Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
27 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
September 18, 2013

more

September 18, 2013

It is a pleasure to be able to become a part of such a great charity helping the street dogs and cats of Iquitos, Peru through education and spay neuter programs.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 2, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

May 2, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I have travelled to Peru and know firsthand of the issues regarding street dogs. When I discovered Amazon CARES through a friend, Manuela, and learned of their tremendous efforts and hard work on such a small budget, I was amazed! The people are truly dedicated and committed to the work they do.

I am not new to non-profits and grass-roots community organizations, having worked in high poverty communities since 1975. I am also the former Executive Director for Cuidando Los NiƱos, a 501(c) (3) dedicated to ending child homelessness in New Mexico, USA. I explain my experiences so as to give credence to my review of Amazon CARES' work.

I am so impressed with this organization that I have asked to join their board of directors.

Kudos to Molly, Manuela and everyone involved in Amazon CARES!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I met Molly the creator of Amazon Cares several years ago at BlogPaws - a Social Media Conference for pet people and since then have been following her story. Amazon Cares reaches communities that have little access to any sort of veterinary care to help keep their animals healthy. They literally work in the Amazon to treat sick and injured animals in whatever ways they possibly can.

Molly works tirelessly to ensure she can help those who would otherwise be overlooked.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Amazon CARES is doing wonderful work in Peru.
Their dedication and efforts have gone a long way and it shows with every animal they rescue and every person they reach out to and educate about animal welfare.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have followed the work of Amazon Cares for several years. I began to follow them because of the great information provided through their twitter feed. I followed their blog because I have been to Lima, Peru and I saw the great need of help that animals need in the country. I believe that there is true love and vocation in everyone that participates in this organization. Amazon Cares makes a huge difference for the non human animals in Peru and also sets a great example for other organizations to follow.
Thank you for all you do Amazon Cares

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

5 Stars or "Far Exceeds" to me indicates someone who has made a dedication to something they felt so compelled to accomplish they completely changed their life. Amazon CARES is that group. Why would anyone leave the luxury of their comfortable surroundings to help stray, disease ridden animals in the middle of "nowhere". What we change - changes us and I am proud to know Molly of Amazon CARES and how her dedication has changed a region of the world for better ... bringing awareness of a Humane society into the Light of the Amazon.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 31, 2012

I went to Iquitos, Peru as part of a group of volunteers from the veterinary hospital where I work. We worked side by side for 2 weeks with the Amazon Cares staff. They were very welcoming and fun to... more

April 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

In June of 2011 I went on the trip of a life time. I joined 4 others and we volunteered in Peru with Amazon Cares. Amazon Cares is an amazing group of people who do amazing things. We worked hard but we enjoyed every minute of it. We spent our very busy days doing spays and neuters on dogs and cats, treated them for parasites and gave some medical care. We also distributed important antiparasite medication to people in the remote villages. They educate the children about appropriate treatment of animals and fights for legislation to protect them. Amazon Cares does very important work in Peru. I think they are a great group of very dedicated people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I went to Iquitos, Peru as part of a group of volunteers from the veterinary hospital where I work. We worked side by side for 2 weeks with the Amazon Cares staff. They were very welcoming and fun to work with. I was so impressed by the things they were able to do with their limited funds and supplies. We were there to help with the spay/neuter portion of what they do but they do so much more. They educate the people, especially the children of the area on humane treatment of all animals and they fight for legal changes to protect the animals. They care about the animals and people of the area and strive to make things better for both. This was the most amazing experience I have ever had and I walked away feeling and knowing that we had done something good. It has been over a year since my trip and I still talk about it as if it were yesterday. I hope to someday be able to return and do it all again.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I volunteered for AMAZON CARES in 2011. They are doing amazing work helping not only animals that have been abandoned on the street but also working with the related issue of community health. Operating a Not for Profit organisation in Iquitos is not easy, but Molly and her team have really made amazing progress and continue to work where no one else dares. Keep up the good work!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 5, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 1, 2012

I think what this group is doing is wonderful!! I can't actually be there so I know my donations will be helping those that are!! more

April 5, 2013

This is an amazing non-profit!! They spread their compassion despite the difficult working conditions.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I think what this group is doing is wonderful!! I can't actually be there so I know my donations will be helping those that are!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 1, 2012

Where Amazon Cares serves, there is nothing similar. AC helps those domestic animals that were once written off as beyond help. The organization marries the best of idealism with action and has won ov... more

April 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have nothing but respect for Amazon Cares. First these people are not paid- they should be - but are not and when a doctor goes to help, that doctor is volunteering. Volunteers of all types are admirable, but a doctor taking leave of such a lucrative career to volunteer? I have trouble finding the words!

Second, the executives are not paid and these are often highly skilled and educated professionals doing what they do out of love- nothing more. And they work very hard.

One may say this is an impoverished area where AC is operating so attention should focus on people rather than pets. Seems reasonable, but pets HELP people! A downs syndrome affected girl made enormous progress through a dog received through Amazon Cares. Researchers working with AC also helped discover a kidney parasite further showing helping people or animals is not an either/or choice. And once I think these people have impressed me, they end up EXCEEDING my expectations. Amazon Cares is an incredible group and a wise choice for animal lovers and as for a donation in honor of those who care!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 1, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Where Amazon Cares serves, there is nothing similar. AC helps those domestic animals that were once written off as beyond help. The organization marries the best of idealism with action and has won over some extremely talented volunteers believing in and helping with its mission. I can not recommend this group strongly enough for an animal lover!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Create a Donor Profile from high level donors for use on our website, interact with like-minded organizations through blog comments, post photos to Flickr. Volunteer