Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
311 Reviews
1234.893895
| 1 2 3...16 |
Write A Review
April 22, 2014

more

April 22, 2014

in 2011, I found my fiancé in the bathroom of his home, deceased via self inflicted gunshot wound to the head. In a matter of minutes, life as I knew it changed. You see he was a police officer and had recently taken the antismoking drug, Chantix to help him kick the smoking habit. Dealing with his death, the red tape of police and drama by his department, left me drained everyday. I found this site and I will attribute my sanity today because of the healing words and nurturing environment Alliance of Hope offers its readers. Not only did I spent countless hours on line, reading and posting, but also venting and not feeling alone during my most bleak time of my life. I owe this site a tremendous THANK YOU FOR ALL YOU DO. I work for a non-profit agency that deals with children and at times, suicidal children. I tell my parents about this site anytime they require assistance with dealing with suicide. Again, thank you , and God bless all of you on this site, who post and tell very private and touching stories to help others heal. I was helped beyond words.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 22, 2014

more

April 22, 2014

I am a Suicide Widow. Those words will never ever lose their gravity or shock value. BUT, because of the Alliance of Hope for Suicide Survivors forum, I know I'm not alone. Even though I have huge support from friends and family, there are times when there is noone who will understand except those who have gone through and are going through the same thing.

I had not experience a close bereavement before and we in the Western world are so utterly unprepared for it. This type of death is even harder to deal with because of the stigma, people expect you to be able to tell them why. Why did he do it?

In the forum you are helped to understand, accept and come to terms with the fact that, it was because he was desperately sick.

I could not have come through this in any sort of positive state without this forum. It's expertly moderated and I feel safe and understood.
April 21, 2014

more

April 21, 2014

I came home on January 3rd, 2014 to find my husband of almost 24 years had hung himself. The shock of what I saw was beyond mind numbing, no one should ever see a loved one like that. We had just moved to this area and did not know a lot of people as I had just taken a new position. It was a cold windy night and I was alone in my apartment with the sounds as I explored the shock, the guilt and the despair. As I sat there I grabbed my computer and searched and found the Alliance of Hope for Suicide Survivors at about 3:30 in the morning. To this day I can go back to my words I wrote and realized how lost I was. I read posts and realized I was not alone that this happens and someone out there understands. The site educated me as I went through so many feelings, actually I still am but then I suffered real anger, the response the moderator gave me made me look at it differently and see how confused my husband was with his demons. While I am so new still with grief and have good days with bad days it was through this site I located a grief counseling group for suicide survivors and meeting others that know how you feel has been so helpful just like posting to comments and hoping I can help someone else. The pain is truly unbelievable and is the very hardest way to lose a loved one. This site is so important to me even now. It is so sad that those of us who are survivors have so few places to turn so we must keep this site alive and well as it is vital for me and unfortunately for those survivors yet to come.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

change nothing unless it was to have a live person for those in critical need.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 20, 2014

more

April 20, 2014

I wish there wasn't a need for a forum like This to exist. Unfortunately, there is such a need. And it is a huge need, with many more members joining each day. I am beyond grateful for this online community. From the moderators to the other posters, everyone is great. Very respectful, friendly, and helpful. A big thank you to the staff and the community as a whole from this mother whose world was torn apart by the suicide of her only daughter.
December 23, 2013

more

December 23, 2013

My boyfriend took his life November 3, 2013. I was alone that first night, unable to sleep, when I came across the Alliance for Hope website. I began posting that night. This is such a tragic and traumatic experience. The support that I receive and the connection to other survivors and moderators has been a lifeline for me.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Of all of the websites that I have found regarding suicide, this one has, by far, the most active forum. Find ways to reach even more survivors so that they can benefit.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 23, 2013

more

December 23, 2013

I found this forum less than a month after the suicide of my child. Until that point, I felt so lost, as if no one understood what I was (and still am) going through. Through sharing with others I have learned that I'm not alone, I'm not lost...I am just on a journey to get through to the other side of this horrible tragedy. In this place, my child is not stigmatized, we are not judged, we are simply helped along the way to our new life without our loved one.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 23, 2013

more

December 23, 2013

I found this website about two months after I lost my husband to suicide. It has been invaluable to me. The moderators of the forum are amazing and it seems like someone always responds to posts, which is so helpful. This forum has shown me that I am not alone and I turn to it at various times throughout the week to get me through. Thank you.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes recommended

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I was lost and reeling from the death of my 27 year old brother this past summer. I was desperately searching for help, community, and someone to pull me up from where I was. I didn't find one person, I found this forum full of love, support, understanding and compassion. On my worst days the site saves me, and on my best helps me help others. I honestly don't know where I'd be without this amazing place and space full of so much love, grief, strength and unconditional support. It can be so hard for people to discuss suicide, and support for survivors is invaluable to our ability to recover.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I'd love to help upgrade the site design, but I find it to be just as much as it needs to be for what we're all going through.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 8, 2013

more

November 8, 2013

I found this forum a few weeks after my beloved son took his life. I can honestly say that this is the only place where I have met people who truly understand the devastating catastrophe of losing a loved one to suicide. Participating in this forum. and the contact with the caring and understanding members, has truly kept me going through the aftermath of this devastating tragedy.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 7, 2013

more

November 7, 2013

I found this forum 5 weeks after my son ended his life on July 27 and it is the best support system anyone could hope for. It is truly a lifeline for me as I navigate this unwanted journey, and people on the forum are like guideposts who light the way and offer me hope that I will survive this pain. I don't know what I would do without it: it's ALWAYS there for me, even during the very darkest times, and I am very appreciative for that.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers