Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
6 Reviews
12.66667345
Write A Review
August 26, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

August 26, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

This is a wonderful organization that has a 100% no-kill mission. They do so much with so little and only have the best interest of animals in mind. They have finally found a trainer willing to work with their long-term animals to help rehabiliate them to an adoptible status. I have seen first hand animals who had been there for a long time, animals that everyone else would have euthanized, who are now thriving in loving homes. It can be a slow process for some of the animals but with patience it works and they've proven that time and again.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This rescue is not responsible in many ways.

Animal care is very low on their list of priorities. They have hired a sexual offender, Christopher Henry, to run the shelter and he has no dog experience, and very little compassion.

Dogs are locked up 23 hours a day.


Founders take ridiculous salaries for spending no time at the shelter and not working harder to get long term residents out.

Oh yea, if you speak up or help, you'll be banned or have defamation lawsuits filed against you.

Stay away, they are power hungry and don't know anything about their animals. They pull dogs from Ohio for a quick buck and these animals always come with fleas, mange, or other more serious issues.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Replace the founders with someone who actually still cares about dogs.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Somewhat badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 10, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
December 10, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

After volunteering with Almost Home I discovered firsthand that they are not a responsible animal rescue.
They do not perform vet checks or home visits before adopting out their animals. Many of their big dogs are kept in temporary crates (not kennels) for months and years, which is considered
to be animal cruelty by the Association of Shelter Veterinarians. They allow dogs to be adopted out before they are spayed or neutered. Although they say they are full, they send a volunteer to a high-kill shelter in Ohio every week to pick out adoptable small breeds and purebred dogs they can clean up and take to adoption events, while the big dogs and long timers don't get to go to events. Although their shelter is located in Southfield, which is a predominately African-American community, if you look at the "Happy Tails" section of their website, you will notice that 99% of the adoptive families are white. I have been told they automatically reject applications from Detroit and Pontiac. They are "ambulance chasers" and take in sick, wounded or abused animals so they can get media attention and more donations (i.e. Miracle, Freeway, Wilson, Sprout, Scarlet). They almost killed a Border Collie mix named Muffin by giving her Heartgard, which is commonly known to cause seizures in Border Collies. They do nothing to rehabilitate their big dogs that have languished in their kennels and crates for years and years, yet they won't hesitate to spend thousands of dollars on a small, more adoptable dog. Petey the dog has been at Almost Home for more than a year, yet he is not listed on Petfinder and he is not being rehabilitated. According to their 2010 Form 990, President Gail Montgomery made $29,300 and Vice President Lauren Anchill (Gail's daughter) made $24,100. The Director Linda Shewach is Gail's sister and Brett Anchill is Lauren's husband. There are no checks and balances on their Board because they are mostly family members.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Somewhat badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 26, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

November 26, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

I adopted my dog from almost home. Although my dog was with them over a year, none of his behavior problems were ever disclosed to me at or before the adoption. They downplayed his problems, by saying , "oh he just doesn't like men" when they should have disclosed he had history of biting and EXTREME aggression with men. Why did they adopt out this dog? probably because he was truly an unadoptable dog and that conflicts with thier no kill mission.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2005

October 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Almost Home Animal Rescue League is a nonprofit organization which is dedicated to finding homes for all homeless animals. It is amazing to see how they manage to find adoptive homes for each special animal that they rescue from other places where the animals might not be so lucky because they would be killed. There are so many dedicated volunteers who not only take care of the animals that are sheltered there until they find their new "forever home" but they also are involved in important fundraising efforts to help cover the costs of necessary medical procedures in addition to providing for the animals' basic needs.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 11, 2011
8 people found this review helpful

more

May 11, 2011
8 people found this review helpful

I adopted my dog from Almost Home and am so very thankful for their work as there are never enough people or organizations to help all of the homeless animals in need. I contribute to animal welfare causes on a regular basis and unfortunately I chose to bypass this organization in regards to financial support due to the following observations:
1. The shelter environment was crowded and chaotic. It was difficult to determine who was in charge (which can be perfectly understandable in this type of organization).
2. I was allowed to foster and then adopt my dog unaltered, with only a contract to spay, which I feel is unacceptable knowing of the serious overpopulation problem. (I was a responsible adopter and did the right thing but I don't think it shows enough of an effort on their part.)
3. Their no-kill philosophy sounds wonderful, and is certainly something to strive for, but unfortunately they house many animals with what I would classify as serious behavior problems, etc. for very long periods of time in a stressful facility.
4. They have a beautiful website and are registered as a 501(c)3 but beyond information about the founder, there is a lack of transparency about who the board of directors is, etc. Upon questioning various volunteers I learned that their board of directors are all family members, some of which are paid salaries. (This was the biggest red flag to me even though it could be perfectly innocent).

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I wouldn't trade the dog that I adopted for the world. Rescued animals are the best!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

1. Add a touch of professionalism and eliminate some of the disorganization. 2. Incorporate an active rehabilitation program and alternative housing for the animals that aren't getting adopted. 3. Definitely more transparency is needed for donors to base their contributions on.

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers