Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
36 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 3 4 |
Write A Review
November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

I have been volunteering with ACCA Cusco for 2 months now, and am thrilled to be able to be part of this remarkable organization. The goals of the organization are admirable, and I have witnessed how the team’s expertise and dedication has achieved excellent results that are far-reaching on the ground. The trust and camaraderie that is tangible between the team and the communities with which it works is testament to the sincerity the team brings and to the commitment to sustainability in reaching it’s conservation goals.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012

I interned with Amazon Conservation Association in their Cusco, Peru office (ACCA). I am a graduate student at the Yale School of Forestry and I served my internship with ACCA in the summer of 2012. One of the most difficult things to achieve in community-based conservation is the building of a relationship based on trust between the project members and the community. ACCA has done just this. ACCA has gained and maintained the trust and respect of the communities with which it works. The dedication of the project staff is also impeccable. They are encouraging and supportive. They take your work seriously and will provide you (even as an intern) the opportunity to learn from their work. They will empower you with responsibilities that will push you to discover and hone your skills to grow professionally and personally. You will learn tremendously by working with ACCA.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012

I volunteered with ACA for 4 months in 2012 and was incredibly impressed with both the technical expertise of the staff and the organizations ability to engage and serve stakeholders on the ground. ACA does an exceptional job of designing and implementing programming that maximizes gains in both biodiversity conservation and livelihoods development and support. I have worked with many NGOs over the years, however ACA stands out for consistently maintaining an explicit organizational focus on implementing effective and adaptive conservation programming.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
November 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I've worked in the Peruvian Amazon and Andes on biodiversity conservation for the last 20 years. I've seen lots of NGOs turn their attention to the area and then lose focus. What impresses me about ACA is its innovation and its dedication to place. The organization is centered on conserving the last great tropical wilderness on the planet, the area of exceptionally high biodiversity where the Amazon grades into the Andes. More than that, they're generating the tools--enterprise, policy, and scientific--needed to conserve land in the region. When I got the chance to be on the board of such an innovative and creative conservation organization I jumped at the chance. It is a privilege to work with them.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012

In 2007, I started out as a volunteer with ACA. Seeing the incredible and critical work that the organization does to conserve the Amazon and train the next generation of Amazonian conservationists, I got hooked. I worked hard and wrote a grant to help the organization grow and found myself with a job! Over a few years, I was able to work with a variety of dedicated gifted scientists and community specialists to help create new protected areas and support traditional communities in Peru and Bolivia. As I designed projects with staff and partners in the southwestern Amazon, I learned a huge amount about the region, the people, and the needs for conservation and development. After several years designing projects for ACA, I made a move to another organization, but I missed the dynamism and innovation of the Board and staff at ACA. I was fortunate to be invited to join the board and have since served as its secretary, surrounded by some of the smartest, most inventive and driven people I've met. ACA is an amazing organization that grows professionals, champions communities, and trains students and researchers in Peru, Bolivia, and the US who continue their conservation work no matter where they go next!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012

I interned with ACA at Wayqecha Biological Station for one year. It was an amazing experience to work with such a progressive group of people committed to approaching conservation from every angle possible.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 8, 2011

more

July 8, 2011

I interned with the Amazon Conservation Association for four months in the the spring of 2011. It was very nice to be a part of an organization that was well-run and efficient. The staff is wonderful, all very passionate about the work they're doing. While I was only able to intern three days a week, I was still glad to assist the organization in a small way and their overall mission in protecting the Amazon Basin in Peru and Bolivia.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

assisting them with grant research, grant proposal writing, translations, writing newsletters, and the organization of finance forms.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

encourage better communication between the research stations in Bolivia and Peru and the DC office, especially in regards to grant proposal deadlines.

March 25, 2011

more

March 25, 2011

I have volunteered at ACA for about two months and I only have positive things to say about the staff and their mission to protect the Amazon rainforest. They are passionate and dedicated to the projects they undertake and the contribute tremendously to ACA. I am glad I have had the chance to aid this association with their IT needs.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

As an IT intern and having worked with the IT systems, I was impressed by organization of the office and the willingness of the staff to work different IT problems and tasks.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

There are really no changes I would make.

March 10, 2011

more

March 10, 2011

A year and a half ago, my wife and I had the extreme pleasure of accompanying the president Adrian Forsyth and several staff members on a trip down the eastern slope of the Peruvian Andes to visit ACA's research facilities and meet an indigenous community that has benefited from ACA's work. The entire experience was profound. ACA's research stations were filled with students studying various aspects of the cloud forest and rain forest. The staff managing the facilities were smart, personable and very friendly. Each evening students gave presentations on their work. The whole atmosphere was exciting and filled with creativity. But the most powerful experience was visiting a local community that ACA helped to establish the world's first conservation concession managed by the community itself. We sat amongst the community, hearing stories and their traditional songs. They expressed the importance of the concession which has allowed them to maintain their livelihood in the face of developmental pressures. We returned from the trip inspired to help ACA further their work. Now I'm fortunate to serve on the board. The issues are huge but the organization has talented hard working committed people who have a track record of achieving results.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

by seeing first hand the vitality of the research facilities and meeting an indigenous community that has directly benefited from ACA's support

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

ACA has delivered extensive results while operating on a shoestring budget. The organization needed additional leadership to broaden its reach and tackle some big issues so it's very exciting that ACA just hired an executive director. He has a wealth of experience and talent. ACA is now poised to deliver large returns on any conservation investment.

March 9, 2011

more

March 9, 2011

I volunteered with ACA in the DC office for most of 2010 and got to know the staff and their projects well over the course of that time. ACA is an organization dedicated to the protection of the biodiversity of the Amazon Basin. They understand that there are people whose livelihoods depend on the Amazon and that it is important to work with those local communities and stakeholders to develop sustainable practices that protect not just the Amazon but also the welfare of the communities. The staff are all incredibly hard working and dedicated to the mission.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

everything I learned while volunteering with them. I hope to have the chance to travel to Peru soon to see the results of their conservation efforts in person.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase the staff size. They do an amazing amount given how few staff there are... I can only imagine how much more they would accomplish with additional employees. They make excellent use of volunteers and interns, but more permanent staff would be a huge asset to them.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers