Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
51 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

Alpine Learning Group is a wonderful organization that had a tremendous role in my brother's recovery from autism. After being diagnosed with autism in 1990, at age 2, Alpine's co-founder Bridget Taylor worked closely with and put a team around my brother. By age 5, the improvement was significant enough for re-evaluation and clearance for public school kindergarten. Now in our twenties, both of us enjoy volunteering and fundraising for this great non-profit school every chance we get.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 30, 2012

more

September 30, 2012

As an intern at Alpine Learning Group during the summer 2012 I gained knowledge and a great experience from a group of amazing teachers and staff. The time I spent as an intern at Alpine was life changing and has inspired me to follow in their footsteps to make a difference in children's lives. The energy and love the teachers had for their students made a difference everyday in the lives of the students who attend Alpine Learning Group. At Alpine the students are exposed to a great program and learning resources which Alpine offers to all their students. Any child who attends Alpine would gain an amazing learning experience from those who are extremely knowledgeable and passionate about what they do.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 27, 2012

more

September 27, 2012

I had a wonderful experience working at Alpine. I volunteered under Daniele Favre-Panayotatos in Development and Fundraising. I came in with only a little experience in fundraising and development and left with so much knowledge. I felt very much a part of the Alpine family and everyone I worked with was generous and helpful. I gained a lot of knowledge and stretched myself.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 7, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 7, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I volunteered at Alpine Learning Group's summer program in 2010 and 2011. During this time, I observed in the classrooms, did prep work and was trained on various teaching techniques. Further, I attended a staff development week.
It was a great experience to be part of this professional,
enthusiastic and friendly team of teachers. I wish every child with autism could receive an education like this!
I want to work with individuals with autism after I graduate from medical school. During my volunteer assignment I was able to learn from the best in this field. Not only did I learn a lot, I also had so much fun. I greatly appreciate that Dr. Bridget Taylor and her team provided me with this opportunity. I couldn't think of a better place to volunteer during my summer break!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

It was great to see how the learners made progress and became more independent every day.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

September 30, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 30, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

The Alpine Learning Center has an affiliation with the Dental Hygiene Program at Bergen Community College. As a faculty member, I accompany the Dental Hygiene students to Alpine and we work with their learners to teach them how to cooperate for a dental appointment. Conversely, our students learn how to work with childen who have Autistic Spectrum Disorders.

In the spring semester, some of the Alpine learners come to our Dental Hygiene Clinic and receive examinations, prophylaxis (cleaning), and flouride treatments from our students. It is wonderful to see them able to work together and accomplish their objectives /treatment.

In addition, it is an encouragement to hear that some of the Alpine learners have been able to go to the dentist and have their treatment completed in an office setting (as opposed to going to the operating room and having treatment under general anesthesia).

I am honored to be able to mentor and guide our students while they provide dental hygiene treatment for the Alpine learners. It is a win win situation for all involved!
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

work on the planning of special events happening throughout the year which could potentially translate in hundreds of more dollars raised.