Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
322 Reviews
1234.88825
| 1 2 3 4...17 |
Write A Review
December 23, 2013

more

December 23, 2013

I found this forum less than a month after the suicide of my child. Until that point, I felt so lost, as if no one understood what I was (and still am) going through. Through sharing with others I have learned that I'm not alone, I'm not lost...I am just on a journey to get through to the other side of this horrible tragedy. In this place, my child is not stigmatized, we are not judged, we are simply helped along the way to our new life without our loved one.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 23, 2013

more

December 23, 2013

I found this website about two months after I lost my husband to suicide. It has been invaluable to me. The moderators of the forum are amazing and it seems like someone always responds to posts, which is so helpful. This forum has shown me that I am not alone and I turn to it at various times throughout the week to get me through. Thank you.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes recommended

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I was lost and reeling from the death of my 27 year old brother this past summer. I was desperately searching for help, community, and someone to pull me up from where I was. I didn't find one person, I found this forum full of love, support, understanding and compassion. On my worst days the site saves me, and on my best helps me help others. I honestly don't know where I'd be without this amazing place and space full of so much love, grief, strength and unconditional support. It can be so hard for people to discuss suicide, and support for survivors is invaluable to our ability to recover.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I'd love to help upgrade the site design, but I find it to be just as much as it needs to be for what we're all going through.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 8, 2013

more

November 8, 2013

I found this forum a few weeks after my beloved son took his life. I can honestly say that this is the only place where I have met people who truly understand the devastating catastrophe of losing a loved one to suicide. Participating in this forum. and the contact with the caring and understanding members, has truly kept me going through the aftermath of this devastating tragedy.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 7, 2013

more

November 7, 2013

I found this forum 5 weeks after my son ended his life on July 27 and it is the best support system anyone could hope for. It is truly a lifeline for me as I navigate this unwanted journey, and people on the forum are like guideposts who light the way and offer me hope that I will survive this pain. I don't know what I would do without it: it's ALWAYS there for me, even during the very darkest times, and I am very appreciative for that.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 7, 2013

more

November 7, 2013

The Alliance of Hope for Suicide Survivors forum is a godsend! They have helped me through one of the darkest periods of my life, after finding my father whom committed suicide. This forum has given me so much support and comfort!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My only regret is that I did not find this forum sooner. I was attending a local support group for about a year and half after I lost my husband to suicide, but never even thought to look for a group online. I found comraderie from the first sentence I read! VERY supportive members and moderators. Provides a safe place to be heard.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

After my husband's suicide in January 2013, I struggled greatly with all the impacts his choice had. The Alliance of Hope was a fantastic find, and has been a huge source of guidance and wisdom in dealing with the unique challenges that come with dealing with this specific cause of death. Time and again the Alliance had the answers I most needed when I most needed them.

It is difficult to express the relief and comfort the forum provides. To know I am not alone and others have walked this path - and made it through whole - is very powerful and sustaining. So much that can only be shared in forum, as even our support networks (family, friends) cannot understand. Many things that I won't share with my family so as to spare them any additional pain is up for discussion. Each issue (good or bad) is met with support and understanding. I have benefited greatly from the lessons others have learned and are willing to share to ease my healing.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 2, 2013

more

September 2, 2013

My husband killed himself in May this year after facing a personal crisis Despite knowing he was suffering from depression I was completely and utterly side blinded by his decision to die. He left me in a living nightmare, struggling to cope with my new reality, while at the same time attempting to keep the lives of my two children as normal as possible. While I had support around me no one "understood" what I was dealing with, how I was feeling. I started to think I was going crazy, that his death would kill me. My sister pointed me to the alliance of hope and it has been a lifeline. Knowing that other people are going through the same rollercoaster of emotions is reassuring, and realising that people not only survive this hell but go on to be happy again is incredibly hopeful. They have been absolutely invaluable to me during this time. Today is another bad day, and I have again turned to the site to share how I'm feeling to understand if other people are facing the same battles. I know I will get support and guidance - and that I will continue to do so in the months, and possibly years to come.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 1, 2013

more

September 1, 2013

This site was very helpful to me after becoming a suicide survivor. It has brought me comfort in times when very few other things could. The people here have helped me understand my feelings, validated both how I feel and how there is a future when I could not see a future. It has been a lifeline. A place to go where people have been in your shoes and people understand your pain.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers