Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
31 Reviews
1234.741945
Write A Review
June 25, 2012

more

June 25, 2012

Amanda the Panda, the staff, clients and fellow volunteer's are second to none. We feel that we are part of the organization. True friendships and bonds have been made with everyone we've had the opportunity to serve or volunteer with. When we volunteer with Amanda the Panda we always feel that in someway shape or form we are making a difference. This organization is very well run with only a staff of 3. Every time we volunteer we never feel frustrated or that our time wasn't used to wisely. It is not uncommon to be greeted with a hug. The best feeling is to be recognized and given a hug by a client that recognizes you away from Amanda the Panda

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 6, 2012

more

June 6, 2012

I have enjoyed all the time that I have spent with Amanda the Panda. I went into my volunteer experience wanting to help others who have had a death in their family because I knew the impact that death had on the lives of others. During the time I spent with Amanda the Panda I began to open up and share my own story and feelings about the death of my loved one. The death of my loved one was not something I had every talked about, and at first I didn't talk about it. I learned through the various activities that I had participated in that my experience allowed others to be open and honest about how they felt as well. During one activity there was a child that did not want to share about their emotions during the loss of their loved ones, and when I shared that I was angry at the time that child was able to open up. The remaining sessions we spent together the child was more open and willing to share. The friendships you make with the staff, volunteers, and families impacted by Amanda the Panda are amazing. The staff at Amanda the Panda go above and beyond every day to make all the people they meet feel welcomed and special.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 6, 2012

more


1 previous review
February 7, 2011

About three years ago a friend, who used Amanda the Panda's (ATP) services when she was a child, knew of my experience volunteering for a summer camp for chronically ill children and said I should get... more

June 6, 2012

Once you truly understand the purpose of Amanda the Panda you will ask yourself. "Why hadn't I been involved sooner?" I know this because I have heard numerous volunteers say it and I had thought the same. After being involved with support groups and weekend camps, I saw up close and personal what the power of grief counseling can do for those who suffer with the loss of a loved one. The toll that death takes on everyone is different, but resources offered by Amanda the Panda can have life changing affects in individuals and their families. If you or a someone close to you has loss someone recently please check out, http://www.amandathepanda.org.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 7, 2011

About three years ago a friend, who used Amanda the Panda's (ATP) services when she was a child, knew of my experience volunteering for a summer camp for chronically ill children and said I should get involved with ATP. I have since had the opportunity to participate and support numerous events and engage families who have experienced the death of someone close to them. Our services are designed to support the needs of everyone in the family/household (like we say, we are here for those from ages 6-96) and provides hope and healing for those most impacted by the loss.

I have enjoyed every aspect of my volunteer experience and continually gain motivation from the amazing volunteers/staff to the family members we serve. My experiences range from helping with the remodeling of the office, to wrapping and delivering Cheer Boxes during the holiday, to serving as a Camp Amanda counselor. The power of our mission excites me daily and I know that with the right people, right motivation and right resources we can/will achieve great things and continue to provide amazing services to support hundreds of families who are going through a healing process. We are thankful for all our supporters, donors and volunteers, and hope you will check out our web-site to find out more about what we do in the community.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the stories I hear from staff and families. Whether we are sharing at Camp, in support groups or at a family fun day event, our impact grows daily as new friends are added to our "family" and they in turn become our biggest allies.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

increase the awareness of our services and the need to understand how to appropriately support someone when they have expereinced a death.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

How did you learn about this organization?

A friend who used their services as a young child.

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

Getting the right people aligned with the right programs, work smart and hard, not just hard. Our volunteer support is amazing, now we want to make sure we have Board members that are matching all of our needs to grow the number and quality of our programs.

What is its top priority in the long run?

Ensure the consistency and qaulity of our programs and if growth happens and we can be a part of more families lives, fantastic.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 5, 2012

more

June 5, 2012

I have worked with Amanda Cares for over twelve years and am a financial contributor to the organization also. The prior Executive Director (and founder) had a huge passion for what she did, running Amanda the Panda for approximately 25 years. The current Executive Director (Charlie) has as much passion as the prior. Charlie is a cheerful and bubbly person who listens and is compassionate for the families who have lost a loved one. The other staff are exciting individuals with a simlar passion for what they do also. Death is one of the hardest things for people to live with and knowing others are grieving and listening helps the individuals work through the loss. They realize their feelings are not abnormal. Amanda the Panda assists with allowing the families to grieve openly, knowing there will not be any ridicule, and support groups allow the families to talk and live their life, sharing their experiences. Each person grieves their own way and Amanda the Panda helps them with the process.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 4, 2012

more

June 4, 2012

Amanda the Panda helps grieving children communicate their feelings and gain an understanding of the grieving process, empowering them with a sense of hope and healing. All of Amanda the Panda's services are provided at no cost to the families. When bereavement support is available, grieving children are 20 times less likely to develop behavior disorders, 10 times less likely to develop substance abuse issues, and 5 times less likely to commit suicide. This vital grief support makes a lasting and life altering positive impact on the children and families of Iowa, allowing more children to return to the mainstream of their lives with the coping tools they need.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 3, 2012

more

June 3, 2012

Amanda Cares is a wonderful organization that helps grieving families at no cost to those they help. This is an organization that would benefit every community.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 1, 2012

more

June 1, 2012

Amanda The Panda has delivered wonderful Holiday Baskets to HCI bereaved clients for the past 2 years. The baskets have been a blessing in what may have been otherwise a very slim to non exisitent holiday celebration after the detah of a loved family member. Kudos to ATP, Charlie, and the other awesome women who make ATP click!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

feedback from the bereaved

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

How did you find this group?

Our VP of Family Care is on their Board

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

Made more grief resources available to the bereaved

June 1, 2012

more

June 1, 2012

I have known two families who were served by Amanda the Panda following a death in their families. The support and thoughtful gift boxes at Christmas time made a huge difference in their lives and helped make what was sure to be a tough holiday much more meaningful. Amanda the Panda is such a unique organization because it serves people in need emotionally during a time of grief. What is so inspirational is that it really does help people - both children and adults - grieve well and to have an outlet for sharing their feelings and emotions with others who understand what they are going through.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

May 31, 2012

more

May 31, 2012

This is a great non-profit that works hard to help children and families through their process of grief. It seems like every time I tell someone I volunteer for Amanda the Panda, they tell me how the organization has helped them or someone they know. The loss of a loved one is a difficult experience to deal with on your own, and Amanda the Panda has perfected their process of helping people cope.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 31, 2012

more

May 31, 2012

Amanda the Panda provides a great resource in supporting those in need and bringing smile to many faces.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers