Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
36 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I worked as a research assistant at one of ACA's biological stations for several months in 2012. The biological station is kept in very good condition and the location was convenient for accessing our data collection locations. Additionally, the station is located in one of the most beautiful places in the world. It would have been very difficult for us to accomplish our objectives if we had not been able to access the facilities provided by ACA. Really, this place is a researcher's paradise: excellent location and an excellent biological station.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

try to preserve the biological/physical research aspects that the nonprofit seeks to promote.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Volunteering and interning in the DC office in fall 2013, I experienced the dedication of the organization as a whole to the many different projects promoting conservation in the headwaters of the Amazon basin. The impact of ACA crosses national borders and supports research, protects habitats, and advocates sustainable resource management for communities in Peru and Bolivia. ACA's efforts are ensuring that crucial biodiversity is preserved, and that the species of the Amazon have protected areas to migrate toward as climate and human impacts change the environment. This honorable vision and ambitious undertaking makes volunteering for ACA a valuable experience while the passion of the staff and board demonstrates a deep commitment to this mission. ACA constitutes a great nonprofit supported by a driven group of individuals who understand the invaluable resource of the Amazon and work daily to protect it.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

increase the staff size! I was amazed by the variety of tasks and projects undertaken by the small office in DC.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

I worked as an intern for ACA in the summer of 2013. Their amazing dedication and passion for conserving the Amazon is apparent in every one of their endeavors. The ACA staff shows a commitment to excellence that is unparalleled. As an intern I learned a great deal about nonprofit communications and marketing, and the staff were incredibly helpful and willing to share their vast knowledge and experience with me. ACA's support helped me to build confidence in my own skills and inspired in me a passion for conservation.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

ACCA does amazing work at so many levels, from scientific research to education, sustainable agriculture, ecotourism and advocacy for the conservation of Amazon biodiversity. I have been at Wayqecha and Villa Carmen and they are great field stations that offer unmatched opportunities for field research.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

I have had the opportunity to collaborate with ACA in their DC office as well as in the field in Peru. The small, but efficient group in DC felt like a family. They have excellent communication in their teamwork and have created a warm, welcoming environment.
In Peru, I was able to work on the
projects I had been translating proposals for in DC. These projects, in addition to accomplishing ACA’s objective of preserving the biodiversity in the Amazon basin, have a very big educational component. This is really important in the process of critical consciousness for local and native communities, from kids to adults. The generation of close ties between ACA and communities shows that not only is the work of researchers, interns and volunteers important for nature preservation, but so is the work of these people.
This has been one of the most enriching experiences I have had, not only because of the quality of work but also the quality of people. ACA is an organization where each individual worker, from labors to executives, has a commitment to nature conservation. I’m a Peruvian biologist, and having ACA working in my country gives me great expectations to have the Amazon basin that we want, well preserved!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

I have worked with ACA both in the field as a volunteer and in the office as an intern. This has given me a good perspective on their work and allows me to say without reservation that ACA is an exceptional organization. Both the staff in the office and on the ground are extremely capable and committed to their work, often putting in long hours to make sure all their various projects are running smoothly. Though small, ACA is extremely efficient and makes better use of their resources than other, larger organizations can. I hope to work with them again soon and wouldn't hesitate to recommend them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
November 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I worked for a semester with Amazon Conservation Association on expanding their ecotourism outreach efforts. This project and the other work ACA does to protect vital areas of land in the Peruvian Amazon should be supported fully!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 7, 2012

I volunteered with ACA in their Washington DC office during my sophomore year of college. It was my first personal experience with a non-profit organization and man did they set the bar high! I was constantly impressed by the dedication, passion and talent of everyone in the office. ACA does not have an easy task, but they never faltered. WONDERFUL organization that will always have my full support. Fantastic goals and wonderful people. Such an important organization. GO ACA!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

I have been volunteering with ACCA Cusco for 2 months now, and am thrilled to be able to be part of this remarkable organization. The goals of the organization are admirable, and I have witnessed how the team’s expertise and dedication has achieved excellent results that are far-reaching on the ground. The trust and camaraderie that is tangible between the team and the communities with which it works is testament to the sincerity the team brings and to the commitment to sustainability in reaching it’s conservation goals.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012

I interned with Amazon Conservation Association in their Cusco, Peru office (ACCA). I am a graduate student at the Yale School of Forestry and I served my internship with ACCA in the summer of 2012. One of the most difficult things to achieve in community-based conservation is the building of a relationship based on trust between the project members and the community. ACCA has done just this. ACCA has gained and maintained the trust and respect of the communities with which it works. The dedication of the project staff is also impeccable. They are encouraging and supportive. They take your work seriously and will provide you (even as an intern) the opportunity to learn from their work. They will empower you with responsibilities that will push you to discover and hone your skills to grow professionally and personally. You will learn tremendously by working with ACCA.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers