Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
311 Reviews
1234.893895
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
April 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I lost someone dear to me to suicide just over six week ago. I found this forum by searching in Google. I'm so glad I discovered this community. People on the forum are compassionate, insightful, practical and have unique, lived experience and understanding of the aftermath of suicide. Participating in this online community is helping to keep me sane and to have a sense of purpose as I get through each day. As I write this review, I am becoming tearful, because I am just so grateful to have the forum as a light in this horrible time.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 19, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 19, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

In July I received the news that my only sibling and baby brother had made the choice to end his life. Aside from being the first loss for me (of a loved one) it was so much more. More than words can express - I was lost, grief stricken, full of raw emotions that were so unfamiliar to me. Still 3 months later I experience these same feelings. Several weeks after my loss I found The Alliance of Hope forum - WHAT a saving grace! In my day to day life no one person around me understood the profound loss I had just experienced. I do not know one other person to loose a loved one to suicide - so for those people they did not know what to say or how to support me. I heard so much cliche' stuff and even some very hurtful statements from well intention people...but no one knew the horrible sadness around loosing someone you love to suicide. To think day in and day out that someone you love SO much made a choice to leave you and leave in such a state of shock and endless pain is boggling to the mind. Add this to the manner in which my brother decided to end his life - the vision of a loved one with gun shot wounds is nothing your mind is supposed to ever attempt to process. The grief, the loneliness, the helplessness, the confusion, the anger, all of the raw emotion you suddenly have but do not understand what to do with it...I found the support I needed right in this forum. Beautiful and loving people that wrapped me in love and support and knew exactly how I felt. Just being able to talk to someone that truly understands the depth of your sorrow eases some of the pain. I can never ever put into words what this forum has done for me as a sister, a wife, a mother, a daughter, and now an only child. Thank you Alliance of Hope for being right there when I need you most!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 24, 2012

more

September 24, 2012

As husband of the founder of the Alliance of Hope for Suicide Survivors, and as a Member of the Board, I am daily exposed to the enormous value that the community gets from our organization. It is extremely gratifying and humbling to be able to effectively contribute to the renewal of hope and aliveness with each of the thousands of survivors that we reach.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 11, 2012

more

July 11, 2012

I have visited this site often since the suicide of my partner and also recent suicide of a family friend and knew when my daughter became depressed and self harmed that the site would also support me through this, I have never been able to talk about my problems like i can on this site, without fear of rejection, misunderstanding and judgement, Ronnie has made a safe haven and a place of hope and understanding and i will be eternally grateful for this.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 18, 2012

more

May 18, 2012

When my husband committed suicide, there was no one with whom I could share my innermost thoughts about the experience. How do you tell people about the complex feelings that are involved in coming to terms with such a death? People avert their eyes if you attempt to do so. They're uncomfortable discussing the issue. Yet how do you keep these horrible feelings inside without being damaged by them? The Alliance of Hope Suicide Survivor Forum allowed me to give and receive input from those going through the same experience. It was a relief to know I wasn't the only one who had these feelings. It was a relief to share some not-so-pretty thoughts and have them accepted and understood. Before joining the forum, I was really struggling. Once I joined the forum, I could feel myself healing almost immediately. It's hard to describe how the words on the forum washed over my mind like cool water. Within a few weeks, I could look back on my earlier posts and see how far I'd come, and I could offer some comfort and hope to newer members. I'm not the type of person who would ever visit a real-life support group or a psychiatrist, but I needed an outlet. I'm so thankful that this one existed, and I hope it continues to exist for others who are suffering in the aftermath of a loved one's suicide.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 10, 2011

more

December 10, 2011

This site is life saving for connecting with those going through a traumatic loss. Lots of support and kindness no matter how you're feeling or what you're going through.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 29, 2011

more

July 29, 2011

It's been 14 years since my 14 yr old daughter took her life but it still, seems like 3 weeks and I have never dreamt of her once so suicide continues to affect your life forever. The times I have written about her on the forums, the love I recieved from other posters filled my heart. A very special place indeed. Love to all xoxo

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Having other survivors reach out to me

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none whatsoever

June 29, 2011

more

June 29, 2011

I'm a Vietnam Veteran and suicide survivor. Many of my comrades committed suicide after completion of their overseas service. PTSD was not acknowledged or being treated 42 years ago when we returned home. And when someone(s) as close as military buddies are takes their life, the wound is even deeper than usual.

I find the Alliance of hope to fill a need that is lacking anywhere else. The level of caring, compassion, along with the high level of professionalism are a wining combination in the health care area.

Paul McMickle

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

In addition to finding healing for a wound I thought would never heal, I've shared the Alliance of Hope with other veterans and veteran groups, and will be instrumental in getting the Veteran's Administration, the Department of Defense and all the various veteran's organizations to see the enormous service the Alliance of Hope provides.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would implore funders of non-profits world-wide to contribute to the Alliance of Hope, so that the organization can serve the hundreds of thousands (if not millions) of suicide survivors.

June 29, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 29, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

As a Board member, a survivor of suicide and a member of the Alliance's Forum, I can honestly say that this organization is outstanding. The level of support available, not only from moderators but fellow survivors is not only informative but comforting. The community has grown and I have watched survivors go from freshly wounded and barely getting by to being a voice of support for others and a shoulder to lean on. Watching the healing over time is inspiring. I am also struck by how this virtual community creates a circle of support almost immediately for those in pain or dealing with grief. I am proud to be a part of this organization and encourage others to visit and learn how they can make a difference for survivors of Suicide by donating to the Alliance of Hope.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the form of support to and from fellow forum members.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

change nothing.

June 28, 2011

more

June 28, 2011

When my step-brother took his life 15 years ago, I had no idea how many fellow suicide grievers were out there. The loss tore my family apart. It also set my mother, the founder of Alliance of Hope for Suicide Survivors, on an unexpected journey -- to help others cope, learn, and heal from devastating loss to suicide.

An organization that was started from our kitchen island 3 years ago, the Alliance of Hope is now a leading resource for ‘suicide survivors,’ who are connecting with and helping each another heal, 24/7/365. The forum has nearly 30,000 posts – from 2,000 members – covering all aspects of the survivor experience. Approximately 10,000 spectators visit the site each month for useful information.

There is no better way to capture the extraordinary phenomenon that is taking place within the Alliance of Hope community, than to visit: https://forum.forsuicidesurvivors.com. There are hundreds of heart-wrenching stories, and thousands of beautiful posts that demonstrate the need for and healing power of this supportive community.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

watching its growth from Day 1, when my mom, step-father and I were the only members of the forum, to today, when thousands are regularly contributing and helping each other heal -- from one end of the globe to the next. I've witnessed the remarkable transformations and steps of the healing journey that our community members take, every day.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

2) increase awareness about the critical need for high-quality, 24/7/365 support for suicide grievers, who are often coping hour-by-hour, and can become suicidal themselves. 2) raise enough $$$ for the Alliance of Hope to ensure no suicide survivor goes without the support they need. 3) quantify the tremendous value to society of helping transform someone's life so that they are able to heal from loss to suicide and again become a contributing member of society.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

How did you learn about this organization?

My mother founded it.

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

funding and awareness

What is its top priority in the long run?

ensuring every suicide survivor has access to high-quality, healing support

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers