Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
51 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
October 1, 2011

more

October 1, 2011

I turned to the Alpine Learning Group when my daughter was diagnosed PDD-NOS. I didn't even understand yet what it meant to be "on the spectrum" but I was told that Alpine could provide some therapy that would bridge the gaps that public school might not. Before even knowing if I was eligible, or if I could afford to pay, the director of the outreach program spent a significant amount of time speaking to me and answering my questions via telephone and email. Even though I was not yet a client, I was receiving a level of assistance and courtesy that I had never received from my daughter's previous preschool where I was actually paying tuition.

The director of the Outreach Program then took on my daughter's case, and handled all the details with my insurance company so that my daughter could start receiving ABA services. Thanks to Angela, my daughter now receives over 15 hours a week!

We are very happy with the progress my daughter has made so far. There are a number of programs actively being run to address her needs. I love the clinic sessions that I get to sit in on, because I feel that I too am a part of her therapy. My daughter's case manager is very open and easy to talk to. I've addressed concerns about my daughter as well as concerns about her programs or the therapy in general, and she has always taken the time to listen objectively and discuss options. I've always been made to feel that I can speak openly and that my concerns are taken seriously.

The director of the outreach program and my daughter's case manager have both assisted me in reaching out to my daugher's preschool teacher and child study team. They've assisted me in knowing what I had to ask for, as well as explaining what to expect from the meeting process. They have also assisted by reaching out to the school as well so that they can coordinate my daughter's programs with her classroom needs.

My daughter was only diagnosed about 8 months ago, and it has been a very big adjustment for our entire family. The Alpine Learning Group has assisted us in many ways, and helped us to see that our daughter has great opportunities ahead of her, and they can help her work towards her greatest potential.

We are very happy with the Alpine Learning Group and would absolutely recommend them to anyone who has a child on the spectrum.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the progress we've seen ourdaughter make.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

provide more supplies to the therapists

September 30, 2011
9 people found this review helpful

more

September 30, 2011
9 people found this review helpful

Our two boys, Justin (15) and Brandon (11) have autism and attend Alpine Learning Group.  Our daughter, Katherine (8) is typical and is in third  grade.

When people think of autism, they tend to think only of the affected individual, but the needs and behaviors of an individual with autism
have a dramatic affect on their entire family.  These needs and behaviors and the interaction (or potential interaction) of the affected individuals with other family members and the community must be considered by us when planning or engaging in almost everyday activity.  In our case, because we have two children with autism, the considerations are even greater. 

As you are probably aware, ALG is a leader in the education of individuals with autism.  As you may not be aware, as part of this educational process, ALG provides education and support on a daily basis to the parents and siblings of their learners.  

ALG takes a holistic approach to each learner, their families and the interaction between the family members.  While the progress that Justin and Brandon have made, and continue to make in the classroom at ALG is amazing, what is often most noticeable are their social achievements in our home and in the community.

On a regular basis the staff of ALG work together with us, and with Justin, Brandon and Katherine, in our house and in the community to address common social and behavioral issues that affect children with autism.  As a result of their hard work, our family is now able to participate in many activities that may be considered commonplace for typical families, but previously seemed to be unobtainable for us.  Every time we engage in one of these activities we are reminded of and thankful for the skill and dedication of ALG.

Our appreciation of the hard work and dedication of the staff of ALG and of the impact on our children and our family is beyond words.

Philip and Maria Ehrlich

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

This organization has united us to do things as a family.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not change a thing.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

How did you find this group?

I found this group through professionals.

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

ALG has changed our lives.

September 30, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 30, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

Seven years ago, we received the call that our son had been accepted into Alpine Learning Group. It was my husband's birthday and the greatest birthday present anyone had ever given him! We had just won the lottery and our son had a future. When I heard that they were planning an adult center, I thought, is it possible to win the lottery twice?

Everything our son can do today is because of Alpine Learning Group.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 30, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 30, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

The Alpine Learning Center has an affiliation with the Dental Hygiene Program at Bergen Community College. As a faculty member, I accompany the Dental Hygiene students to Alpine and we work with their learners to teach them how to cooperate for a dental appointment. Conversely, our students learn how to work with childen who have Autistic Spectrum Disorders.

In the spring semester, some of the Alpine learners come to our Dental Hygiene Clinic and receive examinations, prophylaxis (cleaning), and flouride treatments from our students. It is wonderful to see them able to work together and accomplish their objectives /treatment.

In addition, it is an encouragement to hear that some of the Alpine learners have been able to go to the dentist and have their treatment completed in an office setting (as opposed to going to the operating room and having treatment under general anesthesia).

I am honored to be able to mentor and guide our students while they provide dental hygiene treatment for the Alpine learners. It is a win win situation for all involved!
September 29, 2011

more

September 29, 2011

It is an honor to serve on the Board of Directors of the Alpine Learning Group. During the years I have come to discover a superior level of professionalism rarely seen. Not only are the expectations high, Dr. Bridget Taylor is constantly pushing the boundries of what is a great education and then raising the bar. The Alpine Learning group is creating new extremely successful treatment plans on a daily basis, taking individuals with autism further than was previously thought possible.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 29, 2011

more

September 29, 2011

ALG is not just a school, it's a place where hope is given to parents who feel they have no where to turn, and confidence and a sense of worth is given to children and teachers alike. Having an autistic child is one of the most challenging hardships a family can face in their life. We are not able to choose the cards we are dealt, but we are able to choose what we make of it. ALG is an inspiring place. ALG is a place where futures are changed, real life miracles really do happen, and it shows that in life, we can always hope for a better tomorrow. The community surrounding ALG- the teachers, parents, children, siblings of children, and strangers alike, are all affected by the way in which this school has been a constant source of inspiration for all who are lucky enough to witness it's endeavors. ALG doesn't just help childen. It truly changes lives.
September 29, 2011

more

September 29, 2011

The Alpine Learning Group's services are unparalleled. Their dedication to one on one training for all students and their involvement with the families shows their true dedication to helping those with Autism. The school's constant growth and outreach in the community serving young children in the outreach program all the way through adults is amazing. All the funds raised are always going directly to enhancing things for the students - the buildings, the property, the supplies, training for teachers and more. I always feel confident that each dollar I've donated is really helping a child.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 29, 2011

more

September 29, 2011

Our child was diagnosed on the Autism Spectrum in June, 2011. It was a blessing that our family got introduced and found the Alpine Learning Group. While navigating through the most difficult time in our lives, ALG, helped us with the transition into the autism spectrum world. They provided reading material, helpful websites, tips, support groups, and most importantly effective ABA therapy. They have also provided the security for our family in knowing our child was in the hands of wonderful, experienced, caring, people. Our child is now blossoming through ABA therapy and we are so proud to be a part of this organization. We are connecting with our child now more then ever and we are extremely grateful. The staff members from day one, have been considerate, informative, productive, and a true pleasure to work with. I tip my hat to this organization and hope to be involved in their growth for years to come.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 28, 2011

more

September 28, 2011

We consider ourselves extremely blessed to have our son attend Alpine Learning Group these past 17 years. They provide an education that is rooted in research and the science of learning – applied behavior analysis. This has significantly helped our son to learn.
Thanks to Alpine Learning
Group our son has made great progress in cognitive, social, emotional, vocational, leisure & community areas to name a few. They treat our son with dignity and respect. They provide us with peace of mind to know that our son is not only safe but also thriving. This has allowed our family to thrive as well. They offer us hope, encouragement and understanding.
With Alpine Learning Group’s efforts, our son has also begun learning vocational skills. He very much enjoys participating in Alpine’s supported volunteer program and he has volunteered at a variety of businesses in the community. Our son will always require supervision and care. With the support of Alpine Learning Group our son will continue to learn and thrive as an adult.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Our son attends Alpine Learning Group.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

How did you find this group?

From other parents.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 28, 2011

more

September 28, 2011

ALG has had a life changing impact on my child. She has learned to express her desires and label family members, in a very short period. The ALG therapists are patient yet demanding, and serve not just our child, but the whole family in helping us learn to help our child.

Moreover,
ALG has been incredibly responsive to any questions we've had about how best to help our daughter.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

work on the planning of special events happening throughout the year which could potentially translate in hundreds of more dollars raised.