Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
36 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I worked at CICRA biological station, run by ACA, for my Master's Degree. It was an amazing place to work and I am happy that my station fees went to such a great organization. I have also spent time at Wayquecha station and it's really unique that ACA runs a number of biological stations in diverse areas, over elevational gradients. ACA has been working hard to promote environmental education and conservation in southwestern Peru and have a done a great job.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I recommend ACA to stay focused on supporting scientific research, which is what sets them aside from so many other similar non-profits and biological stations in the Amazon. Don't give up science for tourism only!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

In 2011 and 2012 I led "birdathons" to southeast Peru to raise funds for ACA. Both events were a smashing success. We raised much needed funds for the organization while gaining first hand knowledge of the critically important work ACA is doing to protect the world's most biodiverse forests. It was a life-changing experience for everyone.

It has been a privilege to work with ACA staff. They are smart, dedicated and highly effective. Their level of conservation accomplishment in southeast Peru is nothing short of remarkable.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Add staff to expand conservation capacity.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I worked as a research assistant at one of ACA's biological stations for several months in 2012. The biological station is kept in very good condition and the location was convenient for accessing our data collection locations. Additionally, the station is located in one of the most beautiful places in the world. It would have been very difficult for us to accomplish our objectives if we had not been able to access the facilities provided by ACA. Really, this place is a researcher's paradise: excellent location and an excellent biological station.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

try to preserve the biological/physical research aspects that the nonprofit seeks to promote.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Volunteering and interning in the DC office in fall 2013, I experienced the dedication of the organization as a whole to the many different projects promoting conservation in the headwaters of the Amazon basin. The impact of ACA crosses national borders and supports research, protects habitats, and advocates sustainable resource management for communities in Peru and Bolivia. ACA's efforts are ensuring that crucial biodiversity is preserved, and that the species of the Amazon have protected areas to migrate toward as climate and human impacts change the environment. This honorable vision and ambitious undertaking makes volunteering for ACA a valuable experience while the passion of the staff and board demonstrates a deep commitment to this mission. ACA constitutes a great nonprofit supported by a driven group of individuals who understand the invaluable resource of the Amazon and work daily to protect it.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

increase the staff size! I was amazed by the variety of tasks and projects undertaken by the small office in DC.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

I worked as an intern for ACA in the summer of 2013. Their amazing dedication and passion for conserving the Amazon is apparent in every one of their endeavors. The ACA staff shows a commitment to excellence that is unparalleled. As an intern I learned a great deal about nonprofit communications and marketing, and the staff were incredibly helpful and willing to share their vast knowledge and experience with me. ACA's support helped me to build confidence in my own skills and inspired in me a passion for conservation.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

I worked for the Amazon Conservation Association in their DC office from 2011-2013, in addition to volunteering in 2010. I can wholeheartedly endorse the work that ACA does, the lives that ACA affects, and the experts that ACA employs. A truly holistic approach to addressing environmental concerns in the most critical landscape on Earth - the Andes/Amazon - with a reliable, continuous field presence through their biological stations. ACA is a lean, efficient organization doing real fieldwork with tangible results, and I'm looking forward to seeing what they will accomplish in the future.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

ACCA does amazing work at so many levels, from scientific research to education, sustainable agriculture, ecotourism and advocacy for the conservation of Amazon biodiversity. I have been at Wayqecha and Villa Carmen and they are great field stations that offer unmatched opportunities for field research.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

I have worked with ACCA in their office in Puerto Maldonado, Peru on research since 2011 as part of an academic research team. The staff in that office are friendly, knowledgeable and always go out of their way to be helpful. I have interacted with the DC staff on a number of occasions - I continue to be impressed by their ability to do so much great work being such a small group. Our research team has visited their beautiful research stations in the Amazon with students - the infrastructure and staff at the stations has always exceeded our expectations and made our stays there extremely enjoyable and comfortable. ACA/ACCA has been integral in my work in Peru, and I would highly recommend working with them if you are a conservation or environmental health researcher seeking collaboration with an NGO. They are professional, organized, extremely passionate about their work, and are simply wonderful people to work with!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

Amazon Conservation Association (ACA) has been invaluable in my work in the Peruvian Amazon. Having worked with ACA on several conservation science projects in the last three years, I can say without question the work they are doing in Peru is incredibly important. I personally have benefited from their deep knowledge of the region, as well as their interest in collaboration and their support of my scientific research. There is no question in my mind that without the help of ACA, the quality of my research and its impacts would be much lower. In summary, I strongly recommend people support ACA's efforts in the Amazon on behalf of people and nature.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

N/A

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 11, 2013

more

October 11, 2013

This is an amazing research station in the Amazon rainforest. Researchers and students benefit greatly.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers