Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
51 Reviews
12.21569345
| 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
February 15, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

February 15, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

This organization is a sham along with all the other big charities, Red Cross, etc. It is reprehensible to pay over $600K dollars for a chief executive. Other than sucking up huge amounts of money, what does this organization really do? Only $1 of every $3 donated actually goes to someone. The rest pays chief executives and folks like ACS DS Dan. If you really want ot make a difference, donate your money to a charity that does not have the bloated, overpaid, and just PLAIN GREEDY executive staff.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 15, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

January 15, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

We have been giving to ACS since 2007 and sporadically for a number of years before that. I rated it two stars because that coincides with the Charity Navigator rating. It bothers me that the CEO's salary is well over $600,000 a year... hey, this is a non-profit. We just received a 2013 Annual Fund solicitation in the mail today, but we are not going to give any longer until they earn at least 3 stars, and preferably 4 stars. Even then, if the CEO salary is not reduced or capped, we might never donate again.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
January 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a volunteer with the American Cancer Society fo several years now and I am saddened by all the negative comments and I'm not really sure where people are pulling their info from. I can tell you that I have seen first hand numerous friends that have been helped free lodging, travel, medical equipment, wigs, programs and numerous other patient services. I have also seen first hand cutbacks within the ACS organization...as in less employees....more work taken on by the remaining employees. I can tell you that our Staff partner as well as the Quality of Life Manager, Executive Director and the staff of our local office work their butts off for that organization. Anyone that thinks volunteers do it all is wrong. Granted, ACS is approximately 90% volunteer driven...but I think of that as a plus. Shame on you people for being so gullible - do what your heart tells you. Do you really think that many volunteers would be volunteering if they felt ACS mismanaged their monies? Why do you think they have such a huge volunteer base?? Because the volunteers have seen FIRST HAND how many lives have been helped by the American Cancer Society. I don't believe all the negative articles I read about places such as the American Red Cross, Komen, etc. I believe what is in my heart. I will continue to volunteer for the American Cancer Society until cancer is gone or I'm gone.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I am employed by the American Cancer Society. I have been reading some of these unsatisfied comments and the misinformation and unusual situations being shared are certainly disappointing but most can be easily rectified or more accurately informed with a simple call to 1-800-227-2345. Also we welcome your feedback as we are constantly trying to improve our services and to make sure that donations get routed to where they can do the greatest good.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have donated to this charity several time for Memorials. Not only have they NEVER acknowliedged these donations, they NEVER sent an acknowledgement to the families I "memorialized". They won't be getting any more donations from me ValentineGal

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 13, 2012

more

Review from CharityNavigator
1 previous review
February 23, 2012

My mother-in-law died in 2004. After she passed away, my father-in-law moved in with us. We started getting requests for donations from ACA addressed to my mother-in-law (they forwarded her mail to ... more

December 13, 2012

I have been trying for years to get my mother-in-law off their donation request mailing list. She never lived at my address, but they send donation requests here anyway. She died in 2004. I have repeatedly called and emailed the national headquarters. I have called the local office - not an easy thing to get their number. Nothing works, and nobody seems to know why I am still receiving solicitations. Any organization that wastes that much money sending paper to dead people doesn't deserve my money. Any organization that disorganized that they don't know how to remove names from their mailing lists doesn't deserve my money.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 23, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My mother-in-law died in 2004. After she passed away, my father-in-law moved in with us. We started getting requests for donations from ACA addressed to my mother-in-law (they forwarded her mail to our address. She never lived here.) I have tried for years to get off their snail mail list to no avail. The most recent person I spoke with apologized and admitted that it was very difficult to get off their mailing list! Why should I support an organization that wastes that much money? They should automatically stop mailing money requests after a few years if nothing comes in.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
November 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Impressed that the ACS provides free wigs and make up kits for women going thru treatment. They also have volunteers who provide transportation for those who need a ride to their treatments. They were very helpful when my aunt was going thru treatment. I highly recomend the work they are doing!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 2, 2012

I have been giving to this charity for the better part of a decade and I can't believe I didn't know how over paid the CEO of this non-profit is. 3 million of of the 919 million in revenue goes to this CEO yet there is a deficit each year. I'm switching my money to the red Cross. Out of the billions that they take in, the CEO only makes 500k, leaving more money to actually help people.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2012

I am very saddened with the affairs of ACS. I am disgusted with their misuse of donations, including a CFO that makes over $2mill and secretaries that make six figures. It is also very difficult to obtain their financials and what they actually donate to research or care. As you may have recognized, you never hear about them donating funds to actual care of an individual cancer patient. My recommendations to all of you is to donate to St. Jude and to an individual dept in a University that is doing indepth research. Let's stop throwing our money away to these large monopolies that seem to use Cancer as a reason to get together for balls and parties. I am disgusted!!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2012

I have been volunteering for Raly for Life, along with my daughter who organizes bake sale events and pariticpates in other fund raisers at her school for ACS. After seeing the , we'll be sepdning our time elsewhere. Shame on you, John Seffrin!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Somewhat badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers