Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
51 Reviews
12.21569345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
December 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I am employed by the American Cancer Society. I have been reading some of these unsatisfied comments and the misinformation and unusual situations being shared are certainly disappointing but most can be easily rectified or more accurately informed with a simple call to 1-800-227-2345. Also we welcome your feedback as we are constantly trying to improve our services and to make sure that donations get routed to where they can do the greatest good.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The American Cancer Society is THE leading funder of research grants in the country. As a research scientist I have benefitted from their grants and as a patient, I have directly benefitted from their patient support. My research, along with my partners in the field, would not have made the strides we have made without the ACS. You guys are completely wrong. Over 80% of their incoming funds go to RESEARCH! Perhaps their national CEO receives close to a million dollars because they are extremely short staffed across the country. I wonder what Komen does with the millions they raise? Does 100% of it go to research? How much is the overhead for putting on three day walks? Do they have patient programs and services? To name a few that the ACS does, Look Good Feel Better sessions for women, support groups, peer counseling from survivors, oncology summer camps for children, transportation assistance, lodging assistance, free wigs, equipment, supplies... All of these programs are free of charge and paid for by donations, and program fundraisers. The American Cancer Society does an incredible amount of work for patients. The patient services is what sets them apart from other organizations that I have worked with. The patient services across ALL cancer diagnosis and ALL age ranges. Talk to the patients that have directly benefitted from ACS patient services. They don't help everyone and in my opinion that is in large part due to them trying to help ALL cancers. But I promise you, they do their absolute best and try to help everyone. I am here to tell you that a cure for some cancers are right around the corner. The ACS is playing a primary part in these cures. The only gripe I have is that they don't toot their own horn ENOUGH about all the great things they have accomplished. I promise you, there isn't a research development out there that the ACS does not have a hand in. In regards to their advertising, WHAT ADVERTISING? They have very little. And I promise you, they are only paying for heavily discounted or free advertising.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Well, my story is I'm a Cancer Research Scientist. I'm in the trenches, working on cervical cancer. I applied for an ACS grant and received glowing reviews with words like "outstanding" and "remarkable." Yet, when it came down to approval and funding, they hem and hawed and made excuses and put my grant on a waiting list called "Pay If," which I take to mean "Pay if pigs fly" or something like that. I never got an funds from ACS, only a nice pat on the back. After talking with the program officers, it became clear he is battling a bloated system that retains funds rather than gets them out to Cancer Researchers. Also, there is extreme bias in the distribution of ACS funds by state. So states like Texas get a lions share of the grant money. The bottom line is that this a terrible waste and causes more misery for us scientist by stringing us along. If you want research to be done give funds to a research program that you have an interest in. I am seriously concerned about the future for cancer research in this country .

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Somewhat badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
January 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

This organization is as crooked as it gets. They barely fund any research, and when they do it's only research into new chemotherapy drugs that can be patented, and oddly enough it gives the patent rights to companies the board of directors have a direct share in. If they cared about cancer would they search for a cure instead of more and more chemotherapy? If they cared about patients wouldn't they keep the patent rights themselves or release the drug patent free instead of giving the patent to drug companies?? Then they're lying about and attacking any doctor that treats cancer without using chemotherapy. They're one of the groups attacking Dr. Burzynski when he's the only doctor to have ever cured inoperable brainstem glioma. Please stay away from this charity, don't give them a dime.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 24, 2011

This organization does contribute to research but minimally. Most program funds are used for public education about cancer and about the organization, the latter NOT being counted as overhead/admin cost.

Some reviewers have stated the ACS says oral contraceptives increase breast cancer
risk by 24%. This is inaccurate, in two ways, first by misrepresenting the possible risk of oral contraceptives, and secondly by misrepresenting the ACS's current statements. :The ACD says only "Studies have found that women using oral contraceptives (birth control pills) have a slightly greater risk of breast cancer than women who have never used them. This risk seems to decline back to normal over time once the pills are stopped. Women who stopped using oral contraceptives more than 10 years ago do not appear to have any increased breast cancer risk. When thinking about using oral contraceptives, women should discuss their other risk factors for breast cancer with their health care team."
http://www.cancer.org/cancer/breastcancer/detailedguide/breast-cancer-risk-factors Elsewhere the ACS reports also that "there is also convincing evidence in humans that these agents confer a protective effect against cancer in the endometrium and ovary)" and "studies have shown that taking birth control pills reduces ovarian cancer risk. Characterizing oral contraceptives as cancer causing is very misleading.

Planned Parenthood provides health care to low income families including pap smears, breast exams, testicular cancer screening (yes, they provide health services to men) and numerous other early detection and cancer risk reduction services.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

detailed examination of allocations due to philanthropic work. I have never worked for them, or for PP which I mention in my review.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

decrease overhead costs, not count organizational promotion as Program expenditures, fund MUCH more medical research.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers