isn't as user friendly as it once was but every local office has them and the 1-800 number will mail them to you! I would also like to know where the CEO makes millions come from. I worked for ACS for 6 years and he never made more and $600,000. Do I think that's a lot, sure, but he's also sitting at the table with the president trying to change legislation so that EVER person who gets cancer, insurance or not will get treatment. And to the non-profit president that couldn't believe that ACS would send people to them, if you would call your local ACS office you would understand that because they are good stewards of their donor dollars they don't repeat programs that already exist in an area. Now, should you not be able to help all the people who need your services then yes, they would start that program. I also understand peoples frustration with ACS not handing out checks to people but that is not part of their mission. Finding a cure is.
People need to stop being lazy, start being proactive and stop believing everything you read on the internet.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 13, 2012

more

Review from CharityNavigator
1 previous review
February 23, 2012

My mother-in-law died in 2004. After she passed away, my father-in-law moved in with us. We started getting requests for donations from ACA addressed to my mother-in-law (they forwarded her mail to ... more

December 13, 2012

I have been trying for years to get my mother-in-law off their donation request mailing list. She never lived at my address, but they send donation requests here anyway. She died in 2004. I have repeatedly called and emailed the national headquarters. I have called the local office - not an easy thing to get their number. Nothing works, and nobody seems to know why I am still receiving solicitations. Any organization that wastes that much money sending paper to dead people doesn't deserve my money. Any organization that disorganized that they don't know how to remove names from their mailing lists doesn't deserve my money.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 23, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My mother-in-law died in 2004. After she passed away, my father-in-law moved in with us. We started getting requests for donations from ACA addressed to my mother-in-law (they forwarded her mail to our address. She never lived here.) I have tried for years to get off their snail mail list to no avail. The most recent person I spoke with apologized and admitted that it was very difficult to get off their mailing list! Why should I support an organization that wastes that much money? They should automatically stop mailing money requests after a few years if nothing comes in.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
November 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Impressed that the ACS provides free wigs and make up kits for women going thru treatment. They also have volunteers who provide transportation for those who need a ride to their treatments. They were very helpful when my aunt was going thru treatment. I highly recomend the work they are doing!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2012

I am very saddened with the affairs of ACS. I am disgusted with their misuse of donations, including a CFO that makes over $2mill and secretaries that make six figures. It is also very difficult to obtain their financials and what they actually donate to research or care. As you may have recognized, you never hear about them donating funds to actual care of an individual cancer patient. My recommendations to all of you is to donate to St. Jude and to an individual dept in a University that is doing indepth research. Let's stop throwing our money away to these large monopolies that seem to use Cancer as a reason to get together for balls and parties. I am disgusted!!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
October 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I personally know someone who works for ACS, and I can personally tell you that they are legit. They do not spend a lot of money on commercial or ads. The Susan B. Komen is different than the ACS. Both are looking for a cancer cure, but the ACS is a good organization. They have many programs dedicated to helping patients. There is a free class taught by a volunteer cosmetologist to help those patients learn how to do their makeup and how to wear their wigs. There is a road to recovery service where they provide rides to doctor appointments or treatments when patients have no other way. There is a hope lodge so that patients can have a free place to stay if they have to travel away from home to get the best care. There are many more services that are provided like a wig bank. A cancer patient can go to this wig bank with a picture of themselves before cancer, and they will try to create a wig that is closest to their original hair. Yes, this organization sounds awful...are you kidding me? Only about 7 cents of every dollar goes to administration...that is 7 pennies...I'm glad I could clear a few things up for you. Never doubt the American Cancer Society...I know a LOT of people who have had cancer, one being my mom...and they helped her when we didn't know what else to do. the American Cancer Society is amazing. It is a very UNSELFISH organization. The next time you folks want to say otherwise, look at their website...and do some research before you open your mouth!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
September 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Washington Post 16 Sept 2012 Business Section says ACS paid InfoCision telemarketers 102% of the $5.4 million InfoCision collected for ACS in 2010. Telemarketers for charity apparently usually take the majority of the money they raise. Usually, it costs the charities nothing but only costs donors, so it's no skin off the charity's nose. I'm horrified.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 9, 2012

Please understand the ACS is the biggest rip off I have ever seen. They have NO intention to find a cure for cancer. If they did their cash cow would be gone. They learned from when all the poilo hospitals all closed down. Do you think that their CEO, Vice Pres. , and Retired CEO would let their cushy lifestyle just slip out of their hands. Together they make more then 4 million dollars. If they were so eager to find a cure take a cut of 3/4 of that pay, and put it into research. You people who give to ANY Cancer charity might as well flush the money down the toilet. My mother died of breast cancer. I went down the guilt trip lane, and started pumping in the money, until I found the truth, and Charity Navigator was the first place that opened my eyes. People with these kind of saleries are NOT looking for a cure, only to line their pockets, and pocket books. I have done other research since then, ordinary people who scam the public go to jail, but not these guys.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2004

August 17, 2011

Tell your story here and help others understand this charity
I have a family member who is in charge of our Cancer office and she is constantly either driving (80 miles to the closest facility) or flying to the MANY different affairs, meetings, training sessions etc. This is not only the cost
of the trip but the hotels (always expensive ones with supposedly redued rates) but the meals, cost of meeting rooms etc. I have ask her why they don't telephone conference instead and she has agreed it could work and would be so much cheaper and she doesn't know why they don't. Just think. We are a small town with one represenative - - Muptiply that by how many of these events they sponser and how many people across the nation they are sending to these things. Couldn't that money be much better used to research Cancer and help the cancer victoms. Doesn"t someone care?????

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

observing my family member who I see constantly leaving for some meeting she has to attend.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I'd do what needs to be done with our government. Set up someone who truly cares about the expenses of this organization and can spend time cutting the unnecessary expenses, including the ridiculous slaries, so more of the donated money can go for Cancer. Telephone conferencing would be a great way to start

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers