Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
325 Reviews
1234.873855
Write A Review
November 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Suicide. One of the hardest words to say and understand. No one wants to ever think that this could happen to you. Ever. But it does. Suicide doesn't discriminate. But if you are on this site, you are grieving over the loss of someone you loved. I've been there. I know exactly what is going through your head. Its the most gut wrenching, heart breaking pain to endure. You feel as if the world around you is caving in and you think you yourself will be unable to survive. But you will. I promise!! Its not easy by any means, but let me tell, without this community of strong compassionate people, I wouldn't be here right now telling you that you can and you will make it through this. Its a long tough journey of tears and pain and a whole slew of other feelings that you didn't even know you had or could possibly feel. But again, you will make it through this. You are stronger than you think. All of us are. There are soooo many wonderful people on this site. People to listen. No judgement. People to help you take those very tiny baby steps to feel alive again. Every hour, every day if you need it for as long as you need it. There is no pressure. No harsh words. Only love and support here. And I promise you will get it.
I lost my fiance to suicide. I couldn't save him. He died in my arms. And at that very moment, I'm pretty sure I died too. I was a wreck. For weeks I searched for answers. I couldn't find them. I felt alone and the emotional rollercoaster of pain enveloped me daily. The help we have where I live was miniscule. There wasn't anyone I could call at 2am when I was crying so hard I thought I would just collapse. My friends were there but not in the way I needed them to be. I heard alot of " I know how you feel" crap when I know for fact, they had no idea. I heard alot of "time to move on Michelle and get over it". I heard alot of "hes in a better place now" or "he was a selfish *******". I heard other words that were not very nice. It was a constant struggle. My family was there but again, they didn't know how to help me. I went to counseling but that didn't help either. At least not for me. It made it worse. I literally scoured the internet for more help, More people like me that would understand what I was feeling and going through. Then I found this site. And since then, I was able to take those baby steps in the right direction.
Read the stories. You will cry, smile, laugh, scream, and cry some more. But the people here will help you heal. I promise. You will feel joy and happiness once again but still keep your loved ones in your heart for all time. Remember, they never really leave you. They are always watching over you no matter what your beliefs are. My fiance's name was Scott.
So welcome. There are many people here to help you on your journey. Including me. My door is always open to listen or to help out any way I can. There are forums, posts, stories, videos, other links, etc. Always remember though........that no matter how hard it gets, you will persevere. You are strong, and you are a survivor. You are strong and more so now that you were before. And together as a community, we are even stronger yet. God bless you all.
September 27, 2014

more

September 27, 2014

I lost my sister to suicide June 23 2014 I was needing to be able to grieve without feeling judged by my family and have found that her the forum has been very helpful.This forum needs to be funded to keep helping more people.There are new people on here everyday looking to talk.People know what I'm going through.
September 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

not what I expected, a waste of time. took too long for responses then everyone says the same things like they are programed to only say certain things
April 28, 2014

more

April 28, 2014

my story is double tragedy, I lost my son to suicide five years ago and he was twenty one. three years later my twenty six year old daughter killed herself. I cant believe this has happened still to this day/ The forum is a great release of my feelings knowing people like me have that go through this everyday. It is a lifetime journey of rollercoaster emotions and hardest is missing them and feeling helpless. This forum knows and understands it helps, Out in the world no one understands they try if they care about you. I personally am glad they dont but us survivors we know all to bad how it is.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

wonder why others dont respond to me.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 20, 2014

more

April 20, 2014

I lost my 19 year old son to suicide Xmas night 2013. I found the Alliance of Hope for Survivors forum a few weeks after. 3 months later I refer to this forum daily. It has helped me survive. Through the wisdom of the moderators and participants I have learned how to understand grief, how to look after myself during the journey.
I have connections right across the globe through this forum who are holding my hand and helping me through the dark times, through the sleepless nights, through the pain.
In short this forum has helped me survive the loss of my son, it has helped me remain sane. Regardless of nationality, experience, status or creed this forum unconditionally welcomes and accepts us. We are listened to, heard and responded to, we are assisted and cared for. I have much to thank this forum for, first and foremost for being here.
Mary Chudleigh (Ray'smum).

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Advertise it, so survivors are aware of it.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 5, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 5, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

This forum was like a beacon of light in my dark world since the death of my son last August 2013. I clung to the wonderful people on this site and consider them to be life-savers to the lost, broken folks who find their way to this site. The moderators quickly respond and embrace all participants, greeting them warmly and assuring them that they are always there to help. Participants feel comfortable and confident in sharing their innermost fears, knowing there is no judgement here. It is the best feelings. Since the I joined the forum, I have been able to respond and offer words of encouragement to others who have experienced the horrific experience of losing a loved one to suicide. I have found it very healing to participate and provide support and encouragement to others. I have looked at multiple websites but I always come back to this one. It feels like one big hug each time I sign in and read and respond to others who are hurting and need to know someone cares. I cannot thank this site enough for giving me peace and restoring my faith in humanity. The people who come to this site are simply amazing and they continue to support me and always make me feel that I just may be able to survive this extremely painful event in my life. I am forever grateful.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 25, 2013

more

December 25, 2013

I found the alliance of hope thourough a friend, after my son just 8 weeks today took his own life. I found the forum to be of great help. Knowing there are others who have similar experience is of the greatest help

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 24, 2013

more

December 24, 2013

I lost my husband this year without any warning. He did not have any physical illness or mental illness. Everything was normal. I came home from work and found him. I tried so hard to save him, but after 3 days of sleepless false hopes...he was gone. My son found thenote the next day saying his life had been good and this was rational because he said the next part of his life might bring disabling illness. He walked 3 miles a day and drove into new Y ork at night. My daughter lost her job, her apartment and had 2 breakdowns.This forum was the only thing that saved me.3therapists did not help me as much as this did.This was my safe place. I could cry and they understood, ask questions that obligation in order

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Campaign for more recognition for the survivors, because people only focus on the illness that leads to the loss of life and are not aware of the EXCRUTIATING pain the ones left behind have to deal with.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 9, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 9, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I found this forum a couple months after my boyfriend took his life. I was searching for someone who would understand what I was feeling. The members of this forum understood and spoke my feelings exactly. Without it, I don't know where I would be right now. It's usually the first thing I read in the morning and the last thing I read before I go to sleep. I find tremendous comfort in knowing I'm not alone in these feelings of shock, sadness, and utter despair. I don't think someone who has not experienced this type of loss can truly understand how a suicide survivor's life is totally impacted and changed. In the Alliance of Hope forum, everyone understands. I read others' posts and immediately identify with their stories, their struggles, the feelings of guilt and overwhelming grief that comes along with losing someone to suicide. I am so thankful this forum exists. If I hadn't found it, I'm sure I would have convinced myself I was going crazy. Instead there is a community gathered here in these message boards that allows us to navigate together this unimaginable trauma that has entered our lives.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I cannot think of any changes I would make.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 6, 2013

more

September 6, 2013

Already deeply depressed, imagine the insult when I can't even log in after registering and attempting to follow directions of what to do when your user name or password fails. Just forget it. I've made it this long without anyone's support!



Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it easier to join, obviously.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers