Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
51 Reviews
12.21569345
| 1 ... 3 4 5 |
Write A Review
February 24, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

February 24, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

While in the Army, my peak salary was $36,000 annually. I had money held out automatically from my $36,000 each month to contribute to the American Cancer Society. I found out after the fact that less than 25 cents of every hard earned dollar actually went to research. I also learned the CEO makes nearly a million per year thanks to suckers like me. Fool me once, shame on you. Fool me twice, shame on me. ACS will never fool me again.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 2, 2012
8 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
February 2, 2012
8 people found this review helpful

When our son developed cancer at age five we had already been yearly supporters of the ACS thru the Relay for Life. They provided no assistance to us as a family and instead gave us a list of phone numbers of Govt. programs where we might get assistance, We were in need of help to get a medication for our son that was his last chance at survival and The ACS provided no assistant whatsoever. They give only .005 for every dollar donated towards childhood cancer yet they utilize pictures of children consistantly to gain the majority of their donations. They follow suit of the drug manufactures and put their efforts towards more profitable cancers that occur in adults and ignore the great number of children dying from this terrible disease. Donate to www.curesearch.org or www.stbaldricks.org if your intentions are to help save the life of a child from cancer. Donate to the ACS if you like to see people buy expensive cars and take lavish vacations with your hard earned donations.

Photos

Videos

Max's 8th birthday without him.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

When our son developed cancer at age five we had already been yearly supporters of the ACS thru the Relay for Life. They provided no assistance to us as a family and instead gave us a list of phone numbers of Govt. programs where we might get assistance, We were in need of help to get a medication for our son that was his last chance at survival and The ACS provided no assistant whatsoever.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Dismantle the Corporation from the ground up and cut out all waste as well as cut off all inappropriate dealings with drug makers. Slash the outrageous six figure incomes of all of the employees and CEO that are living lavishly both at home and at work with donations that were intended to help find a cure for cancer or help those with the disease.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

Past friends and coworkers who had developed cancer.

Why did you make your donation at this time?

Thought that they were legitamate.

What would you tell others about this organization?

Donate to curesearch.org stbaldricks.org if your intentions are to help save the life of a child from cancer.

January 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
January 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

This organization is as crooked as it gets. They barely fund any research, and when they do it's only research into new chemotherapy drugs that can be patented, and oddly enough it gives the patent rights to companies the board of directors have a direct share in. If they cared about cancer would they search for a cure instead of more and more chemotherapy? If they cared about patients wouldn't they keep the patent rights themselves or release the drug patent free instead of giving the patent to drug companies?? Then they're lying about and attacking any doctor that treats cancer without using chemotherapy. They're one of the groups attacking Dr. Burzynski when he's the only doctor to have ever cured inoperable brainstem glioma. Please stay away from this charity, don't give them a dime.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 21, 2011

They are discriminating again Foundation Beyond Belief and its attempt to become a national team. They accept other non profits such as the Girl Scouts. But are refusing up to 500k from a teams, just because of religious views. This is textbook bigotry.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 1, 2011

There are so many people that benefit from what the ACS offers with donor dollars. While a majority of it is not research, the other programs and services are vital to those fighting this horrible disease.

In my local area, our ACS office offers, AT NO CHARGE, to cancer patients:
1.
Look Good...Feel Better (a make-up kit complete with instruction on how to use this special make-up for patients undergoing treatment and have had chemo wreak havoc on their skin)
2. Reach to Recovery
3. Road to Recovery
4. Wigs
5. Breast prosthesis
6. A place for cancer patients to meet (i.e. MD Anderson support group)
7. A resource room complete with a computer for patients and their caregivers to educate themselves on what is happeneing to them
8. NCIC-National Cancer Information Center (a call center staffed with knowledgeable cancer information specialists)

So no, the ACS does not use all of their donations for research. But the day to day health of patients who may not see the benefits of long-term research is important to them and their volunteers.

To see a woman feel whole again after getting her breast prosthesis is like nothing I've ever experienced. The glimmer of hope and joy in her previously sad, sad face is worth my time and donations.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 19, 2011

more

Review from CharityNavigator
September 19, 2011

ACS's Relay For Life website lists non-profit organizations such as Sigma Alpha Lambda, but refuses to accept the Foundation Beyond Belief even after being promised a $500,000 goal in fundraising. This bigotry based on religion is outrageous.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The organization is firm in refusing to publicly acknowledge the help of nontheists.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Stop discriminating against non-theists.

September 18, 2011

more

Review from CharityNavigator
September 18, 2011

In 8/2009 I was diagnosis with tonsil cancer and ACS was there.

I had never donated to ACS, but that has all changed now that I have had cancer (x 2) and ACS was there for me all the way.

I see some of you think that ACS spends too little on reasearch. Maybe you are under the
impression that research is all they do. It is not. It is only some of their mission. Let me tell you something, they are much, much more than just research. See their website to see how much they work on education for prevention of cancer, support for cancer patients & families and many more programs. (at cancer.org)

After my diagnosis, in the first package of information I got from the cancer center were several of their publications that helped to expalin my situation. I was treated with radiation & chemo. That treatment sucked, but with the knowledge that I got from ACS I knew what to expect and was able to make it through treatment knowing that this too shall pass... Thank you ACS.

In 12/2010 when I was diagnosed with a reoccurance of cancer, ACS was there.
This time they really helped big time! I needed to travel to NYC for surgery & more radiation treatment at Beth Israel Hospital. For five weeks I stayed at the ACS's Hope Lodge. Free. No cost to me. ACS was really their this time. The staff was wonderful, they went out of their way to make me and many other residents both patients & families have as enjoyable & comfortable stay as possible. They actually were able to do some magic that made this possible. After a day of treatment and NYC stress, returning to the lodge and being surrounded by people who understood what was happening to me and were willing to help was almost like coming home. Maybe even better in some ways. There are over 30 Hope Lodges in the US near major cancer centers. I had never heard of them before I got to NYC. I would not have been able to afford to have the advanced treatment that has made me cancer free. What a relief to not worry about the cost of NYC lodging while going through treatment. Thank you ACS.

I'll be donating to ACS for the rest of my life. I may not be able to repay them fully for the help they gave me, but I'll try to support them the best I can so that they may continue their good work for others.

Could they spend less on fundraising and overhead? Most likely the answer is yes. It would be nice to see them try. Having said that, I also need to add that they are good at what they do. Good talent cost money and sometimes you get what you pay for.

If you or a loved one ever get cancer you have my sympathy, support and the recommendation that your first stop for information is the ACS website cancer.org. They will be there for you.

Chances are good that in the next 5 years I will have another cancer event. Odds are just not in my favor, but I know that, when needed ACS will be there for me. Thanks ACS.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I am totally impressed with the Hope Lodge system. Take a look at what they offer at http://www.cancer.org/Treatment/SupportProgramsServices/HopeLodge/index .

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

ACS could be more specific about where all the money goes. That would go a long way toward helping people understand their mission. An easy to find link on the front page of the website would be a good start.

September 10, 2011

more

Review from CharityNavigator
September 10, 2011

The ACS has recently refusing to credit donations to the Relay for Life from a group which raised half a million dollars in donations. They were told that the could donate anonymously or not at all. The reason they were told they could not receive credit is that they were not a corporation. When the group proved that they did qualify, as they were a non-profit corporation and had the paperwork to prove it, the ACS reversed their earlier position. They stated that now they weren't taking donations from non-profit organizations. When the group pointed out other non-profit organizations which had different religious affiliations than their own (such as the Girl Scouts of America, or Sigma Alpha Lambda) the ACS responded by posting a warped version of the complaint on their facebook page.

Their solution to a group which they were discriminating against was donate to our group anonymously, since helping cancer research is more important than receiving the same credit which other groups receive. A charitable organization should allow anyone who follows the rules the same courtesy and credit for donations. Doing anything less is discrimination, and will ultimately prevent people from donating towards a worthy cause.

The ACS only donates $.20 for every $1 towards actual research. An overwhelming amount goes towards executive salaries and inefficient overhead. Souring people on your organization, and wasting donated money is not the best way to help people with cancer.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Being told that I must either deny my religious beliefs, or else I cannot receive credit for my donations like members of other faiths.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Stop discriminating.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

August 17, 2011

Tell your story here and help others understand this charity
I have a family member who is in charge of our Cancer office and she is constantly either driving (80 miles to the closest facility) or flying to the MANY different affairs, meetings, training sessions etc. This is not only the cost
of the trip but the hotels (always expensive ones with supposedly redued rates) but the meals, cost of meeting rooms etc. I have ask her why they don't telephone conference instead and she has agreed it could work and would be so much cheaper and she doesn't know why they don't. Just think. We are a small town with one represenative - - Muptiply that by how many of these events they sponser and how many people across the nation they are sending to these things. Couldn't that money be much better used to research Cancer and help the cancer victoms. Doesn"t someone care?????

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

observing my family member who I see constantly leaving for some meeting she has to attend.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I'd do what needs to be done with our government. Set up someone who truly cares about the expenses of this organization and can spend time cutting the unnecessary expenses, including the ridiculous slaries, so more of the donated money can go for Cancer. Telephone conferencing would be a great way to start

July 8, 2011

It's Relay time again in our community... fundraiser after fundraiser, all efforts put on by volunteers to HELP CURE CANCER... by raising massive amounts of money that leave the community... by playing the CANCER CARD.

Less than 20% of each dollar goes to research (by private for -profit
pharmaceutical companies. ) No one tells the volunteers this, or the huge budget of the AMC and what the Ceo's make.

Meanwhile, local organizations staffed by volunteers go begging ...

The good thing about RFL is that people get together for a day , have fun and support each other in their struggles with this disease, celebrate those who are cured and remember those who are gone...

Nothing wrong with that, and you know what... you don't need the ACS to put on an event like this... how about it people... ????

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I know lots of people with cancer. Most are excited about ACS and RFL, but some are more savvy about where the money goes and do not participate.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

have more people who participate do the research about where the money actually goes. I would like to see the volunteers put on their own local event and keep the money in the community for the needy.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers