Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
50 Reviews
12.2345
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
July 28, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 28, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

If you google ACS, it states that the CEO made 1 million dollars - then in 2011, ACS gave him a raise - HE NOW MAKES 2.4 MILLION A YEAR.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

It's impossible

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 12, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 12, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I have volunteered for ACS for seven years as a committee member for Relay For Life and a Road to Recovery driver. Our county raises over $400K every year for Relay For Life. We have (had) an amazing committee and a phenomenal event chair for the past seven years. Now ACS has asked our chairperson to step down with no one in the wings to take over. This event chair has dedicated her life to Relay For Life and has been treated with no respect from ACS. The whole committee is quitting and ACS doesn't seem to care. They have to follow their "best practices" which say that no volunteer should serve on the committee for more than 2 years. The staff partners at ACS are paid very little so they really don't care about the "cause". It's just a job to them. And they certainly don't care about their volunteers. All I have to say is that there are many non profit organizations out there where more of the money they raise is spent on research and programs. Our community will find another organization to give our $400K to....one that appreciates it's volunteers. And one where the CEO doesn't make $628K per year salary. To think that our year of fundraising doesn't even pay the CEO's salary... Wow. Check out The Cancer Research Institute or Livestrong on the charitynavigator.org. They are much better organizations!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Don't pay any of the executives more that $100K per year salary (that is plenty). Hire staff partners who actually care about the survivors and volunteers and cut your expenses way down. We want the money we raise to go to research and programs...not salaries and administrative expenses!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 29, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
April 29, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I'm a cancer survivor and former beneficiary of ACS. They have helped me through their childhood cancer programs quite a lot, and now, as an adult, I know the immense impact that those programs had in my life.

Recently they have cancelled the program that allowed me, as a child, to attend
summer camp even when I wasn't well. An experience that remains the catalyst for most of the best things in my life (talking best friends I have, a woman I love, the ability to positively affect the lives of kids in a position I used to be in myself. Life altering stuff.).

In addition, they have cancelled the scholarship program that allowed me to graduate from college. I do not come from money, and my childhood treatment bankrupted my folks. This scholarship saved my future in the career I fell in love with.

All of this could be forgiven if it was necessary. It is not necessary, however. These programs are reported to cost $1 million annually. They say they just cant afford it anymore, that they're trimming the fat. And yet in the board room THIS YEAR there are bonuses of upwards of $1.5 million.

Quality of life matters to more than just your executives, ACS. I am deeply disappointed that this has been forgotten.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

1999

April 4, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
April 4, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

As someone who decided to become a team Captain for their college's Relay for Life, I have been less then thrilled with the experience. I am representing and leading a small church group, we don't have many members and we don't have the most resources as compared to other participating. It began to bother me that in the RFL meetings, all that would be talked about was money and to raise as much money for them as possible; survivors, treatment and everything else was barely mentioned and certainly not stressed.
Each team had to raise at least 200 dollars to get a campsite, or else we wouldn't have had anywhere to put our stuff. If a team didn't have a large donation or a lot of members, they were heavily criticized by the organizers. Many small groups were flat out told it was worthless for them to participate, which I would think the organization should be thankful for any help they get. I think their rudeness should speak for itself.
I really wanted to support Relay for Life and our group was originally excited to support others who have had to fight such a tough battle, but I am very disenchanted with how I have seen the money used and the fact that the only thing being stressed is to raise money, not awareness or education or research but just money. When I asked the organizers how the money would be used that was raised, they couldn't give me an answer, which did bother me; however they were able to tell me what prizes I could earn as a team captain if my team raised so much money.
My experience may be due to the fact that this is a college campus and these were students running the event; however when I was talking to a family friend who is both a cancer survivor and how had participated in Relay for Life (in a different states location) her experience seemed very much like mine.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 20, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
2 previous reviews - show all
October 17, 2012

In answer to mwartman:Yes, those programs are all great but let's set the record straight:almost all of the programs you mentioned are carried out by volunteers (the makeup class, the road to recovery... more

March 20, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

The people who have given ACS 5 stars need to sit up and smell the coffee. Wake up! If you don't believe CN's (bad) ACS rating is worth considering, do a little research. You don't have to look far to find out the truth about ACS. If you don't trust the rating of Charity Navigator, check out other reputable organizations who do the same thing. If you just google a little, you'll find out a lot. Also, the fact of the employee pension plan is huge. Of course they can't drop employees who are currently drawing their pension. But if the money wasn't coming from donors, they would immediately do what large corporations have done: stop funding the pension plans for current employees. Of course it's legal, it's done all the time. Not good for employees, but the DONATED money in ACS's case could then go toward research and also to helping cancer patients more directly. ACS mission is not to set up their employees for their retirement years--it's to fight cancer. If they really believed that, they would follow through and make the necessary cuts.

Just a few links from a casual google:

http://www.indeed.com/forum/cmp/American-Cancer-Society/s-company-culture-at-American-Cancer-Society/t16550
ACS employee:
...You are expected to meet workplans that are sometimes ridiculous while being forced in training/brainwashing sessions, sometimes every week, but definitely at least once a month. These are usually overnight events. They try to brainwash you so you can explain to people where their money goes, when really it is going to pay for all the meetings, hotel rooms, salaries, gas, car rentals, food, etc. that you use each month. My expense report averaged over $2000 a month! It is disgusting to participate in a huge, extravagant 3 day meetings, but we were not allowed to give a patient the money to pay for a small co-pay on their much needed medication. I have even seen die-hard volunteers accept employment positions with ACS and then quit after a few months because of how appalled they are with how ACS is run.

http://www.wsbtv.com/news/news/american-cancer-society-where-does-your-money-go/nFX4j/

http://www.wtflungcancer.com/where-do-your-relay-for-life-donations-go-american-cancer-society-doesnt-tell-you/

http://www.preventcancer.com/losing/acs/wealthiest_links.htm

http://www.chondrosarcoma-support.org/index.php?topic=963.0

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2012

In answer to mwartman:Yes, those programs are all great but let's set the record straight:almost all of the programs you mentioned are carried out by volunteers (the makeup class, the road to recovery, man to man, almost all of the programs are carried out by VOLUNTEERS. Wigs are donated, staff that helps with them are volunteers, the Hope Lodge is donated from large charitible donations for the most part. You need to do some further research and believe what you are reading via other posts on this site. ACS takes in Millions and MILLIONS of dollars, but holds on tight to it and makes sure that their administrative and top employees including the CEO are paid very, very well. My money will never go to them again.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

For those who say that you can't find a good CEO to run a charity of the size of ACS without paying them a huge salary: Look again at what the top dogs at ACS are getting vs other reputable charities of a similar nature. Also, I personally (who like many used to believe that ACS was wonderful), will look for a LOCAL charity that helps those afflicted with cancer. If you're a successful volunteer with ACS and there's nothing in your area, think about getting your teams together and starting a local organization. There are many who need assistance with transportation to treatments, medical/drug expenses, compassionate support etc. that ACS will turn down flat or refer to other non-profits. All the fantastic, wonderful volunteers w/ACS who help out every year and raise local money to fight cancer--by all means, continue doing so, but do your homework and find out where the money is being spent. If research is what you want to fund, seek out the orgs on CN who have the best track record there. I know my money and time will never again go to the American Cancer Society.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Somewhat badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
March 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

http://www.ted.com/talks/dan_pallotta_the_way_we_think_about_charity_is_dead_wrong.html

I think if you take 18 minutes to listen to the video above, you might see that these ratings are crap. The fact is yes, they only get about 1/3 of their donations into the cause... but that is 100's
of millions of dollars.... 100s!!!!!! Listen.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 12, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

March 12, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

A plant based diet has been proven to CURE CANCER. This company is a complete sham. End of story.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 11, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

more

March 11, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

It amazes me that so many people can take the advice from one internet site and believe it all to be true. I have worked with and for this company and I am just flabbergasted at how narrow minded some people can be. I understand that people come to this site to become more educated however, from the post that are on here they are not. My recommendation is, if you want to donate to an organization call them and ask questions! One person said it's hard to find financials on ACS. Sure their web site isn't as user friendly as it once was but every local office has them and the 1-800 number will mail them to you! I would also like to know where the CEO makes millions come from. I worked for ACS for 6 years and he never made more and $600,000. Do I think that's a lot, sure, but he's also sitting at the table with the president trying to change legislation so that EVER person who gets cancer, insurance or not will get treatment. And to the non-profit president that couldn't believe that ACS would send people to them, if you would call your local ACS office you would understand that because they are good stewards of their donor dollars they don't repeat programs that already exist in an area. Now, should you not be able to help all the people who need your services then yes, they would start that program. I also understand peoples frustration with ACS not handing out checks to people but that is not part of their mission. Finding a cure is.
People need to stop being lazy, start being proactive and stop believing everything you read on the internet.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 15, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

February 15, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

This organization is a sham along with all the other big charities, Red Cross, etc. It is reprehensible to pay over $600K dollars for a chief executive. Other than sucking up huge amounts of money, what does this organization really do? Only $1 of every $3 donated actually goes to someone. The rest pays chief executives and folks like ACS DS Dan. If you really want ot make a difference, donate your money to a charity that does not have the bloated, overpaid, and just PLAIN GREEDY executive staff.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 15, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

January 15, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

We have been giving to ACS since 2007 and sporadically for a number of years before that. I rated it two stars because that coincides with the Charity Navigator rating. It bothers me that the CEO's salary is well over $600,000 a year... hey, this is a non-profit. We just received a 2013 Annual Fund solicitation in the mail today, but we are not going to give any longer until they earn at least 3 stars, and preferably 4 stars. Even then, if the CEO salary is not reduced or capped, we might never donate again.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers