Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
42 Reviews
1234.833335
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Amazon Cares is the only hope that domestic and even some wild animals have in the area. It is through the efforts of this great organization that animal welfare is being taught to the locals and they learn the importance of spay and neutering, vaccinations, anti-cruelty initiatives, adoptions, and that Amazon Cares is there to help with the health needs of their animals. By running spay and neuter clinics they are helping to curb the numbers of homeless animals and ensure they are vaccinated and healthy. Amazon Cares is the only animal welfare organization in the region and is essential to the community.
May 2, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

May 2, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I have travelled to Peru and know firsthand of the issues regarding street dogs. When I discovered Amazon CARES through a friend, Manuela, and learned of their tremendous efforts and hard work on such a small budget, I was amazed! The people are truly dedicated and committed to the work they do.

I am not new to non-profits and grass-roots community organizations, having worked in high poverty communities since 1975. I am also the former Executive Director for Cuidando Los NiƱos, a 501(c) (3) dedicated to ending child homelessness in New Mexico, USA. I explain my experiences so as to give credence to my review of Amazon CARES' work.

I am so impressed with this organization that I have asked to join their board of directors.

Kudos to Molly, Manuela and everyone involved in Amazon CARES!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Amazon CARES is doing wonderful work in Peru.
Their dedication and efforts have gone a long way and it shows with every animal they rescue and every person they reach out to and educate about animal welfare.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 1, 2012

I think what this group is doing is wonderful!! I can't actually be there so I know my donations will be helping those that are!! more

April 5, 2013

This is an amazing non-profit!! They spread their compassion despite the difficult working conditions.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I think what this group is doing is wonderful!! I can't actually be there so I know my donations will be helping those that are!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 28, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
April 5, 2013

I have nothing but respect for Amazon Cares. First these people are not paid- they should be - but are not and when a doctor goes to help, that doctor is volunteering. Volunteers of all types are adm... more

June 28, 2014

There were no humane societies for pets in the Amazon region of Peru until ten years ago when a visitor decided she had seen enough of sick, hungry and injured street dogs walking the streets and decided to do something about it. After a decade this is still one of the most altruistic and efficient charities with nearly 1 dollar of every 1 dollar going to help pets in need. By any measure of wise gift-giving, Amazon Cares is a charity worth considering and a donation to AC will make an amazing gift to that pet lover on your list who does not need another cat laser!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have nothing but respect for Amazon Cares. First these people are not paid- they should be - but are not and when a doctor goes to help, that doctor is volunteering. Volunteers of all types are admirable, but a doctor taking leave of such a lucrative career to volunteer? I have trouble finding the words!

Second, the executives are not paid and these are often highly skilled and educated professionals doing what they do out of love- nothing more. And they work very hard.

One may say this is an impoverished area where AC is operating so attention should focus on people rather than pets. Seems reasonable, but pets HELP people! A downs syndrome affected girl made enormous progress through a dog received through Amazon Cares. Researchers working with AC also helped discover a kidney parasite further showing helping people or animals is not an either/or choice. And once I think these people have impressed me, they end up EXCEEDING my expectations. Amazon Cares is an incredible group and a wise choice for animal lovers and as for a donation in honor of those who care!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 1, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Where Amazon Cares serves, there is nothing similar. AC helps those domestic animals that were once written off as beyond help. The organization marries the best of idealism with action and has won over some extremely talented volunteers believing in and helping with its mission. I can not recommend this group strongly enough for an animal lover!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 2, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

November 2, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I am both a "client served" and a donor. I first discovered Amazon CARES when I was visiting my sister in Iquitos, Peru. We are from the United States, but she was there for 3 years working on Malaria research for her pH D. I am a huge animal lover and was absolutely shocked at the condition of many of the animals living in the streets of Iquitos. After enjoying lunch at a local restaurant we stepped outside to find a pathetic creature on the sidewalk. It was a tiny, mangy, starving, shivering little cat. I think this was the last straw for me and I burst into tears right then and there. That convinced my sister that we must do something for this little cat, but she insisted that I not pick it up because of the mange. We ran home and fetched a towel and relocated the cat (he didn't get far). We easily captured the immobile being and brought him to the Amazon CARES clinic. The wonderful volunteers at the clinic quickly fixed him up for us and we brought him home. He soon became a beautiful, healthy cat of at least twice his original size that we named Pepito. He was adopted by a friend of my sister's. So this is the story of how Amazon CARES touched my life and the life of a little cat who wouldn't have survived otherwise. I have been a donor ever since.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

November 1, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 1, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I have been supporting Amazon Cares for years because I love animals and it provides a unique opportunity to do some good in an area of the world that can use a lot of good! I have watched the charity grow over the years and do more and more even in the face of adversity. A superb opportunity to help both the animals and people of Iquitos and the Amazon region!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Promote Amazon CARES across personal social media channels Volunteer