Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
40 Reviews
1234.855
| 1 2 3 4 |
Write A Review
November 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I am extremely impressed with the passion and dedication of the board members of this foundation, and with the care they take to be a well-organized and smoothly-running small nonprofit. They have funded critical research for this rare disorder, research that may not have otherwise been possible, and which has already led to a major advance in our understanding of the genetics of this condition. I expect that they will fund future research providing the best chance for more effective treatments, or someday a cure, for AHC. I attended portions of the family meeting in San Franscisco in June 2012, and was struck by how well the presentations and services seemed to match the needs of the families attending. I am very excited to be part of the medical advisory board of the AHCF.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Our daughter had been diagnosed with AHC this year, 2012. It s a scary and disheartening experience to be part of a group of families who deal with an extremely rare disorder. AHCF has been a great hub or information of many kinds. Social media, data, networks of families, research, and fund raising. Our family has only been courageous enough to sample these resources, but we have received a great deal of warmth and welcoming from those we have been in contact with. We find the director to be energetic, and passionate about funding himself out of a job. He is supported by capable people who share his enthusiasm. The organization has a contagious energy, that I know we will catch when we develop our courage to do so.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My niece has AHC. I flew to San Francisco (from Boise, Idaho) to help w/ AHC Annual Convention in June 2012. Any help/volunteering/donating of funds is ALWAYS greatly appreciated as this is a very rare condition.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My son is 19 years old and has ahc. We have been in this fight alone until we found ahc foundation. It is wonderful to be able to talk to when days are hard and ask all the stupid questions which other sometimes laugh or just looked puzzled. We have become more and more involved and would like to have the world know who we are and help with our cause!!! Jenny Renfroe in Roswell, ga

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Great parent support and very informative. Also provided us with medicine when we ran out. There hasn't been a time when i reached to them for something and have not been responded to in an absolutely positive and helpful way.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

AHC is very rare and difficult to diagnose. Families often feel lost and concerned once their kids get diagnosed. AHCF offers support and education to families and patients in a very professional yet friendly way.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been personally involved with the Alternating Hemiplegia of Childhood Foundation Inc. (AHCF) for many years as an active AHC research member with the University of Utah under the guidance of Dr. Kathryn J. Swoboda. AHCF is a small foundation made up of dedicated and committed AHC parents of affected children with this disorder and through their time and dedication with the foundation these parents have brought the AHC world together in the USA and internationally. As a result of the many years of supporting research focused on finding the cause for this disease, we now have a gene responsible for this disorder. AHC affected families rely heavily on AHCF as a source of support and for the latest research updates.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The AHC foundation has provided my family hope and guidance in dealing with my daughter's rare disorder and all the associated issues. The support and knowledge of the foundation is incredible.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My grandson was diagnosed with AHC at age 1. We were encompassed by feelings of sadness, concern and fear of the unknown. AHC has provided us with the knowledge, resources and most importantly, a community of people who truly understand.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I'm the Medical Liaison and Coordinator for AHCF. i started volunteering for the Foundation in 2003. At the time there were limited resources and information for the families and professionals. We have grown into an active and focused Foundation and have made a concerted effort to raise money to move research forward and recently have found the first gene responsible for the disorder. This affects 70% of the patients, so we are even more determined to find the remaining genes and also research treatments for those affected. At the same time we have increased AHC awareness and education of families, professionals and the public through our website, conferences, literature and outreach efforts. I'm proud to be part of such a passionate and supportive organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Research resources, post on social media or solicit sponsors for our Family Meeting or Auction Frog Fundraiser Volunteer