Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
307 Reviews
1234.892515
Previous | 1 2 3...30 |
Write A Review
April 28, 2014

more

April 28, 2014

my story is double tragedy, I lost my son to suicide five years ago and he was twenty one. three years later my twenty six year old daughter killed herself. I cant believe this has happened still to this day/ The forum is a great release of my feelings knowing people like me have that go through this everyday. It is a lifetime journey of rollercoaster emotions and hardest is missing them and feeling helpless. This forum knows and understands it helps, Out in the world no one understands they try if they care about you. I personally am glad they dont but us survivors we know all to bad how it is.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

wonder why others dont respond to me.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 26, 2014

more

April 26, 2014

The Alliance of Hope is truly that....a place where people come together to find hope after the loss of a loved one to suicide. I have been on the site everyday since I found the AOH. I received counseling from the founder, Ronnie Walker. Ronnie helped me understand the tools I would need to survive the trauma and heal. She and the moderators on the site understand the complicated traumatic nature of the grief and are suicide survivors themselves. It is a community of understanding and compassion... an amazing non-profit organization, deserving of the highest rating.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 26, 2014

more

April 26, 2014

Losing my husband to suicide has been devastating and traumatic causing so much pain, suffering and fallout. Healing, surviving, thriving seem impossible in the first days and months. But the grieving will ease and healing is possible. The alliance of Hope is a safe place where we survivors can tell our story. We need someone to listen, to be present with us and to offer support. Sadly, these vital needs are not always met by who you expect. But other survivors understand like no one else can. Although, I was three years out when I found the AOH I discovered and continue to discover facets of my healing journey. I have been comforted by acceptance and assurance that healing takes as long as it takes. When I joined the AOH I had a veiled vision for my healing self as someone who might help others. Interacting with other survivors experiencing similar feelings and challenges has enriched by life and strengthened my vision. I feel braver because someone on the AOH will "get me" and respond with warmth and sincerity. Everyday that I visit the AOH I can read a post or a blog that gives me insight, hope or a sense of belonging.

It is healing when someone else expresses gratitude for something I have written. Knowing that I have shared even a tiny bit of comfort is comforting to me too. Lifting others up. Listening to their story. Being present for another survivor is meaningful. Sharing a bit of humor or something ordinary also contributes to a sense of belonging. Being cared about.

I have to say a word about the Moderators. They are trained, gifted - each in their own way. And "they know" because they are themselves surviving.

I am grateful for the AOH. I think it is a world changing organization.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 25, 2014

more

April 25, 2014

Alliance of Hope has helped me understand what is suicide and that I am not alone dealing with the lose. They are very welcoming, compassionate without any judgements. In the early days since the death of my daughter I felt all alone in this world. I felt no one understood what I was going through, but alliance of hope moderators and members were there to share with me their experiences and they were forgiving. This website was a godsend. I hope they would be able to continue helping others who are experiencing what I aam experiencing. Great job and mahalo from the bottom of my heart.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 24, 2014

more

April 24, 2014

The Alliance of Hope is so aptly named because that is exactly what it is. It is a group of people who share a common bond through the worst personal tragedy anyone can imagine. We share our stories and offer hope to each other. As a new survivor and a new member, it is a place to draw strength and hope and encouragement. By reading the stories of the survivors who have traveled further along and are making progress and actually healing, it helps the new survivor to believe that their is truly hope for them also. I am almost one year into my journey and I still struggle every day but I know that I am healing becuase I remember how awful I felt in the beginning. I remember reading the stories of those who have been able to move on with their lives and I never believed it would happen to me but I kept returning and I hoping and I now believe that I will heal one day. Although I still have a long way to go, I know that I have already come a long way because I read the stories of the new members and I can see the progress that I've made along the way. I have also made some special friends through the forum who I keep in touch with frequently. There's nothing more healing than having people in your life who know EXACTLY how you feel. It's so rewarding and tragic at the same time. I often feel sad that there are so many of us out there but I am glad that we are not alone. I am glad that we have been able to find each other through this amazing forum. I am thankful to all who run this group and also all who visit and share their stories. I would recommend this forum to anyone who was in this situation. I just pray I never need to. Thank you.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 23, 2014

more

April 23, 2014

Alliance of Hope is an unbelievable organization that has helped me go from feeling lonely and wondering how I will ever survive to opening my heart to the possibility of thriving after losing a loved one to suicide. I felt so alone, as I had never talked to anyone who had found someone after they've taken their life, but I found an understanding, supportive community through the Alliance of Hope. I am forever grateful! Without this organization I truly don't know where I'd be.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 23, 2014

more

April 23, 2014

This forum has been very helpful. No one understands what we go through as survivors. Iy is nice to log on and find others going through the same circumstances. Very helpful when your all alone and late at night.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Try to have a response to others post. I want to know how others are dealing with or working to overcome some of the problems I am having.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 23, 2014

more

April 23, 2014

My big brother was either murdered or shot by his own hand?. We will never know which. All I do
know is he was killed suddenly and tragically on July 13th 2013. The coroner ruled it a suicide. there is a lot of mystery and confusion and unanswered questions surrounding his death and all I
know is my
life is divided into two parts: before and after he died. When he died I knew nothing would ever be ok again. I had to adjust to a new ok and most people don't understand how difficult it is to accept the
unacceptable. This site is always here and helps. It helps to write and know someone understands. It
helps to hopefully be there for others. There is no way to describe the pain of losing someone like
this. Alliance of Hope really helped me and still does especially at 3am when there is nobody to call. My brother was always there for me. He always understood. We have to fight suicide. I don't know of
anything more shattering.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wish it were easier to find local support group.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 22, 2014

more

April 22, 2014

in 2011, I found my fiancé in the bathroom of his home, deceased via self inflicted gunshot wound to the head. In a matter of minutes, life as I knew it changed. You see he was a police officer and had recently taken the antismoking drug, Chantix to help him kick the smoking habit. Dealing with his death, the red tape of police and drama by his department, left me drained everyday. I found this site and I will attribute my sanity today because of the healing words and nurturing environment Alliance of Hope offers its readers. Not only did I spent countless hours on line, reading and posting, but also venting and not feeling alone during my most bleak time of my life. I owe this site a tremendous THANK YOU FOR ALL YOU DO. I work for a non-profit agency that deals with children and at times, suicidal children. I tell my parents about this site anytime they require assistance with dealing with suicide. Again, thank you , and God bless all of you on this site, who post and tell very private and touching stories to help others heal. I was helped beyond words.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 22, 2014

more

April 22, 2014

I am a Suicide Widow. Those words will never ever lose their gravity or shock value. BUT, because of the Alliance of Hope for Suicide Survivors forum, I know I'm not alone. Even though I have huge support from friends and family, there are times when there is noone who will understand except those who have gone through and are going through the same thing.

I had not experience a close bereavement before and we in the Western world are so utterly unprepared for it. This type of death is even harder to deal with because of the stigma, people expect you to be able to tell them why. Why did he do it?

In the forum you are helped to understand, accept and come to terms with the fact that, it was because he was desperately sick.

I could not have come through this in any sort of positive state without this forum. It's expertly moderated and I feel safe and understood.
Previous | 1 2 3...30 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers