Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
31 Reviews
1234.870975
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
April 15, 2014

more


1 previous review
August 6, 2013

I am a parent and a volunteer on the fundraising committee. My daughter Lisa is 13 years old and was diagnosed at 2 years old after a year of seeing many doctors. And through the the foundation they a... more

April 15, 2014

My daughter Lisa is 13 and has AHC and I am on the fundraising committee. The foundation does great work in striving to help find a treatment and cure to help all the children affected with AHC. The foundation has also set up support groups and is always looking for ways to help the children and families affected with AHC. Please help support the foundation by either donating or spreading the word about the foundation and the disease which affects our children.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am a parent and a volunteer on the fundraising committee. My daughter Lisa is 13 years old and was diagnosed at 2 years old after a year of seeing many doctors. And through the the foundation they are constantly updating parents and doctors on progress and research projects going on. We are constantly trying to raise money for much needed research and raise awareness so those in the medical industry are aware of this horrible disorder which affects only 300 known cases in the USA and app 800 world wide. I am so grateful for the foundation and there efforts to find a cure and I have the confidence some day in the near future a cure will be found.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 14, 2014

more

April 14, 2014

My grandson, Zachary, is now eleven years old. He was diagnosed with AHC before the age of one. I am so proud of how my daughter, son-in-law and his four siblings care for him. Zachary keeps going even when his body won't work correctly. It was a relief to know that the money raised for AHC research showed that Zachary's condition is not hereditary. My thanks go to all of the families who have fund raisers to continue research for this rare disease.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 15, 2013

more

September 15, 2013


Our granddaughter was diagnosed with Alternating Hemiplegia of Childhood when she was 10 months old (1991). Very little was known about AHC then and the information available was difficult to find. This prompted our daughter and other parents to form the Alternating Hemiplegia of Childhood
Foundation (AHCF).
It has been an eye opener to observe what it takes to get a foundation up and running. The continued passionate commitment and dedication of parents, families, friends, physicians, volunteers over these past 20 years is so very inspiring. And the results have been monumental.
Thank you AHCF. Keep up the good work !!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 13, 2013

more

September 13, 2013

During infancy, our son displayed abnormal posturing, constant irregular eye movements, and hemiplegia that progressed into frequent attacks of full body paralysis lasting for days at a time. As months passed, he was frequently misdiagnosed and received numerous tests that all came out normative. It took over two years to get a definitive diagnosis for our son and by the time he was finally diagnosed, our parenting had been in question and we felt defeated.
The day we heard he had AHC was bittersweet. For once, we had a medical professional that believed us and knew what was going on with him. At the same time, we were told that due to the rarity of the disease, only one treatment option was available and there would be no guarantee it would be effective at all. The relief of identifying the problem was overshadowed by many more scary and unanswered questions.

It wasn't until we came in contact with the AHCF that the feelings of loneliness and hopelessness slowly started to fade. We were able to have a support system of individuals who knew exactly what we were going through. Without them we wouldn't have had the opportunity for genetic testing that finally identified the mutation causing our son's disorder or known the treatment options available to our family.

The volunteers and individuals that make this foundation are amazing. They are proactive at increasing education and awareness, offer support, and truly care about all the children affected with the disease.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 27, 2013

more

August 27, 2013

Our daughter was diagnosed with AHC at 11 months. Since it is such a rare disease, it is wonderful to have this network of talented, passionate people who are a WONDERFUL resource. The help they are able to give to "new" families is amazing, and they are on THE path to helping all kids who suffer from AHC.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 26, 2013

more

August 26, 2013

We spent the first 10 months of my daughter's life in and out of hospitals and emergency rooms. No one could explain the mysterious and frightening eye movements, loss of one side of her body and even losing the ability to hold her head up and swallow. She was treated for acid reflux for 10 months. We were ordering formula through a pharmacy at $40 a can, taking prevacid and Zantac but these episodes continued. A couple of EEGs and MRIs showed no seizure activity. As a mother, I knew something was wrong. My daughter was diagnosed with AHC in December 2012. We were scared, relieved, and confused. Doctors told us there was no real treatment and only about 300 cases in the US. We should contact AHC foundation for help. This foundation was all we had for support and answers. Everyone involved with this foundation bas been so helpful and all are dedicated to find a treatment and hopefully a cure. I've met and spoke to other moms who know exactly what I've been through and can share my pain and frustrations. Our kids with AHC are one in a millon and so is this foundation!!! With a little recognition and extra support this foundation would be unstoppable!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 10, 2013

more

August 10, 2013

My 22 year old son has AHC. This foundation has supportive to us since he was properly diagnosed at age 6. They have helped through offering advice and assistance. The people are awesome!!! We ask everyone to donate to this worthy cause.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

AHCF is the most dedicated group of parents I have ever had the pleasure of associating with. From the first phone call 11 years ago to now President of AHCF Lynn Egan, when my daughter Lisa Marie was first diagnosed to today, they have always been there to support, answer our questions and or find someone who can, or just listen as we cry over how devastating this disorder is.They are non stoppable in their quest to find the resources we so desperately need to find a cure for this rare and debilitating disorder. I Thank You all!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 23, 2013

more

July 23, 2013

I have been involved with the foundation for the last 14 years and am constantly amazed at what a small group of people can achieve when they work together! AHC is not a popular disease, nor are there any famous people promoting our cause and yet year after year thousands of dollars are raised for research! Family meetings are held to support one another. Doctors volunteer their time to be on our medical advisory board. Please consider donating!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 23, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 2, 2012

The AHC Kids Foundation has great updates on its website and Facebook about the kids and research for a treatment or cure. more

July 23, 2013

The AHC Kids Foundation needs your money to find a cure or at least a treatment.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The AHC Kids Foundation has great updates on its website and Facebook about the kids and research for a treatment or cure.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Some

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Research resources, post on social media or solicit sponsors for our Family Meeting or Auction Frog Fundraiser Volunteer