Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
23 Reviews
12.34783345
| 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
May 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
May 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

this is an awesome charity that helps feed tens of millions of families every year and it educates people about hunger and what people can do about it

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 12, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
May 12, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I never heard of this charity until about a year ago when my company offered a way to donate to a few charities and this was one. Now i get frequent mailings. i have to agree with other reviewers who have said they are being bothered by too many mailings, and that some are too "slick" and look costly to produce. But I also think that is pretty common -- Many charities send me so much mail that I dread the trip to the mailbox. there ought to be an easy way to opt out, or reduce the mailings. As for feeding America, i have no other first-hand knowledge of their efforts or performance.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unsure

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 7, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

May 7, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

Come on, Feeding America...we receive your mailings almost every other week, and today, we received TWO distinctly different, separate mailings...one in partnership with Con-Agra. The partnership one had all these fancy three-color prints that had been custom-scored for tearing, and both had enclosed envelopes. I donate, but I also worked in the printing business and in adminstration for several nonprofits. I know how much all these fancy mailings cost...how many mouths could you feed with your marketing budget? Hint: If someone didn't donate LAST month, you might want to wait a couple more before hitting them with a campaign again...that is, unless you're trying to up your admin salaries.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 26, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
April 26, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

Forgive the length of this review, but I have never before been furious with a charity until now. We have been significant contributors and recently pledged a monthly donation -- which I will now cancel. IN MY OPINION, they are absolutely profligate in their spending on fund raising. Once we began donating, we were inundated with mailings for more more more. I wrote to let them know if my concerns. No reply. I received a telephone solicitation and during it I reiterated my concern. I was told that if I made a monthly pledge that I wouldn't receive any more mailings. HAH! Within three weeks of the phone call -- at which I made a monthly pledge, I received THREE more mailings -- one costing $.65 in postage alone. I wrote them a second time expressing my serious concerns about the way they were using people's donations. No reply. I have asked to be removed from all their mailing lists, will retract my monthly pledge, and will henceforth donate directly to our regional food bank. Feeding America is horribly wasteful.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
April 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I think this charity does good works. The Walmart Foundation lists them as a longstanding partner, and they seem to get good marks from charity rating organizations. But they spend FAR too much money on mailings soliciting donations. Even if you are already signed up as a regular monthly donor, you will get several solicitations a month to try to get you to send more. And their website gives you the option to opt-out of emails, but to opt-out of postal mailings, you have to call an 800 number (adding more overhead to them and inconvenience to you). I mull over the possibility of pulling my donations from time to time, but so far I think the good they do is enough to keep me giving.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unsure

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What would you tell others about this organization?

7409842590

December 13, 2011
4 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
December 13, 2011
4 people found this review helpful

We have been steadily donating but get more and more requests, and today a phone call. Feels very pressured. We will not donate to them anymore, rather will donate to a local food bank.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

August 31, 2011

more

August 31, 2011

I've donated to Feeding America and volunteered at one of their Food Banks. This organization is the real deal. Everyone I dealt with is concerned about providing food to people in need. With the recession, many of those people are middle income familes that have fallen on hard times. They work hard to help and don't discriminate.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I was out of work for a year and a half and wasn't even aware of Feeding America and their food banks. As a result, I didn't benefit from them but certainly could have used the help at the time.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help them get their name out. They do a lot to help people, but few people have heard of them. I think they do great work and more people should know about what they do.

July 22, 2011
6 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
July 22, 2011
6 people found this review helpful

I work with this company (notice I didn't say organization because they act like a for profit company) on multiple levels. I had volunteered with them and most recently received food for another food pantry through them.

I think they started out with a good heart but now their goal is to
be the ONLY network of food banks in the country. (Don't believe me? Ask someone who works there, they tell me that all the time.)

They have no problem spending money on any and everything. Like the reviews said above, the excessive mail solicitaions. They aren't concerned with what things cost.

Worst of all are the salaries. Feeding the hungry is a ministry, not a job you take to make big bucks. It disgusts me that they are okay with accepting that much compensation.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

have them start over.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

What is unique about this organization?

They are greedy - not many feeding agencies are so selfish.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 16, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
July 16, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

We routinely give to this charity every quarter. However we receive at least one and usually two mailed requests for additional donations. I feel the solicitation for donations is a case of overkill. I loved the fact that in the past all donation requests were accompanied by a postage paid envelope, but now perhaps one in three are postage paid. If you would send less requests, perhaps one monthly to those of us who should be in your database as frequent donors and still provide postage paid envelopes. I hate throwing away request after request each month. I believe your rate of donations may even go up if you didn't nag those who routinely donate. I do believe you're running possible donors off due to the sheer number of requests received.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have not personally experienced the results of this organization. I have been told that a local non-profit has occasionally received food donations from Feeding America for our county.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Suggest sending fewer donation requests to the people who routinely donate.

June 6, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
June 6, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

We made a substantial donation last year because we felt the mission was a good one. Two weeks later, we got an email request for more money. In the past few weeks we have been getting 2 to 3 letters a week to ask for more money. I am disgusted that they spend so much money soliciting when we donated to provide food for the needy. We will never contribute to this organization again.

Charities should make an effort to find out how people want to be contacted. We make our charitable contributions in December, and would like ONE notice late in the year.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

none

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

see above

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers