Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
52 Reviews
1234.961545
Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review
April 15, 2014

more

April 15, 2014

Simply a wonderful organization run by exceptional professionals.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide more funding.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 25, 2013

more

December 25, 2013

If receiving a Bladder Cancer diagnosis, people jump to the internet only to find random, confusing, and frightening information, but no individual help. The "been there/done that" caregivers and survivors at ABLCS welcome you into a friendly environment as a person, providing excellent information, input, and support. Lurkers to the forum often spot others with similar situations, and sensible questions. Many join in to participate. Each one contributes a valuable piece of information that could help others better understand and deal with Bladder Cancer. It's an unfortunate, long term commitment when one joins the "B-C Club". Finding the ABLCS forum provided the communication not found elsewhere. Thanks.

More feedback...

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 30, 2013

more

November 30, 2013

My hospital and my Doctor were not helpful in aiding me to adjust to the bag. Dealing with the issues about the bag were driving me nuts. Several others here were also out of surgery and were Huge help with my problems. Realizing the stress that can come from surgery, I now try to be informative for new folks. It's also important to point out to others that cancer IS NOT terminal.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 25, 2013

more

November 25, 2013

When I was diagnosed with advanced invasive bladder cancer in 2007, I was fortunate to find the American Bladder Cancer Society. Not only was the site loaded with current information on every aspect of the disease and treatments, but I was also welcomed by a group of others at various stages of their treatment path. I am a grateful survivor thanks in part to the guidance of this website.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 19, 2013

more

November 19, 2013

This site has kept me from loosing my mind through my seven or eight years of going through surgeries and checkups. they would talk to me and support me in hard times and celibrate the good times. I don't know what I would have done without my friends at ABLCS.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 8, 2013

more

November 8, 2013

This is the only website that has made me feel so loved and supported, instead of just a place to vent and get info. Best forums and blogs ever! Sail on, ABCLS!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it easier to find dates on posts. Sometimes they are in old to new order, sometimes not.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

I discovered this site and the ABLCS when I was first diagnosed with bladder cancer and it provided not only a wealth of information and links to resources but also much mutual support from others going through similar experiences.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Try to make more people aware of it since it's so helpful.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

This organization was founded in 2008 to provide help, hope, and support to members of the bladder cancer community. Each year, more and more people access our website/social networking site to receive information and support for this often overlooked and underserved disease.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand our outreach to individuals affected by this disease beyond the support and information available on our website/social networking site.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

The ABLCS website is wonderful! The information shared amongst caregivers and bladder cancer survivors in the forum is helpful and reassuring to those of us who visit the site. My husband, Doug, was diagnosed in May, 2001 and has had 5 re-occurrences. His cancer has remained non-invasive and he has been cancer-free for almost 5 years. Knowing the options that are available should his cancer progress is helpful. Survivors on this site are most willing to share their experiences and encourage others. Having this site available is a true gift.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

Found out I had Bladder Cancer in 2006, laser surgery twice, BCG treatment, cancer returned in 2007 more laser surgery...just a whirlwind of emotions, pain, confusion and since it 'wasn't considered one of the more serious cancers' , there wasn't a lot of information. In Dec. 2007 had 12 hrs. of surgery with complete bladder removal, rebuilt my bladder using part of my small intestine "Neo-Bladder", removed my prostrate, removed several masses. Wish there had been a site like this for myself and my family to utilize because we basically had to rely on technical medical documents and other scattered sources. This site is very valuable to those who discover that they have Bladder Cancer. I volunteer at a local hospital with a cancer treatment center/oncology clinic/Women's Breast Heath Center. I wear my survivor's pin and talk freely about my cancer what I had done, and stress the need to do the research on sites like The American Bladder Cancer Society.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing really...I think that it is such a good idea to have sites like this out there for people to utilize. In my brief experience is that there is little that can be done for the elderly who are not computer literate, other than to tell them to have a family member assist them in doing the research.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Some

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers