Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
322 Reviews
1234.88825
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
September 29, 2014

more


1 previous review
June 28, 2011

My husband took his life less than 2 weeks ago. The alliance of hope has been a Godsend to me. To share what you are going through with others going through the same horrendous experience lets you kno... more

September 29, 2014

I lost my husband just over 3 years ago. I found the alliance of hope about a week or so following my loss. Loss to suicide is devastating. I didn't know where to turn. I couldn't find a support group in my area and desperately needed to talk with those that could relate.
Having a support
group that are available 24/7 was exactly what I needed. I can come here day or night and know that someone is listening and reaching out.
I was helped and comforted by so many people. They gave me the strength to keep on keeping on. Pulled me up when I could barely stand.
I now serve as a volunteer on the forum in the hopes I can give back a little of what I have, and continue to receive. Thanks to the Alliance I have learned we CAN and DO go beyond just surviving:)
June 28, 2011

My husband took his life less than 2 weeks ago. The alliance of hope has been a Godsend to me. To share what you are going through with others going through the same horrendous experience lets you know you are not alone. Within a couple of hours of my initial post I had responses of encouragement and knew I had found an invaluable support system. My world is torn apart right now, visiting this sight helps me put one foot in front of the other...baby steps.Through the alliance I have found someone going through a very similar situation to mine and we e-mail each other day. I feel I am free to say anything, uncensored to her as she "gets it" We are unfortunately, kindred spirits, we share our pain, talk about our kids, encourage when we can. The Alliance of hope is my life line.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

canada

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

September 27, 2014

more


1 previous review
June 23, 2011

This site has helped me to feel like there are others out there who have been through this horrific experience and understand what I have gone thought. It has helped me to know that others have felt t... more

September 27, 2014

I found the forum a few weeks after the death of my partner. Words can not express the pain and sorrow that I felt. To read about others losses and what they felt was a great comfort in the sense that I was feeling similar emotions. A survivor can feel many things and sometimes all at once. Guilt seems to be an emotion common to most and one of the most difficult. Through the forum, I understood that it was a part of the journey, not particular to me. This freed me to let go of it and open the path to healing. Another important aspect of the forum is reading how others heal. The Alliance has a healing compassionate space where we all truly can understand the depths of each others pain and encourage each other to heal. I have been coming to the forum for three years and engage weekly on the forum. I volunteer my time because of how much other volunteers helped me through the very difficult beginning days and weeks. Only survivors really know and understand the many issues associated with losing someone they love by suicide.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 23, 2011

This site has helped me to feel like there are others out there who have been through this horrific experience and understand what I have gone thought. It has helped me to know that others have felt the same things that I have felt.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Helping me to understand the stages of grief.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I don't know what to do to improve.

September 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I came upon this forum 7 weeks after losing my son to suicide. Here I found others who not only cared about what I was experiencing, but understood.

At this point, it's been almost 4 years since losing my son. I continue to visit the forum nearly everyday. The forum community has stood by
me and supported me while I walked my healing journey, welcoming joy and purpose into my life again.

Life is once again very good for me, and I credit this forum, the powerful community that participates with that healing.

Namaste,
Sandy
September 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

This is an organization of compassionate people who have all lost loved ones to suicide. The support I received there after losing my husband was the most valuable part of my healing journey. I continue to volunteer my time because so many people have said that the Alliance of Hope forum is their "lifeline" during the most difficult time of their life. Three years after my loss, and I still receive encouragement to continue healing as well.
July 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I lost my son to suicide 14 years ago. I lost again 5 years ago my remaining son to accident. I felt as though I was alone in all my thoughts. I felt so lost and broken beyond repair. I could not talk about all the things I thought about, I didn't know what to say. I hid away in my room on mother's day reading an old treasured card over and over and over again. I had no idea what I would find when I typed the word suicide into the search engine. This forum has saved my life. This forum has given me my life. I have found hope.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I lost my 23 year old daughter to suicide 4-11-13 and I have found tremendous support at this site and all the while you can remain anonymous if you like. It's good to find others who are going through the same thing so you won't feel alone or that you are losing your mind due to how you feel. I think it's a great site and very helpful.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 1, 2013

more

September 1, 2013

On May 27th of 2013 my roommate, best friend and the Love of my life took her own life. I was utterly and completely devastated. The days that followed seemed to get worse instead of better. Life was looking darker and darker as each hour passed. I thought there was no end in sight and no hope at all left for me.

That following Saturday, I found The Alliance of Hope for Suicide Survivors. Hesitant, I browsed through the postings. I saw pain. I saw sorrow and grief beyond what a normal human being should be expected to bear. There were many other poor souls who had gone through a similar experience to mine. I became intrigued by their stories and decided to join. I am so glad I did.

At the advice of others on the site I did join a counseling group in my local area. They were somewhat helpful but limited in the times they were available. This is not the case with The Forum. There have been many times, depressed and sliding downhill, I have posted my feelings in the middle of the night. More often than not, I soon received a response. This was perhaps someone else feeling the same at the time but, nonetheless, a response. It was someone to talk to when nothing else was available to me. I cannot even begin to tell you how much that meant to me.

Since my time on The Forum, I have begun to heal. I have found hope in other’s words and offered some of my own healing techniques. I have gained so much from this resource. Looking back, I honestly do not believe I would be where I am today without this site. Today, I am a survivor.

I am so happy I found The Alliance as it truly is what it’s name states… an alliance of people who have suffered great loss and are seeking out assistance on their road to recovery. Warriors, so to speak. Warriors fighting a battle together as one that know we will win this war

Thank you Alliance of Hope… thank you for saving my life and bringing back my reason to move forward.

Woody

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I really don't believe there are changes needed. If I were to change just one thing I guess it would be to allow some of the "bad words" that get banned automatically. I certainly understand the reasoning for this but think words such as "damn" and "crap" should be allowed. Sometimes, there is no better way to get a point across without a little "shock" in the content. "I wish this wasn't so damn hard! I just can't handle this crap anymore!" You see... you know exactly what I'm saying there.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 28, 2013

more

April 28, 2013

Its been 7 and a half months since love of my life died i am only 20 year old but i saw and experienced things which no one ever wish to...when i was walking all alone in the darkest path of my life this forum was the light which guided me and still guides me the way ahead to live to strive..Its been very painful to hear people accusing me , misunderstanding me i thought no one existed who understands me but joining this site helped me to find the most compassionate people , struggling hard to overcome the piercing pain which we have been put through. Its a great site where we can interact share and talk about the person we loved and everyone will read it with feeling...as said "you understand things clearly when you have experienced it" so for those who are walking on this unwanted path..this site helps miraculously...it gave me the reason to keep my loved one alive with in me.....

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I posted a simple paragraph about the loss of my sister and how I was feeling. I needed a place to go with my saddness and confusion. Not only did this website provide a place for me to express my profound heartache appropiately, the swift response and understanding proved to be amazingly healing and consoling.I continue to come here on the hardest days because it helps me to get through them. This is the best counseling for me because I don't have to make an appointment, or leave my house. The feedback is from people who care and have been in my shoes.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 9, 2012

more

December 9, 2012

My husband committed suicide on August 11, 2012. I never thought that he would do that to me or the children and grandchildren. The Alliance of Hope for Suicide Providers has greatly helped me through this grief process. This forum allows communication with those that understand exactly what you are going through without having to completely explain your feelings.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers