Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
21 Reviews
12.47619345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
August 31, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

August 31, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

Feeding America matches my donations between 5X and 17X with corporate funds. Last year I put $850 into the program with a $50 donation. You can't do that anywhere else, that I know of.

Secondly, the accusations here about their use of donation money is shamefully incorrect. CHARITY
NAVIGATOR, one of the world's most respected charity assessors gives Feeding America an A for their use of donation revenue, and shows clearly on their website where every donation penny goes
( http://www.charitynavigator.org/index.cfm?bay=search.summary&orgid=6584 ).

Thirdly, rating someone one or two stars because you receive a couple mailing a week from them? News flash: ALL CHARITIES DO THAT because in the longrun it pays to do so. Printing, die-cutting and distribution only costs about 2 cents when mailers are ordered by the hundreds of thousands. Mr. printshop man should know that. FUNDRAISING EXPENSES ARE 2.3% of their revenue
( http://www.charitynavigator.org/index.cfm?bay=search.summary&orgid=6584 )

Fourthly, Feeding America's ENTIRE ADMINISTRATIVE COST IS 1.8% of their revenue.
( http://www.charitynavigator.org/index.cfm?bay=search.summary&orgid=6584 )

That's at least six low reviews disproved. You people need to calm down and do your homework before (1) believing everything you hear, and (2) coming here and falsely slandering a charity that gives away more than 37 million meals a year.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Feeding America sold my address and as a result I receive an obscene amount of charity junk mail. As a result of supporting your organization I will need to spend time and money to stop all of the unwanted mail. Feeding America obviously does not care about the harm that they do to those who support them.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 23, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
January 23, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

The following is an email I sent Feeding America.
I want to be removed from your phone, mailing and emailing lists. We used to donate regularly but couldn't take the deluge after donations. I broke my vow and donated twice recently - requesting no contact - this Christmas - NEVER AGAIN!
Wouldn't you be able to use more of my donations to feed people if you weren't using them to harass me? I am a regular donor to places that don't disturb me - your charity is bar none - the worst I have ever seen for this.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 26, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
December 26, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

After receiving three letter in two days I contribute directly to my local food bank. Why give Feeding America a cut of your donation to fund their excessive marketing costs?

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 29, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

these guys never explained what my donation was being used for so i stopped donating. 10 months ago i asked them to never contact me again. i got email from them confirming they would not contact me. 6 months ago they starting calling me on the phone in place of flooding my mailbox. i AGAIN contact them asking them to never contact me as well as file a complaint with the better business bureau. they AGAIN send me an email saying they will never contact me again. tonight i get another harassing phone call from them. these people are classless jerks who arent worth anyones time.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 18, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
November 18, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I am tired of the waste on mailings. Once a yr is enough. I now support my neighbors in need.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unsure

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

September 7, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

more

September 7, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

I never donate to a charity until looking at their most recent 990 return. Guidestar is a wonderful resource for this information. Feeding America has 14 (14!) individuals making 6-figure salaries. No thank you. I want my charitable contributions assisting those in need, not making a very nice income for those who are supposed to be helping those in need!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
May 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

this is an awesome charity that helps feed tens of millions of families every year and it educates people about hunger and what people can do about it

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 12, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
May 12, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I never heard of this charity until about a year ago when my company offered a way to donate to a few charities and this was one. Now i get frequent mailings. i have to agree with other reviewers who have said they are being bothered by too many mailings, and that some are too "slick" and look costly to produce. But I also think that is pretty common -- Many charities send me so much mail that I dread the trip to the mailbox. there ought to be an easy way to opt out, or reduce the mailings. As for feeding America, i have no other first-hand knowledge of their efforts or performance.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unsure

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 26, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
April 26, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

Forgive the length of this review, but I have never before been furious with a charity until now. We have been significant contributors and recently pledged a monthly donation -- which I will now cancel. IN MY OPINION, they are absolutely profligate in their spending on fund raising. Once we began donating, we were inundated with mailings for more more more. I wrote to let them know if my concerns. No reply. I received a telephone solicitation and during it I reiterated my concern. I was told that if I made a monthly pledge that I wouldn't receive any more mailings. HAH! Within three weeks of the phone call -- at which I made a monthly pledge, I received THREE more mailings -- one costing $.65 in postage alone. I wrote them a second time expressing my serious concerns about the way they were using people's donations. No reply. I have asked to be removed from all their mailing lists, will retract my monthly pledge, and will henceforth donate directly to our regional food bank. Feeding America is horribly wasteful.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers