Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
10 Reviews
12.1345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
February 23, 2013

I am a donor to a chapter of the Alzheimer's Association and am impressed with what they do for suffering families. I agree their national office does need to re-evaluate their email and telephone fundraising policies, but their program staff, the ones with boots on the ground helping families, are incredible, at least in this local chapter. They hold to an 20/80 expense to revenue which is far better than the industry standard. Yes their CEO makes $550,000, his education and years of experience with another non-profit have earned him that, it is actually considerably lower than most non-profit CEOs, St Jude's Children's Hospital's CEO makes $860,000. While it is true that NIH is the leading founder of Alzheimer's research, the Association is the worlds leading non-profit founder of cutting edge research that might not otherwise receive federal funding. As a result, they have been a part of every major breakthrough in Alzheimer's research in the past 30 years. That is why I am, and will remain, a donor and supporter.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 3, 2013

I am a former donor. The amount of unsolicited literature sent, be it free cards, calendars, address labels, etc is overwhelming and bad enough. But their incessant calling on a daily basis under various guises/caller ID's---which I refuse to answer---makes me NEVER want to donate a penny to them again. They did the same thing last year in December and I finally answered the phone to tell them that I would not pledge any money to their association over the phone, that I should be contacted once/year by mail only, in the month of December and only then, would I consider giving again. They obviously didn't listen and don't care. Their constant phone calling borders on harassment. If this is indicative of their core principles and fundraising strategy, they don't deserve contributions.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
November 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been supporting the Alzheimer's Association with annual monetary contributions the past few years. Lately, they have been calling me repeatedly at dinner time soliciting me to mail letters to my friends asking them to contribute to their organization. When I explained to them that my current job, family, and civic responsibilities don't afford me any remaining discretionary time, they would not take my "no" for an answer and said that they would send me a letter writing packet. That's it!! I'm done with this organization. They will get no more contributions from me and I will block their telephone number. Let their CEO, who makes $550,000 a year, mail out letters to his friends and contribute some of his cash to their cause.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

This organization seems more committed to building its own empire than to helping Alzheimer's patients. Only 70 cents out of every dollar raised goes to research or to patient/caregiver programs; the rest goes to administration and fundraising expenses. And it's unconscionable that their CEO, Harry Johns, is paid over $550,000 a year. Not exactly a paragon of sacrifice and altruism.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 28, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
October 28, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

My grandma and I have requested over 10 times to have her removed from the Alzheimer's Association's mailing lists, yet she continues to get mail from them asking for donations on a regular basis. My grandma suffers from dementia herself and often sends money to charities multiple times a week because she can't remember that she already sent them money. Being an organization that is supposed to support people who suffer from dementia, I can't fathom why they would continue to send her multiple mailings, despite being requested to remove her from their list so many times. It is completely disheartening to know that this charity is prowling the same people that they are supposed to be helping and squeezing as much money as they can out of them!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 10, 2011
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
April 10, 2011
3 people found this review helpful

I have regularly contributed to this organization for the past several years through the mail. Recently, I have been receiving calls from them, as evidenced on my caller ID. When I would pick up the telephone, no one would be there. Finally on 03/29/11 when I received another one of their calls, I spoke with Jennifer, who promised to take my telephone number off of their list, which she promised to do. In spite of this promise, the calls still continue. Needless to say, I will no longer contribute to this organization.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Telephone solicitations

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have them cease telephone solicitations and just stick with mail solicitations.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers