Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
51 Reviews
12.21569345
| 1 2 3 45 |
Write A Review
October 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
October 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I personally know someone who works for ACS, and I can personally tell you that they are legit. They do not spend a lot of money on commercial or ads. The Susan B. Komen is different than the ACS. Both are looking for a cancer cure, but the ACS is a good organization. They have many programs dedicated to helping patients. There is a free class taught by a volunteer cosmetologist to help those patients learn how to do their makeup and how to wear their wigs. There is a road to recovery service where they provide rides to doctor appointments or treatments when patients have no other way. There is a hope lodge so that patients can have a free place to stay if they have to travel away from home to get the best care. There are many more services that are provided like a wig bank. A cancer patient can go to this wig bank with a picture of themselves before cancer, and they will try to create a wig that is closest to their original hair. Yes, this organization sounds awful...are you kidding me? Only about 7 cents of every dollar goes to administration...that is 7 pennies...I'm glad I could clear a few things up for you. Never doubt the American Cancer Society...I know a LOT of people who have had cancer, one being my mom...and they helped her when we didn't know what else to do. the American Cancer Society is amazing. It is a very UNSELFISH organization. The next time you folks want to say otherwise, look at their website...and do some research before you open your mouth!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The American Cancer Society is THE leading funder of research grants in the country. As a research scientist I have benefitted from their grants and as a patient, I have directly benefitted from their patient support. My research, along with my partners in the field, would not have made the strides we have made without the ACS. You guys are completely wrong. Over 80% of their incoming funds go to RESEARCH! Perhaps their national CEO receives close to a million dollars because they are extremely short staffed across the country. I wonder what Komen does with the millions they raise? Does 100% of it go to research? How much is the overhead for putting on three day walks? Do they have patient programs and services? To name a few that the ACS does, Look Good Feel Better sessions for women, support groups, peer counseling from survivors, oncology summer camps for children, transportation assistance, lodging assistance, free wigs, equipment, supplies... All of these programs are free of charge and paid for by donations, and program fundraisers. The American Cancer Society does an incredible amount of work for patients. The patient services is what sets them apart from other organizations that I have worked with. The patient services across ALL cancer diagnosis and ALL age ranges. Talk to the patients that have directly benefitted from ACS patient services. They don't help everyone and in my opinion that is in large part due to them trying to help ALL cancers. But I promise you, they do their absolute best and try to help everyone. I am here to tell you that a cure for some cancers are right around the corner. The ACS is playing a primary part in these cures. The only gripe I have is that they don't toot their own horn ENOUGH about all the great things they have accomplished. I promise you, there isn't a research development out there that the ACS does not have a hand in. In regards to their advertising, WHAT ADVERTISING? They have very little. And I promise you, they are only paying for heavily discounted or free advertising.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
September 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Washington Post 16 Sept 2012 Business Section says ACS paid InfoCision telemarketers 102% of the $5.4 million InfoCision collected for ACS in 2010. Telemarketers for charity apparently usually take the majority of the money they raise. Usually, it costs the charities nothing but only costs donors, so it's no skin off the charity's nose. I'm horrified.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
September 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Non Profit is now the best way to get rich. No taxes, pay yourself what you want, and it's all good. People don't realize that is the main reason the NFL; yes the National Football League; is non-profit. Our family has been long supporters of St. Jude and the American Cancer Society. This is heartbreaking. I've heard of rumors of huge salaries up top but refused to believe it until I checked it out. I feel like a fool for supporting them. I will put my support to other groups. Very sad.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

HAVE BEEN AN ACTIVE BOARD MEMBER FOR OVER 40 YEARS. AS A NURSE ,DID EDUCATION AND PROFESSIONAL TRAINING. RECENTLY FOUND OUT THE SALARIES OF THE LEADERS- OUTRAGEOUS- AND THE SMALL AMOUNT TO RESEARCH. ACS COVERS ALL THAT UP. ALSO THEY GAVE MONEY TO PLANNED PARENTHOOD- MONEY I GAVE FOR CANCER. ALSO THEY SENT LETTERS TO SUPPORT THE AFFORDABLE HEALTH CARE BILL= NONE OF THE MEMBERS KNEW ABOUT OR ABOUT THE MONEY TO PLANNED PARENTHOOD OR THAT THEY USE EMBROS FOR STEM CELL RESEARCH. ACS NEED TO FIRE ALL THE EXPENSE DICTATORS. ACS JUST MOVED INTO A 274,000 SQ FT BUILDING IN ATLANTA WITH 800 EMPLOYEES.. WHER DOES ALL THAT MONEY COME FROM?? FROM HARD WORKING ,BELIEVING VOLUNTEERS.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 9, 2012

Please understand the ACS is the biggest rip off I have ever seen. They have NO intention to find a cure for cancer. If they did their cash cow would be gone. They learned from when all the poilo hospitals all closed down. Do you think that their CEO, Vice Pres. , and Retired CEO would let their cushy lifestyle just slip out of their hands. Together they make more then 4 million dollars. If they were so eager to find a cure take a cut of 3/4 of that pay, and put it into research. You people who give to ANY Cancer charity might as well flush the money down the toilet. My mother died of breast cancer. I went down the guilt trip lane, and started pumping in the money, until I found the truth, and Charity Navigator was the first place that opened my eyes. People with these kind of saleries are NOT looking for a cure, only to line their pockets, and pocket books. I have done other research since then, ordinary people who scam the public go to jail, but not these guys.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2004

May 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Well, my story is I'm a Cancer Research Scientist. I'm in the trenches, working on cervical cancer. I applied for an ACS grant and received glowing reviews with words like "outstanding" and "remarkable." Yet, when it came down to approval and funding, they hem and hawed and made excuses and put my grant on a waiting list called "Pay If," which I take to mean "Pay if pigs fly" or something like that. I never got an funds from ACS, only a nice pat on the back. After talking with the program officers, it became clear he is battling a bloated system that retains funds rather than gets them out to Cancer Researchers. Also, there is extreme bias in the distribution of ACS funds by state. So states like Texas get a lions share of the grant money. The bottom line is that this a terrible waste and causes more misery for us scientist by stringing us along. If you want research to be done give funds to a research program that you have an interest in. I am seriously concerned about the future for cancer research in this country .

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Somewhat badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

May 24, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
May 24, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

As an oncologist, I would recommend supporting your local hospital/cancer center/hospice rather that the ACS. You are supporting some huge salaries. Keep the donations and volunteering where you know it will do the most good, in your local area. Do you really need to make a million a year to run this if your heart is really dedicated to helping cancer patients? Give money to charities that help with co-pay assistance or local good samaritan clinics. These are the cutting edge in the trenches ways to help people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 11, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

May 11, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

I have volunteered for over ten years at the ACS Relay For Life annual fundraising event. It is, I believe, the best, most efficient fundraiser you will find. Unfortunately we discovered last year that the top executive of the American Cancer Society is getting 2.5 million dollars in compensation. The figures come from the IRS form 990 filed by ACS. That is way too much for an organization that prides itself on being volunteer based. Further investigation showed that there has been a pattern of this behavior, not just one incident.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I am a two time cancer survivor.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Fire the CEO and the Chief Medical Officer. Pay the replacements a modest salary.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Used.

May 4, 2012

You guys are crazy! The ACS does great things and helps great people, they are a charity worth raising money for, you complain about the pay of employees at least they are doing something their work is being put to good use that is worth paying someone for. "only .73 cents goes to cancer research" at least someone is researching! "cancer is un-cureable" WITHOUT HOPE YOUR RIGHT! have a little faith in a organization and great things can come from it, If no money was spent on ACS we might not know that smoking causes cancer, their may be no smoking in public ban and YOU may be affected..ACS is a great place to spend your time volunteering not only is the staff great to work with the people that come together for these events are amazing and beautiful, they all want one thing Cancer to be cured. The survivors are strong and powerful, the friends and families have hope, when these people come together its mind blowing its not a sad events where people come together to morn, its a upbeat social events where we celebrate life, and look for a day where no one is affected.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers