Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
13 Reviews
1234.538465
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
August 24, 2012

more

August 24, 2012

After a lifetime of living in New England my husband and I relocated to Baton rouge for his work. I left behind a career in elder services to make this move and have wanted to connect with an agency to continue to be of service to elders and their families. Of all the agencies I explored, Alzheimer's Services of the Capital Area does their work with much heart and sincere attention to the families' needs. It seems to me that from the first staff person encountered at the front door or the first difficult to make phone call the family member is greeted with respect and full attention. Charlie's Place is an adult day social program for respite care they have developed to be a wonderful atmosphere for folks with dementia. So much thought and care has gone into this program it is a salvation to many families using it. As a volunteer I aspire to be as welcoming and helpful as I can be to help Alzheimer's Services achieve their agency goals.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Spending brief but meaningful time with some folks from the Adult day program, Charlie's Place, had conversations with some people who have come to the Sharing the Journey talks.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Not take so long to contact me about volunteering.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Learning to use the data base was new for me.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

I always feel I am welcome and important to the agency.

August 20, 2012

more

August 20, 2012

Exceptional delivery of resources to the community.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 17, 2012

more

August 17, 2012

I volunteered this year for Alzheimer's Services of the Capitol Area. I wanted to be of service to someone and I saw an article about them speaking at a Rotary meeting in my town. It brought back memories of my grandfather who had suffered and passed away from Alzheimers many years ago. I remember my grandmother always saying that the medical people would find a cure. She said it all the time and kept the faith till the end. That was 30 years ago!!! No cure has been found and the the number of Alzheimer's patients is growing and growing. I wish we would have had a Charlie's Place for my grandfather to attend and give my grandmother very much needed rest. Also, all the resources this organization provides is invaluable especially when one is reeling from the diagnosis and doesn't know where to turn. The staff is very knowledgable and above all so caring! I enjoyed my time there last Spring and I am returning this Fall to help with their Walk/Run to Remember and other tasks as needed. They are a great organization! They are making a difference to so many people!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 10, 2012

more

August 10, 2012

After I retired, Charlie Valluzzo asked if I would be interested in volunteering at Alzheimer’s Services. I knew little about Alzheimer’s, since no family members or friends had this dreaded disease. But, it didn’t take long to realize that I was going to be a long-time volunteer when I saw how Alzheimer’s affected families, and the caring and commitment of the staff. I have been the “Volunteer Coordinator” for Alzheimer’s Walk/Run for the past ten years, and this entails enlisting approximately 200 volunteers each year. I have thoroughly enjoyed meeting so many wonderful people, as well as helping to promote awareness of Alzheimer’s Services.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 13, 2012

more

July 13, 2012

I have a family member with Alzheimers. I come to the informational meetings at lunch time once a month, to get more information and support. What I've learned gives me ideas how to help her and reminds me that I'm not alone.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Some

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 13, 2012

more

June 13, 2012

The compassion and understanding of the disease shown by the staff of Alz Ser make them the best in the Country at serving their clients.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 6, 2012

more

June 6, 2012

I have been active with Alzheimer's Services since 1993. The growth in services over the years has been phenomenal. The number of people touched, and the variety of ways that victims, caregivers and others are helped, are extraordinary. Please get involved yourself - there are many ways to participate.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 6, 2012

more

June 6, 2012

I have worked with Alzheimer’s Services since 1999. The growth has been a testament of how important our work is to the Capital Area. Our Organization’s mission is Teaching, Caring and Connecting. No one person or family should face this devastating disease alone. I encourage all those who need our services to please give us a call.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 4, 2012

more

June 4, 2012

Alzheimer's Services serves such a tremendous need for the Baton Rouge area, and their staff executes its mission to perfection. I have been nothing short of continually impressed in being able to observe how this organization responds so adeptly to the needs of the community - one of the true bright spots in the world of non-profits in Baton Rouge.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My review is likely quite different from others. I was asked to serve on the Alzheimers Board primarily to attempt to create more knowledge and interest in the organization from one of our outlying parishes. At the same time, however, I have friends who are caretakers for spouses with the disease, and other friends who are adult children of people with the disease. They clearly wonder what will happen to them as they grow older. Being a baby boomer myself, I understand the absolute need for additional information to get out there about it all. This is basically a situation where we as citizens will need to rely on each other as we battle the onslought of Alzheimers, and together, with pertinent information and expertise, we can make life better for everyone. Our organization is a wonderful conduit to that goal.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers