Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
36 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
October 11, 2013

more

October 11, 2013

ACCA has dedicated and passionate volunteers, staff and leaders working on providing long-term conservation zones in the Amazon region. They are currently working in Peru and Bolivia, creating a strong presence in the southern Amazon region based on mutual respect and openness. My research team visited the ACCA biological stations in Madre de Dios during our research collection period and we found the facilities and staff to be excellent. We are currently moving forward with more formal collaborations with ACCA and I would not hesitate to recommend them as collaborators for any institution working in the Amazon.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 8, 2013

more

October 8, 2013

Amazon Conservation Association is one of the best groups of its kind out there. I had the opportunity to visit their research stations in the Amazon basin of Peru, and I've also met their Washington, DC staff. They are a super professional group of people dedicated to getting great results on the ground where it counts. I work in the conservation and environmental fields, and many nonprofits have become too self-serving. Not ACA. They keep their eyes focused on the mission. The vast majority of funds are used to develop research programs, ecotourism, and sustainable economic alternatives for local communities in the Amazon, where there is tremendous pressure from unregulated and illegal logging and mining.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase their capacity! ACA already does a great deal with the resources they have. But the demand for more economic alternatives to stem the forest loss and destruction from illegal and unregulated activities like mining and logging is huge. In fact, if I could, I would replicate ACA's model ten times over in the Amazon basin, and then replicate it elsewhere in the developing world, including here in in the U.S.!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

I have had the opportunity to collaborate with ACA in their DC office as well as in the field in Peru. The small, but efficient group in DC felt like a family. They have excellent communication in their teamwork and have created a warm, welcoming environment.
In Peru, I was able to work on the
projects I had been translating proposals for in DC. These projects, in addition to accomplishing ACA’s objective of preserving the biodiversity in the Amazon basin, have a very big educational component. This is really important in the process of critical consciousness for local and native communities, from kids to adults. The generation of close ties between ACA and communities shows that not only is the work of researchers, interns and volunteers important for nature preservation, but so is the work of these people.
This has been one of the most enriching experiences I have had, not only because of the quality of work but also the quality of people. ACA is an organization where each individual worker, from labors to executives, has a commitment to nature conservation. I’m a Peruvian biologist, and having ACA working in my country gives me great expectations to have the Amazon basin that we want, well preserved!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

I have worked with ACA both in the field as a volunteer and in the office as an intern. This has given me a good perspective on their work and allows me to say without reservation that ACA is an exceptional organization. Both the staff in the office and on the ground are extremely capable and committed to their work, often putting in long hours to make sure all their various projects are running smoothly. Though small, ACA is extremely efficient and makes better use of their resources than other, larger organizations can. I hope to work with them again soon and wouldn't hesitate to recommend them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 9, 2012

I attended some of the events that the Amazon Conservation Association held while I was living in Washington, DC and got to know some of the staff as well. As I learned more about their programs in the Amazon region, I was more and more impressed that a relatively small organization could do so much. I appreciate the hard-working staff and the thought and intention they put into all their work. I don't have a ton of money to give, but I give a little something to ACA every month because I know they'll take it and make every buck go toward the great work that they do.

More feedback...

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
November 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have worked with and for ACA in multiple contexts since 2003 as a volunteer field researcher, employee, advisor, and donor. My work and experience with ACA has changed my life and has allowed me to help efforts to create significant and long-lasting conservation initiatives in the Peruvian Amazon. Sleek, efficient, and intricately involved in conservation at all scales and levels in the Southwestern Amazon, ACA is, in my professional opinion, the most effective conservation organization operating in the region today.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
November 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I chose to volunteer for ACA because it works at the ground level with local organizations that can move quickly and effectively. ACA is the best organization that I have worked with in my 40 years in conservation including my time as Secretary of the Interior.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
November 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I worked for a semester with Amazon Conservation Association on expanding their ecotourism outreach efforts. This project and the other work ACA does to protect vital areas of land in the Peruvian Amazon should be supported fully!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
November 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I am a 4th year PhD student pursuing a degree examining the bamboo forests of SW Amazonia, and ACA has been an integral part of my research from the very beginning. Their infrastructural support in the lowland forests of Peru has been home to many months of my research. Additionally, their constant pursuit of knowledge not only keeps them on the forefront of ecological understanding, but offers students such as myself funding opportunities and the ability to contribute to the preservation of one of the most precious resources on our planet. I owe them a great debt of gratitude and hope that I can continue to work closely with them throughout my future endeavors.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

I volunteered with ACA in their Washington DC office during my sophomore year of college. It was my first personal experience with a non-profit organization and man did they set the bar high! I was constantly impressed by the dedication, passion and talent of everyone in the office. ACA does not have an easy task, but they never faltered. WONDERFUL organization that will always have my full support. Fantastic goals and wonderful people. Such an important organization. GO ACA!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers