Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
37 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
August 20, 2014

more

August 20, 2014

Consistent in providing top quality material in every language, including Braille for the blind. Wonderful outreach and provider of top quality materials.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none I know of

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 23, 2014

There is no organization on the planet as precious as the American Bible Society. As a young Christian I remember my mother and I going to 7th and Walnut Street in Philadelphia to buy Bibles and tracts for our street outreach.

Today we serve Women Veterans and Active Duty Service Women.
No greater organization on the Planet.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 26, 2013

more

January 26, 2013

Due to negative reviews on both this website and Charity Navigator, I called ABS several months ago and asked them to remove my name and address from their mailing list. 3 months later I am still receiving mail from ABS. I have called at least 3 times asking them to remove my name and address from their mailing list, but they cannot seem to accomplish this simple task. I will be calling again Monday, 1/28/13, asking for the fourth time to be removed from ABS' mailing list.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have recently been more thoroughly informed about the mission and work of American Bible Society and am very pleased to support the organization! They are doing incredible work in the Democratic Republic of the Congo with their She's My Sister initiative, which seeks to bring physical and spiritual healing to women who have been affected by war violence and trauma. American Bible Society sees that spiritual needs are just as important as physical needs, and this is what drives their worldwide missions.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 15, 2012

more

August 15, 2012

I became involved with American Bible Society (ABS) over the course of this summer, and I was blown away by the work they're doing. They go above and beyond in their mission to bring the life-changing power of God's Word to people around the world, and they're genuine about it. These people love what they do and who they serve, and they really do all they can to make sure ABS accomplishes what it needs to.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 5, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
July 5, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

I have donated on several occasions and had already written the check when I decided to review their CEO salaries. Much to by chagrin, I discovered they make $400k +. The rationale provided was that it is in line with what others make. No more .................................

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 8, 2012

more

June 8, 2012

ABS has become one the most innovative and creative Christian ministries in the world. They are a world leader in Bible translation, printing, distribution, electronic distribution and engagement, and many holistic ministry partnerships. There is no other ministry which does everything ABS does!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I think the work that ABS is doing is critically needed. There are only a few other organizations that are pioneering to help open God’s Word where it doesn't exist. I know, first hand, the obstacles to overcome for this work are substantial. Their latest annual report (http://digital.americanbible.org/stewardship/2011/index.html) demonstrates historical good work, and seeing experimentation and innovation with new technologies, they're doing even better things to help the Gospel be discovered through the Bible.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 11, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
May 11, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

In the past I have donated to this charity even though it wasn't rated as high as I would have liked. After all, spreading the Gospel is a command from my Lord. But now after seeing the 14.5% spent on fund-raising and the salary of the president - $409,000 - sadly I cannot in good conscience donate to the Society any longer. I need to know that all of my money is providing Bibles - not being wasted.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 7, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
January 7, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

Have been a donor for some time as we are charged with spreading the gospel message. They contact me monthly and I confess it becomes annoying sometimes. This is a secondary donation field as I give to my church, missions, etc. I looked up American Bible Society on Charity Navigator. I noted they spend .32 cents for every dollar raised. I checked on another charity I give to, and they spend .04 cents for every dollar raised and only 4.8% on admin. vs. 11.8% on admin for the ABS. Just saying, my dollar goes further.......

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers