Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
52 Reviews
1234.961545
| 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review
October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

This is such a wonderful place to learn all about this cancer, my husband was diagnosed in Dec. 2012, had a radical cystectomy May 2013 , We had no knowledge of this cancer except that it was fast acting in my husband, with this site and information and stories from others I felt much more informed, our regular MD had no information on this as he had never had a patient with this type of cancer before. Our new Doctor at UofC informed us of this site, and what a help it has been.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

Found out my Dad has bladder cancer. This site has been wonderful. Thank You.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

This site has made my life much easier dealing with cancer. It is often hard to talk to family due to the fact you know they hurt for you. Talking to people with the same issues and getting information recieved has been amazing.. I am a 28 year old female that has survied this with a two year old boy... Trust me!!! Great place... I would love more awareness on bladder cancer out there,

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

Amazing nonprofit!! Such a great resource for those of us diagnosed, for the families and friends and for the general public to get all the information they need!! If I could give more than a 5 star rating, I surely would!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 5, 2013

more

September 5, 2013

If it is possible I would give the American Bladder Cancer Society a MILLION STARS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! My husband, Steve, was diagnosed with Bladder Cancer in July, 2006, his was high grade w/CIS and if it wasn't for this site I would have totally lost it. The information provided was invaluable to us and the forum is beyond fantastic!!! Even though some of the members are going through the unthinkable in regard to Bladder Cancer either with themselves or with family members, they are beyond generous with their knowledge, support and a listening ear. We mainly lurk but I did post my husbands story on the forum in hopes of giving hope to someone who is where we were in terms of grasping what's has happened. Thank God Steve has been cancer free for 7 years now!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing, this organizing goes above and beyond!!!!!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 4, 2013

more

July 4, 2013

The Society has been a wonderful to me. I lost my dad to stage 2 bladder cancer. He went from diagnosed to being gone in about 7 weeks. I was devastated. You hear so much about breast cancer all over the place, it was hard to find information or support about bladder cancer. I didn't feel so alone, here were people who understood, who could give me facts and information. I strongly support them and all they are doing to inform more people

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 23, 2013

more

May 23, 2013

This site is very helpful thank you! I searched high and low for support and eventually found you. I have a lot of questions and fears. My Dad has stageIV bladder cancer and I need this forum to help me understand what he may be going through and what ways I can help. And I need advice on how to deal with my feelings. I'm glad I'm here. I think the forums and Sunday chat. Will help a lot.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 6, 2012

more

October 6, 2012

After being diagnosed in January 2010 at age 55 with a "rare" form of bladder cancer, a primary bladder adenocarcinoma, I was referred to Vanderbilt where they did a bladder-sparing partial cystectomy. I was fortunate that I met the very strict criteria for that surgical option. Even though I had very supportive family and friends, I had never felt so alone and isolated as those first several months. Until that path report, I had never been to a urologist, never heard any of those "cysto" words like cystoscope and cystectomy. I didn't know anyone with bladder cancer, and kept reading dismal statistics for my type of cancer. I finally found ABLCS eight months later and I feel like it saved my emotional and mental life. Being among "people like me" took away the dark cloud that had hovered over me all that time. I really can't express my appreciation for the acceptance, encouragement, and empathy I received from members of the ABLCS forum. I now volunteer my time as a forum moderator to be there for others as they hear those same words from their own doctors... "you have bladder cancer." We hope by educating as many people as we can reach, bladder cancer can be diagnosed earlier when treatment has the greatest chance of success against this very determined enemy which has the highest recurrence rate of any other cancer. All I can say is, "Thank you, ABLCS for being there for me, and for everyone affected by this devastating disease."

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 25, 2012

more

July 25, 2012

At 53 years of age, and having never had a health issue, I was diagnosed with bladder cancer. Even though I was correctly diagnosed and Professionally treated, I was constantly wondering if I was supposed to be alone during this process. After finding the ABCS website, I was amazed at the amount of information and support they made available to everyone. I was so impressed I became a regular member of the site and wanted to help others get through their illness. This site is a godsend to those who are afraid and in need of information and a shoulder. The people who created and support this site are to be applauded and rewarded for their efforts

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 10, 2012

more

July 10, 2012

In Nov. of last year I was told I had a dark mass in my bladder after urinateing blood a couple of times. Then on the week before Christmas I had a surgery to have the mass removed. A few days before Christmas my Urologist called me at 7:30 in the evening to tell me that the mass was cancerous but he was certain they removed all of the tumor. It was Christmas, and I had no one to answer any of the questions I had about Bladder Cancer. I found The American Bladder Cancer Society and went to the chat room to see if anyone could help me. As soon as I said hello one of the volunteers said Welcome, and asked If they could help me in any way. After just a few questions I felt like I was with a close friend. After being so scared they calmed my fears. The relief was so great that it made me cry. That is something that a 48 year old Northern Minnesotan just doesn't do. Now after learning so much from them and my doctors, I am trying to help others get through that scary time and hopefully calm their fears. This is the first time I have ever volunteered to help anyone else. But after everything they have done for me I felt this was something I had to do.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My own understanding of bladder cancer and how I not only can cope with it, but that I too can help others along the way while learning how to live with my own cancer.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it more visible to those with bladder cancer.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I showed me not to ever give up, and that I could help others while I was learning how to deal with my own cancer.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Rewarded. When someone tells you that you have calmed them or gave them the strength to fight cancer. You can't help but feel good about that.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers