Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
311 Reviews
1234.893895
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
July 25, 2014

more

July 25, 2014

I lost my son to suicide 14 years ago. I lost again 5 years ago my remaining son to accident. I felt as though I was alone in all my thoughts. I felt so lost and broken beyond repair. I could not talk about all the things I thought about, I didn't know what to say. I hid away in my room on mother's day reading an old treasured card over and over and over again. I had no idea what I would find when I typed the word suicide into the search engine. This forum has saved my life. This forum has given me my life. I have found hope.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I lost my 23 year old daughter to suicide 4-11-13 and I have found tremendous support at this site and all the while you can remain anonymous if you like. It's good to find others who are going through the same thing so you won't feel alone or that you are losing your mind due to how you feel. I think it's a great site and very helpful.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 1, 2013

more

September 1, 2013

On May 27th of 2013 my roommate, best friend and the Love of my life took her own life. I was utterly and completely devastated. The days that followed seemed to get worse instead of better. Life was looking darker and darker as each hour passed. I thought there was no end in sight and no hope at all left for me.

That following Saturday, I found The Alliance of Hope for Suicide Survivors. Hesitant, I browsed through the postings. I saw pain. I saw sorrow and grief beyond what a normal human being should be expected to bear. There were many other poor souls who had gone through a similar experience to mine. I became intrigued by their stories and decided to join. I am so glad I did.

At the advice of others on the site I did join a counseling group in my local area. They were somewhat helpful but limited in the times they were available. This is not the case with The Forum. There have been many times, depressed and sliding downhill, I have posted my feelings in the middle of the night. More often than not, I soon received a response. This was perhaps someone else feeling the same at the time but, nonetheless, a response. It was someone to talk to when nothing else was available to me. I cannot even begin to tell you how much that meant to me.

Since my time on The Forum, I have begun to heal. I have found hope in other’s words and offered some of my own healing techniques. I have gained so much from this resource. Looking back, I honestly do not believe I would be where I am today without this site. Today, I am a survivor.

I am so happy I found The Alliance as it truly is what it’s name states… an alliance of people who have suffered great loss and are seeking out assistance on their road to recovery. Warriors, so to speak. Warriors fighting a battle together as one that know we will win this war

Thank you Alliance of Hope… thank you for saving my life and bringing back my reason to move forward.

Woody

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I really don't believe there are changes needed. If I were to change just one thing I guess it would be to allow some of the "bad words" that get banned automatically. I certainly understand the reasoning for this but think words such as "damn" and "crap" should be allowed. Sometimes, there is no better way to get a point across without a little "shock" in the content. "I wish this wasn't so damn hard! I just can't handle this crap anymore!" You see... you know exactly what I'm saying there.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 28, 2013

more

April 28, 2013

Its been 7 and a half months since love of my life died i am only 20 year old but i saw and experienced things which no one ever wish to...when i was walking all alone in the darkest path of my life this forum was the light which guided me and still guides me the way ahead to live to strive..Its been very painful to hear people accusing me , misunderstanding me i thought no one existed who understands me but joining this site helped me to find the most compassionate people , struggling hard to overcome the piercing pain which we have been put through. Its a great site where we can interact share and talk about the person we loved and everyone will read it with feeling...as said "you understand things clearly when you have experienced it" so for those who are walking on this unwanted path..this site helps miraculously...it gave me the reason to keep my loved one alive with in me.....

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I posted a simple paragraph about the loss of my sister and how I was feeling. I needed a place to go with my saddness and confusion. Not only did this website provide a place for me to express my profound heartache appropiately, the swift response and understanding proved to be amazingly healing and consoling.I continue to come here on the hardest days because it helps me to get through them. This is the best counseling for me because I don't have to make an appointment, or leave my house. The feedback is from people who care and have been in my shoes.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 9, 2012

more

December 9, 2012

My husband committed suicide on August 11, 2012. I never thought that he would do that to me or the children and grandchildren. The Alliance of Hope for Suicide Providers has greatly helped me through this grief process. This forum allows communication with those that understand exactly what you are going through without having to completely explain your feelings.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more


2 previous reviews - show all
July 10, 2012

I lost my dear husband of 33 years to suicide in 2007. When he ended his life, he ended the only life I had known as an adult. I felt so alone. When I found the Alliance of Hope for Suicide Survivo... more

November 7, 2012

Suicide traumatizes those left behind, and the Alliance of Hope for Suicide Survivors provides a safe, nonjudgmental atmosphere for them to heal, often the only such place in areas where support resources are limited or stigma creates impenetrable boundaries of isolation. The clinically moderated forum, blog, and Web site are lifelines, often called "sacred spaces" where healing can and does take place though that may seem impossible to survivors at first.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 10, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I lost my dear husband of 33 years to suicide in 2007. When he ended his life, he ended the only life I had known as an adult. I felt so alone. When I found the Alliance of Hope for Suicide Survivors, I found other people like me, people in pain offering hope to each other. Hope was all we had, but it was what we needed. Now, five years later, I volunteer as a forum moderator. Every day I try to hand out hope to people who are hurting because I remember what that pain feels like and how alone I felt. And I see how strong this Alliance has made me now. When I read posts, I often send replies for hours because, well, who do you leave out? The mom who suddenly found out that the son she loves killed himself? The young person whose friends don't understand why she can't just "get over" her mother's death. The man who lost his only sibling? The fiance whose future is ended before it's begun? The widow my age who writes my own story when she tells about her tragedy? The rest of the world doesn't know how many nights we suffer. They don't see the tears we feel we must hide from them just to make it until the end of the day. They are not aware that we were once like them and that they might one day be one of us. If that happens, I pray the Alliance will still be there. Hope is a fragile commodity but, without it, where would any of us be?

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my own life. My children and I have grown stronger and gone beyond just surviving. We have a new life now, one that would have been impossible without the Alliance of Hope for Suicide Survivors.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

request funding and put what this organization has accomplished before those who could help spread the word about the life-saving work the Alliance of Hope for Suicide Survivors does every day.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I have made many friends from all over the world, and I have learned how to express compassion, to ease pain, and to be there for others.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

It changed my life and continues to change my life every day. I am humbled by the words of others who offer me an invitation into their very soul and the deepest part of their suffering. I mourn with them and rejoice in their smallest victories. This is the way human beings should help each other.

June 22, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

When my husband's personality changed, after 28 years of marriage, I didn't know what was happening. For over five years after that, we tried to get help from doctors of every kind, from professionals in seven counties in two states. Even after I learned that my precious soul mate, a man who had been only gentle and kind, was struggling with mental illness and alcohol addiction, none of the reading and research I did or the courses I took or the support groups I joined prepared me for losing him to suicide. When it happened, in 2007, I was utterly alone in my shock and grief. Though I was surrounded by loving family members and counseled by a professional in private sessions, no one could really help me. No one, that is, until I found an online group called The Alliance of Hope for Suicide Survivors. I had tried other groups. My local Survivors of Suicide group disbanded after a year, and other online groups did not offer what I needed. The Alliance of Hope was different. I joined in September of 2008, about nine months after the group was founded. What impressed me then was not only that the founder and moderator had professional training and clinical experience in counseling people in traumatic grief but also that she had lost a loved one to suicide. She knew my darkness. No matter the day or the hour, I could turn to the forum and read what this quickly growing number of fellow sufferers were posting. I could see I was no longer alone. In reading about their pain, and in sharing my own, I began to heal, but the journey we are all on is not an easy one. Few people understand what it is even like or that it is a journey measured in years, not months or days. We are forever changed, in fact, and do not have the luxury of going back to lives that have been irrevocably demolished. The guilt, confusion, misinformation, heartache, questions, and the enormity of being left without a life and disconnected from even the physical world for a time is overwhelming to new survivors. The pain cannot be imagined. How was I to go on? What was to become of my children? When would the nightmares end? I received help with all of these issues and so many more from the leadership and members. This is a group no one wants to need, but the statistics on suicide are staggering. People from all over the world are members of The Alliance of Hope because suicide crosses all geographic, national, racial, ethnic, economic, political and social boundaries. No one is immune.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've seen the change within myself that occurred because of working within this group. I watched myself transition from being a raw new survivor to a more experienced and compassionate friend to those whose loss was more recent than my own. I've gained personal strength and the ability to go back out into the world and take on new challenges. I've come to new understandings that helped not only me but also my daughters know that what happened to my husband was not something shameful.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would like to see real-time conferences and more programs that are only visions now. This group has the ability to change lives and do so on an amazingly large scale. I would like to see more funding available for the various projects and ideas the leadership has the potential to develop.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

How did you find this group?

Internet search about suicide

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

I feel stronger and more able to handle the debilitating ups and downs of life after suicide. The most profound change is that I now view myself as not just a survivor but also someone who can have a real life again, a joyful life, while preserving and honoring the memories of my old life. The Alliance of Hope for Suicide Survivors has helped me do that.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 1, 2012

more

November 1, 2012

My name is Angie and my Daughter Jessica hung herself in a parked that she loved . Jessica jumped from a tree that ended her life.. That was in June 2011. I found this form a year later. It has helped me in ways i can't describe. its a private place that i can go and say how i feel without judgment. i will be donating to this cause as soon as i get my own finaces in order. I know that there are so many of us that need this and it would be a shame to let it all go now.. May all be blessed. thankyou, Jessica and Christopher's mom, Angie

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 8, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 8, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Suicide grief is lonely and long-lasting. There is still some stigma and so we don't always get the support we need from friends and family. Many of us are blamed and shunned. Then there is the awful guilt and self-recriminations that must be worked through along with learning to live without our loved ones. People become impatient with us, urging us to get over it. Some of us have been told how selfish they were to leave like this. It takes someone who knows, who has been through a suicide loss to relate to what we are going through. There is no judgment here; only compassion and empathy. Knowing that one can survive and even enjoy life again can make all the difference to someone in the throes of new loss.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Yes. There is no satisfaction as great as helping others through what you never thought you could survive. It is empowering, yet humbling.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Good, of course. The other moderators are now life-long friends, I believe. I've never seen so much love and compassion in any one place.

August 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

A little over a month ago, my boyfriend took his own life. Being the last person who had any contact with him, everyone has been putting the blame on me. After looking around on websites i found this forum and started reading some of the posts that people had on here. I decided that i would very much like to be a part of this, so i made an account and started to post my first entry. Within about twenty minutes i got replies and everytime i got on i had more comforting words. After the hards times and if admin's saw that i was having a hard time they would sometimes even message me and let me know that they are here for me and they are willing to help out. Which is very comforting when you are in a situation like this. This site helps me be able to get out those horrible feelings i have anonyomously and not have to worry about what people around my town think about what i have to say. I would recommend this site to anyone who is having a hard time dealing with the suicide of a loved one, friend or whatever the circumstance might be. It has honestly be a life saver, it has helped me know i am not alone. It has helped me not want to do the same thing that brought all of this people together, suicide.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers