Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
307 Reviews
1234.892515
| 1 2 3 4...16 |
Write A Review
September 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

After my husband's suicide in January 2013, I struggled greatly with all the impacts his choice had. The Alliance of Hope was a fantastic find, and has been a huge source of guidance and wisdom in dealing with the unique challenges that come with dealing with this specific cause of death. Time and again the Alliance had the answers I most needed when I most needed them.

It is difficult to express the relief and comfort the forum provides. To know I am not alone and others have walked this path - and made it through whole - is very powerful and sustaining. So much that can only be shared in forum, as even our support networks (family, friends) cannot understand. Many things that I won't share with my family so as to spare them any additional pain is up for discussion. Each issue (good or bad) is met with support and understanding. I have benefited greatly from the lessons others have learned and are willing to share to ease my healing.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 2, 2013

more

September 2, 2013

My husband killed himself in May this year after facing a personal crisis Despite knowing he was suffering from depression I was completely and utterly side blinded by his decision to die. He left me in a living nightmare, struggling to cope with my new reality, while at the same time attempting to keep the lives of my two children as normal as possible. While I had support around me no one "understood" what I was dealing with, how I was feeling. I started to think I was going crazy, that his death would kill me. My sister pointed me to the alliance of hope and it has been a lifeline. Knowing that other people are going through the same rollercoaster of emotions is reassuring, and realising that people not only survive this hell but go on to be happy again is incredibly hopeful. They have been absolutely invaluable to me during this time. Today is another bad day, and I have again turned to the site to share how I'm feeling to understand if other people are facing the same battles. I know I will get support and guidance - and that I will continue to do so in the months, and possibly years to come.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 1, 2013

more

September 1, 2013

This site was very helpful to me after becoming a suicide survivor. It has brought me comfort in times when very few other things could. The people here have helped me understand my feelings, validated both how I feel and how there is a future when I could not see a future. It has been a lifeline. A place to go where people have been in your shoes and people understand your pain.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 1, 2013

more

September 1, 2013

My dear Brother ended his life - I had no idea he was in such a desperate state. I struggled for months trying to come to terms with his decision - I was not coping.
Finding the Alliance of Hope was my saving grace - my rock, my anchor. The one place I could come and express myself without
judgement and be heard. A place where I felt safe and understood.
It didn't take long to realise I was not alone and that gave me great comfort and determination to heal. Not one suicide is the same, not one story is the same.
What we do share has been brought about by something so tragic, it's too difficult to put into words. We share a common path. It is in walking that path together - that I have moved foward and am starting to heal. I have a long way to go, but I have also come a long way.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 1, 2013

more

September 1, 2013

I lost my beautiful husband in June and a few days after this life changing event I found this forum. Through this forum I was able to reach out to people who understood what I was/am going through. Its filled with very loving and understanding people.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Some

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 1, 2013

more

September 1, 2013

This forum has been a blessing for me in the darkest time of my life. Sometimes you just have to talk to people who have been through a similar situation and this place is full of kind, warm and understanding folk who always have time to help a newcomer.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 1, 2013

more

September 1, 2013

It's a good site. I have a friend who committed suicide about 2 months ago, and it's helped to go on there and talk to other survivors.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None needed. It's great the way it is.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 28, 2013

more

August 28, 2013

I lost my beautiful son Nicholas, July 12, 2013 to suicide. He was a beautiful outgoing man who I thought was happy with life. He had a beautiful wife and was expecting their first child. His wife told him they were expecting on Wednesday and Nicholas killed himself that Friday night by stabbing himself while he was in the shower. I will never forget being at work as an RN in an emergency room and that message being left on my voicemail. As a mother looking in from the outside, he showed no signs of depression or suicidal ideations. Nicholas had just taken me out for my birthday that Monday and his father had been down to see him the Saturday before his death. I cannot even begin to describe the anguish, dispair and shock. Nicholas left behind a sister who loved him dearly and the family is still trying to recover. Nicholas and Heather were nine months apart and were extremely close. My heart will never recover. If Nicholas could only have seen how much he was loved by the number of people that came to his funeral. If he had only leaned on those that loved him the most. My life has been changed forever and I try to stay strong to help his sister recover who is in therapy at this time. She has had so much tragedy in one year with loosing a baby in March, a brother in July and her dog of 12 years in August.

We hold on to our faith in God that he will help us recover from this huge loss in our lives. Nothing can ever replace the loss of my child in my heart but I believe God will help us recover in our sadness.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My 18 year old son passed by his own hand 8 months ago .. i found the Alliance of Hope recently and in them have found a place of support and compassion by other survivors that all to sadly, know the grief and loss of purpose that i feel, through the loss of a loved one to suicide..
i live in
rural Australia and do not have access to specialist suicide counselling and support. In the Alliance of Hope i have found "a place of sacred connection". I am not alone anymore!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 2, 2013

more

July 2, 2013

I feel so lucky to find this website. I feel like people around me even my family didn't really know what I've been through. I found this website when I can't sleep the other night. I find that this website is really helpful for me. Please keep the good work.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers