Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
322 Reviews
1234.88825
Previous | 1 2 3...17 |
Write A Review
September 29, 2014

more

September 29, 2014

After the loss of husband to suicide I was frantically trying to find more information and support on the internet, it was then when I came across the Alliance of Hope and I'm so glad I did. It helps to share the excruciating pain and confusion with other survivors who have been through this before. It is a truly healing place, especially for those who may not have many support systems nearby or are not ready yet to access them.
September 27, 2014

more

September 27, 2014

I lost my son to suicide about 5 months ago. I found out about the Alliance of Hope after attending a workshop help by the founder, Ronnie Walker. While I'm also seeing a therapist, this forum, the connections, the information has helped me more than anything else. It's a safe, loving place for those of us grieving such a complicated loss. We all wish there would be no need for such a thing but it's become an invaluable part of my day-to-day life.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 27, 2014

more

September 27, 2014

I lost my wife to suicide 12 weeks ago. I can honestly say I probably wouldn't be here writing this review if this website and forum was not here. God bless the people who keep this going- it is a tremendous help to people who need it.
September 16, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 16, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I lost my partner to suicide on Dec 14, 2012. I live in South Africa and THIS IS THE ONLY PLACE I could find to turn to. I thank the UNIVERSE every single day for this forum. The people here are LOVING. I had friends etc but it was here that I found and find my solace and a place where everybody UNDERSTANDS AND EMPATHISES.

I am crying as I write this because this Forum truly saved me from suicide. Even today 21 months later, I still go there almost everyday. Sometimes I share and sometimes I just be there BUT EVERYTIME I LEARN AND HEAL AND GROW.

THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU. TO THE FOUNDERS AND FORUM MEMBERS AND EVERY ONE OF US THERE... YOU PROVE THAT ANGELS DO EXIST.
September 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

When my sister committed suicide in April 2004, I had a minimal support group and have been encouraged not to mention her or her death, scolded when caught crying, or even when my eyes were red from an earlier cry. By the two month mark, I was at the pinnacle of grief and having self-destructive thoughts. With only my computer to talk to, I found this site and introduced myself. Within minutes, I was being greeted by one, and shortly after, several members. It felt like I was lost in a storm and wandered into a strangers house, finding beautiful strangers all with towels in hand helping to dry me off and make me warm. They rinsed me with the weight of their own tears and wrapped me in a gown of warm compassion. They let me in, and they let me stay. I am no longer in danger from self-destructive thoughts. I am now able to put aside my grief for a moment when I see the next stranger come in from the rain, towel them off, rinse them with my tears, and embrace them in a warm, compassionate garment.This is the most amazing group. We go there to grieve, and we grieve together, but then we go there to heal,, and we heal together. It has helped so much not to be alone. It has helped so much that I am not the only one who has had to suffer this kind of loss, the kind of loss that makes you want to lay down and die. I am forever thankful that I found this place where I can be truthful, open, and candid about the kind of loss that people don't like to talk about. In this house, we all know the language of suicide loss, and we are not alone, and we are not lost, we are not stigmatized, we are not rushed. Here, we are saved.
July 24, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
April 20, 2014

Unexpectedly finding your father dead with a gunshot to his head has been one of the most devastating things that's ever happened to me. A part of my very soul died that day. If not for the members of... more

July 24, 2014

The Alliance of Hope has been a life saver to many that have tragically been brought together from a loved one committing suicide. I doubt any of our paths would have crossed if not for this horrible life changing event. We have been given a safe place to air our emotions, thoughts, and experiences thanks to the unselfish, kindness of Ronnie Walker. We learn, and pull energy, from each other to make it through another day. Funny, "another day" sometimes that's all we have to look forward to is making through this day, to see "another day". I don't think most people understand how fragile a suicide survivor is, and they need to be educated on this so that they can give the appropriate and loving support that we so need. The Alliance if Hope has a collection of very knowledgeable , compassionate, caring people who have been there as a guiding light, to many, through this dark, ugly storm we are traveling through. I have heard some say they would never have made it without this forum, that's a pretty awesome compliment. I hope no one ever loses a loved one to suicide, but if they do I hope this forum will still be around to facilitate theirs needs as I has ours.


Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have more counselors, moderators, stewards available in the forum.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 20, 2014

Unexpectedly finding your father dead with a gunshot to his head has been one of the most devastating things that's ever happened to me. A part of my very soul died that day. If not for the members of the forum I'm not sure where I would be right now. I was totally exhausted from looking for answers and support and this was the only forum that would openly let you talk about what happened without censoring your post. We need to address suicide on all levels with all people. It's real, it's here, happening a lot more than it should. Please continue to support this effort in touching the lives of people who so needing this type social connection.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have more counselors on hand to speak with people.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 23, 2013

I searched the internet for a forum that would address what I was going through and the selection was very small. The others had very little activity and I needed to talk to someone, right then. This forum has been active and very responsive to questions I've had. Suicide is a complicated situation, more so than a death from natural causes, in my opinion. It drags your heart and soul down so far that you think you will never get back up. The loss of a parent is a loss of part of you too. They have been with you all your life, now they are gone. It's so important to have forums like this for people sharing the same grief can talk. They are the only ones that really understand the magnitude of what you are going through. I'm still struggling, but knowing there is a place and people to reach out to is so important. Thank you Ronnie and all the forum moderators for providing this safe place for us all. Trace

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Can't think of any changes that need to be made.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 22, 2014

more

July 22, 2014

It's so easy when facing the aftershocks of a suicide to believe that no one can relate or know what you are going through. It's easy to fall into being a victim or to decide not to continue to be actively engaged in life. Alliance of Hope provided camaraderie and support in a club to which no one chooses to belong. The website provided other stories of hope, encouragement from people who knew exactly what I was going through and solace 24 hours a day. When sleep would escape me Alliance of Hope was my friend when others couldn't be available or I felt no one could relate. Now that I am two years from the loss of my husband, I can go back and provide that same support to others. Alliance of Hope was key in my recovery from this tragedy and helped me to embrace life once again.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Win the lottery and provide more money so that other people knew of its existence

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 21, 2014

more

July 21, 2014

When my twin brother committed suicide, I was faced with one of the most difficult challenges of my life. The emotional reprecussions of the act resonated through my life and the lives of my family and threatened to shake us apart. No one can understand the confusion, pain, anger, grief, fear and hopelessness that an event like this causes unless they have experienced it. Alliance of hope is professionally moderated by a team that is truly exceptional. They keep the site honest, open and most of all, helpful. I hate to think how I would have coped without this group. Their work is a blessing and a neccessity. I recommend the site for anyone that has had to cope with this tragedy.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Ensure continued funding for this organization and get it's name out there for other survivors.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 26, 2014

more

April 26, 2014

The Alliance of Hope is truly that....a place where people come together to find hope after the loss of a loved one to suicide. I have been on the site everyday since I found the AOH. I received counseling from the founder, Ronnie Walker. Ronnie helped me understand the tools I would need to survive the trauma and heal. She and the moderators on the site understand the complicated traumatic nature of the grief and are suicide survivors themselves. It is a community of understanding and compassion... an amazing non-profit organization, deserving of the highest rating.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 26, 2014

more

April 26, 2014

Losing my husband to suicide has been devastating and traumatic causing so much pain, suffering and fallout. Healing, surviving, thriving seem impossible in the first days and months. But the grieving will ease and healing is possible. The alliance of Hope is a safe place where we survivors can tell our story. We need someone to listen, to be present with us and to offer support. Sadly, these vital needs are not always met by who you expect. But other survivors understand like no one else can. Although, I was three years out when I found the AOH I discovered and continue to discover facets of my healing journey. I have been comforted by acceptance and assurance that healing takes as long as it takes. When I joined the AOH I had a veiled vision for my healing self as someone who might help others. Interacting with other survivors experiencing similar feelings and challenges has enriched by life and strengthened my vision. I feel braver because someone on the AOH will "get me" and respond with warmth and sincerity. Everyday that I visit the AOH I can read a post or a blog that gives me insight, hope or a sense of belonging.

It is healing when someone else expresses gratitude for something I have written. Knowing that I have shared even a tiny bit of comfort is comforting to me too. Lifting others up. Listening to their story. Being present for another survivor is meaningful. Sharing a bit of humor or something ordinary also contributes to a sense of belonging. Being cared about.

I have to say a word about the Moderators. They are trained, gifted - each in their own way. And "they know" because they are themselves surviving.

I am grateful for the AOH. I think it is a world changing organization.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 3...17 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers