Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
7 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
March 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I am a current Master's of Social Work intern at Affordable Living for the Aging. My experience at ALA has been extremely rewarding. The staff at ALA have all been professional, friendly, and inspirational. I am continuously learning new ways in working with older adults, as they are a very unique population. I am grateful that I have been able to work with older adults because it has opened up my eyes on what types of difficulties they face. Additionally, I feel honored to be part of an amazing organization that cares so deeply about their clients. I will definitely miss working with my ALA clients, but know that they are in very good hands!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 7, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
March 7, 2014

ALA is one of those rare nonprofits with operational dexterity, savvy leadership and authentic heart that is making a measurable difference in the lives- and futures- of local families every day.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 20, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
February 20, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I am an MSW intern at Affordable Living for the Aging and it has been an amazing learning experience. I am inspired by the staff here, and how they go over and beyond for every resident. It is a rewarding placement and I enjoy being able to help older adults who have chronic health issues. Being able to provide social services and different activities to keep the residents engaged and involved is a great experience in itself, especially when you can bring a smile to a senior's face.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

It's heartbreaking that we can't house everyone. It would be great if Affordable Living for the Aging is able to get funding year after year so that they can continue growing. This organization does a lot of good and I would like to see them touch more senior's lives.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 18, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
February 18, 2014

I knew I had to do something to increase my income. Thought about options and the one feasible option was sharing my home. Being a senior made me feel vulnerable and afraid of interviewing people and letting in strangers. Then through my volunteer job at Women Helping Women I heard about Alternative Living for the Aging. I called them and felt reassured right away about the help they would give me matching me up with someone who would be compatible in sharing living arrangements. AND if it turned out that the match was not compatible, they would help get the other person out. I was interviewed in my home. Yes, they also checked me out. They saw that I had a nice place and was a nice person. The next thing that happened was that I got a list of 5 people to call and set up interviews. The very last person that I talked to was a man who came over to see my place. I wasn't sure how I'd feel about a man but he came over with his daughter and I could see that they were substantial, good people. So, he moved in with me 10 months ago. We get along fine. He pays me the rent before the due date. He gets along with my cats which was a big deal to me. The few tensions that have come up between us don't last too long. He speaks up, I speak up. Communication is there. I highly recommend Alternative Living For The Aging if you are looking for a place to live or have space to share. I did it for money. Not looking for friendship or companionship but that's been a side bonus.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Do more advertising to get the word out about their services. Aside from finding affordable living for seniors I see hooking people up in this way can serve in ways to lessen isolation and loneliness. AS we get older it becomes harder to get around and even find someone to interact with.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 18, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
February 18, 2014

As a Board member for 7 years, I have seen the organization transition from a homespum non-profit into a nationally recognized provider of affordable living options for low income seniors. As the organization's reach grows, my pride in being involved with this dynamic group of committed staff and other Board menbers grows too.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 11, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
July 11, 2012

The timing couldn't have been better for me. I was living in an apartment that I hated and ALA called me to see if I were still interested in moving in. I went to see the room in the co-op on Spaulding Ave. and haven't regretted it at all. I have met some nice people living there. The neighboor is beautiful and three dinners are served which is included in the rent price. I would recommend this facility to everyone that wants to improve the quality of their life.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 3, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
February 3, 2012

Affordable Livng for the Aging is an amazing organization that I have been interning at since September 2011.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers