Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
42 Reviews
1234.833335
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
May 26, 2014

more

May 26, 2014

I think this says it all...especially in a place like Amazonian rainforest where there's been such human conflict. For this many animals to have received this much care shows the true nature of the people in Iquitos and other areas. They deserve every bit of help they can get:

31,000
animals treated.
22,000 humans given anti-parasite medications
470+ adoptions
625+ volunteers donated time and services.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give more of myself.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

Amazon Cares has a great sense of commitment with dogs and cats which are living in Iquitos - Peru. They have affordable services to maintain our pets in a healthy state and also offer several free campaigns for those with less economic resources. What is more, they have a shelter for those dogs and cats which are ready for adoption. Thanks Amazon Cares!
October 21, 2014

more

October 21, 2014

Amazon Cares 2009
My first 'big' trip with WVS was to Peru working as part off a 5 vet / 5 nurse team, working in Iquitos and Caballo Cocha. What a fantastic experience it was..Amazon Cares is a formidable charity serving a big, mainly dog population with great expertise and professionalism and
a huge love of the animals and people of Peru. Cases of mange and tvt were horrendous but often treatable so those dogs were the lucky ones, along with all the others we treated. We operated in a variety of interesting venues....Belen market with its watchful vultures and confiscated pigs, a school classroom with hoards of interested children looking on, a slightly suspect village close to the Columbian border, a mud hut in a small rural community, and the front garden of somebody's house! A great buzz was travelling to and from work by boat along a tributary of the Amazon, seeing the colourful and varied river life, and the most colourful sunsets. The experience was truly amazing and one I'll never forget.
October 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Volunteering at Amazon CARES was an amazing experience. As a Vet Nurse from Australia, I was challenged beyond the skills I had learnt from the school I gained my certificate. There was no modern tools or machines that I tended to rely on back home but what it gave me was an ability to be more confident in my work, to adapt and think "outside of the box". I was so blessed with the love and unlimited source of compassion these people had for the animals of Iquitos. The organisation is the only source for the hope of many destitute animals that would otherwise spend miserable lives on the streets. They not only desex the street dogs but help and are successful in abuse cases and also have educated the locals to understand that animals are important, that they need love and care and medical attention. I must admit the bonus of the whole time was meeting my own "Tarzan" from the jungle which we spent all the time we could together which led me to extend my stay.
October 10, 2014

more


1 previous review
September 18, 2013

It is a pleasure to be able to become a part of such a great charity helping the street dogs and cats of Iquitos, Peru through education and spay neuter programs. more

October 10, 2014

Volunteering with Amazon Cares in Iquitos, Peru was such a wonderful experience! I was able to witness first hand the great things they are accomplishing.

They are making great strides in keeping the population of stray dogs and cats down with they're spay/neuter campaigns, no-kill
shelter and raising awareness and education of children on the importance of treating animals with respect and care.









More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 18, 2013

It is a pleasure to be able to become a part of such a great charity helping the street dogs and cats of Iquitos, Peru through education and spay neuter programs.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Amazon Cares is the only hope that domestic and even some wild animals have in the area. It is through the efforts of this great organization that animal welfare is being taught to the locals and they learn the importance of spay and neutering, vaccinations, anti-cruelty initiatives, adoptions, and that Amazon Cares is there to help with the health needs of their animals. By running spay and neuter clinics they are helping to curb the numbers of homeless animals and ensure they are vaccinated and healthy. Amazon Cares is the only animal welfare organization in the region and is essential to the community.
October 3, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 3, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

In the poorest parts of Peru, I assisted Amazon Cares provide care to pets and street dogs and cats. They were spayed, castrated and dewormed as well as receiving a flea treatment. In addition, collection of samples of blood, feces and parasites assisted the public health department in their research. The education of the people about sterilization and humane treatment of animals was also key. I am proud to have volunteered and made a difference.
October 1, 2014

more

October 1, 2014

Amazon Community Animal Rescue, Education & Safety started in a vaccum in 2004. After 10 years of dedicated service to the Amazon's poorest regions, people are now adopting former street dogs, and spaying and neutering their pets. Through it all, Amazon CARES has remained true to their no kill philosophy. Additionally, the education component makes a lasting difference. Veterinary volunteers come to Peru from all over the world to assist in remote clinics throughout the Amazon. Additionally, the charity operates a low cost clinic in the city of Iquitos.

September 30, 2014

more

September 30, 2014

Gracias a la organizaciòn Amazon CARES, los animales en Iquitos Perù tienen a un aliado. Amazon CARES no solo ayuda a esterilizar a los animales, tambien tienen campañas de educaiciòn para todas las edades enfocadas en el cuidado de mascotas y la importancia de evitar la crueldad animal a todo costo. Gracias a Amazon CARES por existir y exhorto a cualquier otro voluntario-a que haya tenido contacto con Amazon CARES que dejen un mensaje! Un millòn de gracias por haber sido parte de esta tan noble organizaciòn... mj
June 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Fui veterinaria voluntaria para dos campañas de Amazon Cares, que es una organización que esta logrando grandes cambios para los animales en Iquitos. Definitivamente fue una gran experiencia muy satisfactoria estar ahí con todas las personas que lo conforman. Organizaciones como esta son tan necesarias en lugares como Iquitos, donde el maltrato y abandono de animales se volvió algo tan común que provocaba la indiferencia de la gente. El trabajo que realizan es un ejemplo de la entrega y la constancia de personas como Molly, quien fundo esta ONG, que demuestra que cuando se hacen las cosas de corazón, se dan buenos frutos.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Promote Amazon CARES across personal social media channels