Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
50 Reviews
12.2345
| 1 ... 3 4 5 | Next
Write A Review
June 15, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
June 15, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I have had some experience with the American Cancer Society, when my mother was diagnosed with cancer. They were an invaluable resource in terms of the information that they provided to both my mother, my father, and myself. At any given moment, we could call their 1-800 number and speak to an actual person about what was happening in the process, and what it meant to us. They also set her up with ALCASE a lung cancer support group and sent us many pamphlets and brochures. If their primary objective was education and outreach they would have a full 5 stars from me, but I currently find them to be a tad bit misleading when they speak of research. I understand that they fund quite a bit of research, but not enough to be touting it as their primary mission. Furthermore, I am very disheartened that every link to where the money actually goes on their website is broken or does not work.

Currently, I am preparing to participate in the Relay for Life, one of their biggest fundraisers, and I find it to be ineffective, and more misdirection. For example, we are told we need to have moneies raised turned in as soon as possible because, "The sooner they get the money, the sooner it goes to cancer." That always hit a bad chord with me and seemed sketchy.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Education and support tool are excellent. They also are very good at raising awareness

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would make the financial information more transparent, and openly talk about the great education and support tools. I would also be less quick to mention research when it is a very small portion of what they do.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

June 7, 2011

I no longer support ACS and would never contribute another dollar to them based on their efficiency rating on Charity Navigator.

They seek out and use children to gain sympathy for events yet contribute practically nothing to pediatric cancer research. There are other organizations that
do a much better job of spending donors money on beneficial research and not on salaries.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Relay for Life

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

tell them to be be honest about where the money is going.

May 24, 2011

This organization does contribute to research but minimally. Most program funds are used for public education about cancer and about the organization, the latter NOT being counted as overhead/admin cost.

Some reviewers have stated the ACS says oral contraceptives increase breast cancer
risk by 24%. This is inaccurate, in two ways, first by misrepresenting the possible risk of oral contraceptives, and secondly by misrepresenting the ACS's current statements. :The ACD says only "Studies have found that women using oral contraceptives (birth control pills) have a slightly greater risk of breast cancer than women who have never used them. This risk seems to decline back to normal over time once the pills are stopped. Women who stopped using oral contraceptives more than 10 years ago do not appear to have any increased breast cancer risk. When thinking about using oral contraceptives, women should discuss their other risk factors for breast cancer with their health care team."
http://www.cancer.org/cancer/breastcancer/detailedguide/breast-cancer-risk-factors Elsewhere the ACS reports also that "there is also convincing evidence in humans that these agents confer a protective effect against cancer in the endometrium and ovary)" and "studies have shown that taking birth control pills reduces ovarian cancer risk. Characterizing oral contraceptives as cancer causing is very misleading.

Planned Parenthood provides health care to low income families including pap smears, breast exams, testicular cancer screening (yes, they provide health services to men) and numerous other early detection and cancer risk reduction services.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

detailed examination of allocations due to philanthropic work. I have never worked for them, or for PP which I mention in my review.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

decrease overhead costs, not count organizational promotion as Program expenditures, fund MUCH more medical research.

May 12, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
May 12, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

This organization is wonderful! It is the most well-rounded cancer organization out there, using its funds for (1) cancer research, (2) assisting cancer patients, (3) pushing our lawmakers to make insurance companies cover cancer screenings, and (4) educating the public about cancer. Because of the American Cancer Society, more people are surviving cancer. They don't discriminate on who they help.

They have a 24/7 phone number that patients can call and talk to a REAL person, not a automated machine.

If it weren't for the American Cancer Society, insurance companies wouldn't have to cover cancer screening tests (most of which the American Cancer Society also funded and developed) that caught my mother-in-law's cancer early.

They offer free housing at their Hope Lodges to cancer patients who have to travel out of town for treatment. Do you have any idea how relieving it is to know you have a free place to stay where you are surrounded by a huge support group of people undergoing the same traumatic experience as yourself? There are not words to aptly describe this service they provide.

They spend more money on cancer research than any other organization or company besides the U.S. Government. And their research isn't just on finding screening tests, they find new treatments, new medications to help with a patients' quality of life, and connections as to what causes cancer. You know how everyone knows smoking can cause lung cancer? The American Cancer Society was the group who presented that information to the U.S. Attorney General!

I could go on and on. They help people everyday in a multitude of ways. And in return some people on here are saying they aren't doing enough. The sad thing is that, with more support, they WOULD be able to add to their phenomenal list of programs and services they already offer.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

As a relative of a patient who received services from this organization, I know first-hand how wonderful they are. My mom-in-law received transportation reimbursement to get to treatment, free wigs and hats when she lost her hair, nutritional supplements, information and caring ear through their 1-800 #, and everyone has benefited from their research and screening standards.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find more people who will actually answer forum questions like this. Unfortunately, usually only those upset with a company or charity post comments and ratings. I literally know hundreds of people who have benefited from the American Cancer Society and I wish they would all get on here to tell the true story.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 24, 2011

They test on animals. Just saying, better technology exists. And how come, if they make a billion dollars each year, we are still using similar methods to treat cancer as we were 5 years ago.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I think fighting cancer is a worthy cause, and relay for life is wonderfully effective in honoring patients and raising money. However, I have my doubts about the way this organization goes about it.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Stop testing on animals! There are alternatives out there.

March 5, 2011

In response to the review above, I don't believe that the American Cancer Society has just awarded money to Planned Parenthood (PP) to just do whatever they want to do with it. When the American Cancer Society has given money to PP, it seems like it has a specific cancer fighting purpose.

In 2007, the American Cancer Society in Des Moines gave PP a grant of $5,000 to train the PP staff to encourage and help their patients quit smoking as apart of a campaign to reduce cancer.

As far as I can tell, this was a ONE TIME grant - ONLY in the state of Iowa and back in 2007. This is the only evidence I can find of the American Cancer Society awarding money to PP. If you have another source of information that suggests otherwise, I would love to see it.

Additionally, if you are worried about where your donation might be going when donating to the American Cancer Society, I would encourage you to restrict your gift to a specific area of focus - such as cancer research, colon cancer, prostate cancer, etc. The American Cancer Society allows you to specify where you would like your dollars to go.

I just think the American Cancer Society is too good of an organization doing too many great things in the fight against cancer. Please don't write them off because of one grant they awarded in Des Moines in 2007 with good intentions behind it to prevent and stop people from smoking.

The American Cancer Society isn't just focusing their funds on research, but also helping individuals who are already diagnosed with cancer by helping them and their families get well, they are preventing individuals from ever getting cancer by helping them stay well, they are funding cutting edge researchers that are finding cures (ACS funded researched developed tamoxifen and herceptin), and finally, they are working with state and federal lawmarkers to pass laws to help defeat cancer.

I urge you all to do your research, because the American Cancer Society is a wonderful organization doing phenomenal things each and every day. I am proud to be a volunteer for this organization and I hope that myself, my friends, or my family members never need their programs and services, but if we do, I know I can count on them to be their for me. And you can too.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

volunteering to drive patients to their treatments who otherwise, might not be able to get there. I have seen survivors and their families come together for a day and rejoice in the opportunity to celebrate that they have survived this horrible disease and feel like they are apart of something larger than themselves.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

try to get even more people involved because not enough people know about all the great things ACS does.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

March 1, 2011

more

March 1, 2011

I am sad to say that American Cancer Society gives money to Planned Parenthood. I don't know why many cancer fighting organizations give to a an organization that offers high-dose hormonal contraception containing dangerous carcinogenic chemicals. In fact, the American Cancer Society itself lists oral contraceptives as increasing a woman’s risk of breast cancer by 24%, while a 2006 report in the journal of the Mayo Clinic found a risk factor increase of 44% for pre-menopausal breast cancer in woman. In 2005, The World Health Organization (WHO) listed hormonal contraceptives as carcinogenic and confirmed they increased the risk of breast, cervical, and liver cancer in women.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have experienced a misrepresentation of funds when friends are actively raising money for this organization and then shocked to find their money could go to planned parenthood.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

fund only direct efforts to fight cancer, and specifically avoid such controversial programs as abortion providers!

| 1 ... 3 4 5 | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers